We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stunning peaceful countryside” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Doone Valley

Doone Valley
Exmoor National Park, England
Website
Improve this listing
Attraction details
Chatham, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
150 reviews 150 reviews
48 attraction reviews
Reviews in 69 cities Reviews in 69 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
“Stunning peaceful countryside”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2013

All through this part of north Devon the countryside, the moors and coast the views are just stunning. We drove over the hills and moors from Lynmouth, through the valley and Watersmeet (we didn't stop here but if you have time and are able to walk up from Lynmouth it must be worth the effort). We parked in Malmsmead near the bridge, and 'Lorna Doone Farm' gift shop!! I was surprised at having to pay 50p each to enter the field to walk by the river - it's an honesty box but everyone paid. I hope the money is used to preserve the land. The walk even in our cold Easter this year was stunning and lovely. The river babbled away, the trees were trying to blossom, and the sun was shining. The path is grass and clearly marked. It undulates slightly and crosses a few brooks but nothing difficult. We only walked a couple of miles but you could go further. Well worth it.

We had a cup of tea at the Cafe Deli in Malmsmead, which is trying to be something it isn't. It's a cross between a contemporary cafe, but is really a walker's haunt, or a day trippers stop. Drinks were expensive (but you are miles from anywhere and captive!) but the selection of cakes was good, as was the cafe menu including breakfasts, burgers, fish, and sandwiches. Trade was brisk and if you're in the area it's worth the visit. But make sure the owner's children remember what you've ordered before they go around every table trying to find you!!!

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

17 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    17
    0
    0
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
bournemouth
1 review
“OTTERS”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2013

We sat on a rock by the river just a little way up from Clouds Farm when two big black eyes appeared staring at us under the overhang not 10 feet away on the other side of the the river, it was a Otter, then all of a sudden it dived into the water and popped back up about 3 seconds later with a small brown trout it seemed not to mind us at all and just carried on eating its afternoon lunch, not very often do you see that, and so close, WONDERFUL.

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
142 reviews 142 reviews
76 attraction reviews
Reviews in 67 cities Reviews in 67 cities
75 helpful votes 75 helpful votes
“Go in September”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2012

Parked in Malmsmead and paid to walk by the stream.I have been many times before in spring and mid summer but never in September
Walked up the valley to the bridge near Badgeworthy hill. In the past walked over Brendon common on the way back but this time did a there and back walk. Easy walking with lovely views.
Bankings of purple heather, yellow gorse, rowan trees laden with bright red berries,pretty stream, sparrow hawk and buzzard. Also interesting old oak woods whose trunks look good in winter.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cairo
Top Contributor
205 reviews 205 reviews
77 attraction reviews
Reviews in 75 cities Reviews in 75 cities
148 helpful votes 148 helpful votes
“A Brilliant Walk”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2012

This rates as one of the loveliest walks I have ever done. The Doone Valley walk along the river is stunning and secluded. Also a great place to camp by the river at Cloud Farm.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
158 reviews 158 reviews
76 attraction reviews
Reviews in 53 cities Reviews in 53 cities
100 helpful votes 100 helpful votes
“Beautiful area”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2012

Loved the scenery and the small river that flows through the area. Some character pubs and don't forget the small church, as mentioned in the book "Lorna Doone".

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Doone Valley also viewed

Exmoor National Park, England
Lynmouth, Exmoor National Park
 
Exmoor National Park, England
Lynmouth, Exmoor National Park
 

Been to Doone Valley? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Doone Valley, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.