We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Overcharged!! Please check your receipt before you leave!” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Countess Wear Beefeater

Countess Wear Beefeater
398 Topsham Road, Exeter EX2 6HE, England
01392 875441
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #259 of 416 Restaurants in Exeter
Price range: $10 - $19
Cuisines: British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Romance, Large groups, Doing business, Outdoor seating
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Devon
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Overcharged!! Please check your receipt before you leave!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013

We have been here several times and found the daytime value meal - served up until 6.30pm a great price. You pay for a normal meal about £7-£8 then add £1.99 each for a starter and dessert so three courses for just over £11. The Crispy Garlic & Herb Breaded Mushrooms served with sour cream and bbq dips are my favourite. I then usually have a rump steak followed by the Caramel Apple Crumble Pie. All tasted the usual beefeater standard. I was disappointed to find out when I got home that I had been over charged and email them. The two steaks under the daytime meal came to £15.38 but three of the meals were charged at the more expensive evening meal and cost £29.37. My receipt clearly states 6.13pm. The Beefeater haven't even bothered to respond to my email - very poor!

  • Visited September 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

139 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    18
    30
    43
    27
    21
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Dunstable, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Excellent food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2013

Ate here as we stayed at the Premier Inn - cannot fault it! Probably ate too much - good job we had a bed to go and lie down on afterwards!!

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stone, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
“In need of a makeover !!”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2013

Had an evening meal and breakfast here last week. The best thing was the attitude of the staff for both meals in the restaurant , the food was acceptable and a reasonble price.
The building however is in need of a clean-up and make-over. The bar area was not clean , scruffy , and the bar staff very noisey although the bar had few customers.
A place to avoid until cleaned-up.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“If I lived in Exeter I would never go back”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2013

What a bad experience this was... Reading from other reviews this place has not got any better and my experience was very similar to other reviewers.
We had to wait 15 minutes for a table as they didn't have any availability, yet the restuarent was half empty. When we did sit down we could clearly hear the staff moaning about another customer who had made a complaint. We then had to wait again to order our food even though there were three staff standing right in front of us chatting amongst themselves and we were sat there staring at them with our menu's looking very ready to order. The food took 40 minutes to come and lets just say there is no point ordering steak to be cooked in a certain way - it comes as it comes!! We didn't order anything else and just left after paying.
We were sat very close to where people were queuing to get in and couldn't believe how long people were left standing there... especially those that had booked a table for a specific time. Anyone who hadn't booked a table was turned away but the restaurent was not all anywhere near full. The waiting staff all tend the tear around the restaurent like headless chickens which is quite off putting when you are trying to eat your meal and have someone with about 20 keys busting past you every 2 minutes.
I would strongly suggest a change of management here!

  • Visited September 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hungerford, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Ok...”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2013

Decent meal in here which is typical of the big chain. Me down side was the service. Although polite, the messed up the order and my son was forced to wait for his main. It took so long we had all finished and he was eating alone. Mistakes happen, but no offer of compensation. Disappointing.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Countess Wear Beefeater also viewed

 
Torquay, English Riviera
 

Been to Countess Wear Beefeater? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Countess Wear Beefeater, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.