We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One of the best finds in the night” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Village Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added The Village Inn to your Saves list
The Village Inn
3.0 of 5 Inn   |   19 Lynmouth Street, Lynmouth, Exmoor National Park EX35 6EH, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 15 Lynmouth B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Brisbane, Australia
1 review
“One of the best finds in the night”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2013

Looking for a place to stay after the sun went down while doing a self drive tour of the coast I came across the Village Inn in a gorgeous town of Lynmouth surrounded by the gorgeous Exmoor national park. Staying for a night I was warmly welcomed by the Pub owner who is a top bloke and very hospitable. The room was clean, Very comfortable and I had a great night sleep. After a long day driving it was relaxing to pull up at the bar for a good ale and hearty meal from their kitchen. As I have toured England for the pubs this was was one of the best! makes me wish I was local! I would recommend the Village Inn for anyone looking for a comfortable pub stay while checking out the sights of the Exmoor. Thanks again Guys! This Aussie can't wait to visit your place next time.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

96 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    72
    14
    4
    4
    2
See reviews for
16
54
1
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2013

My boyfriend and I stayed in this b&b on our trip into Devon. We were greeted in such a warm way that it made us want to stay there from the minute we walked in. We were given a lovely room with a beautiful view with everything that you could need. We ate there each morning and the food was exceptional. We ate there most evenings too because of how much we enjoyed it. It was obviously cooked by a true chef who has a real passion for good food. Would definitely recommend this hotel to everyone who likes to be made feel truly welcome and a real part of the family.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bridport, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2013

We called in at this pub as it was the closest to the self catering cottage we were staying in. A good move. Dog came too. Dog was fussed over by staff so brownie points straight away!

We were made very welcome, Mark and the ladies are very approachable and easy to get on with. You can chose to eat in the busiest bit, or in a quieter area. HUGE servings of super,freshly prepared food.
Some nights there was live music or darts, but if you are not into 'thatsortathing', you don't have to sit anywhere near it.

I wish I was there this week with the excitement of Roly and Whispers puppies arriving......

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bexhill-on-Sea, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2013

The village in is in a great location, the staff are really friendly, and accommodate anything if asked. I stayed for 4 nights and it felt like my home by the time I left. The food was delicious, great portions and great prices. Children and dogs welcome, real homely feel. A lot of locals in the pub which is always a comforting sight. I would definitely stay there again.

Room Tip: Room 4 was lovely.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingston upon Hull, England, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013

The sun was shining and there was a lively buzz in the street as we approached the Village Inn outside of which was standing a gentleman who we took to be the proprietor. I can't recollect any other occasion where we have been welcomed by the ‘landlord’ bursting into song, it wasn't very long but we couldn't help but laugh and it set the tone for the rest of our stay. The gentleman in question is 'Razor' who helps to run the pub with his partner Bev ably assisted by Mandy, Chris and Dan who all contributed to providing us with a cracking week. They really can't do enough for you, they may be informal in their approach but that's the way we like it.
We and the rest of the customers of course, were treated to an impromptu evening of folk featuring the debut of ' The Village Idiots' comprising Mandy and a frequent guest, Diana, who played the accordion. I don't think it unkind to say that they are pretty much a work in progress and we are looking forward to returning next year to see the finished article. What they may have lacked in finesse and repertoire was more than counterbalanced by the enthusiasm with which they approached there task and the sheer hilarity that they generated. Believe me, you can't buy nights like that.

Our room was spacious, clean and airy and served its purpose perfectly whilst the meals, prepared by Bev, represented the best of good, wholesome (not to mention ample) cooking.

If you can leave your pretensions at home, get the starch out of your pants and are prepared to join in then you're in for a treat.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Essex
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2013

Went into the bar to check in and was met by a young lad who looked about 16 who greeted us with 'yep'. First impression was a staircase with dirty, threadbare carpets, two dogs running up and down the stairs and the horrible smell of 'wet dog'. At the top of these stairs was the kitchen with a dirty baby gate across the doorway to keep the dogs out. Shown rooms at the top of another set of stairs with grubby, threadbare carpets, that didn't look anything like the Internet pictures ... Decision? Find somewhere else. The pictures of the front of this pub on the Internet are nothing like the pub as it is. I would definitely not recommend this accommodation to friends, family or trip advisor members. The only good comment I can put on here is its location, but beware there is no parking nearby, it's on the road or tourist car park

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wales
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2013

very much enjoyed our 2 night stay at The Village Inn. At only £60 per nights is very well located and good value. Ok as 1 reviewer said the stairs carpet is a (very) little bare but the room no 4, was clean, with a view towards the sea and plenty big enough. Bathroom was fine but on the small side.
The stay is enhanced by Mark (the owner) who made us feel at home from the moment we arrived, it feels quite informal and friendly.
They'd provided music on night 1 and an excellent live singer on the second.
10 of us ate in the first night - we all agreed it was an excellent (better than pub food).
Rooms 3 & 4 are a good size and look out on the 2nd floor to the sea /street .
All in all we'd definitely stay again - friendly, informal and convenient.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Village Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Village Inn

Address: 19 Lynmouth Street, Lynmouth, Exmoor National Park EX35 6EH, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Exmoor National Park > Lynmouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 15 B&Bs / Inns in Lynmouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The Village Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cozy traditional Inn offering real ale, good wholesome home cooked food, warm and friendly hosts and staff. Six en-suite rooms decorated to a high standard with all the usual extras. We offer good value for money food, drink and accommodation all year round. There is also a log fire in the winter and a beer garden for our smokers. Dogs are very welcome to stay in our allocated dog rooms and are also welcome in the bar and garden. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity and Hotels.com so you can book your The Village Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Village Inn Lynmouth, Devon

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Village Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.