We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location / poor food and service” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Mill on the Exe

Mill on the Exe
Bonhay Road, Exeter EX4, England
01392214464
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #90 of 416 Restaurants in Exeter
Price range: $3 - $27
Cuisines: English, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Bar scene, Doing business, Outdoor seating, Special occasions
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Bristol, United Kingdom
1 review
“Great location / poor food and service”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2014

Came here for a spot of dinner and drinks last night and whilst the setting was lovely the food was really not good. I had the fish and scallop broth which was effectively miso soup with a few scallops. My boyfriend had the pate (as he wasn't massively hungry) and didn't even finish it as it was so bad. The service was also really bad. Our cutlery and meals were literally dumped in front of us by a sullen waitress who quite obviously didn't want to be there. Other staff seemed more helpful, but the overall impression was not good!

  • Visited April 2014
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
travexLondon, Owner at Mill on the Exe, responded to this review, April 26, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review us on trip advisor and please accept our apologies that we fell short of your expectations. We will learn from your feedback and perhaps try to convey the style of the fish broth to avoid any future confusion on what our customers are expecting.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

407 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    163
    127
    56
    44
    17
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Exeter, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Poor service stops diners enjoying their meals”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2014

My wife and I decided to stop at this idyllic looking pub next to the river. It was packed as they had a wedding party later. We sat down and I ordered, the food looked really good, firstly no one came to clear the table, they brought our food to the dirty table and only then started to clear it, she couldn't carry it all and said she'd be back, 25 minutes later she took the last of the old coffee cups. She collected our wooden serving boards at the same time, the serving boards only just fitted the meal and when trying to cut on them food ended up on the floor. I waited a while before inquiring as to where my desert was, they had forgotten it, 15 minutes later it arrived. It was over 1 hour and 10 minutes from ordering to desert being served. It is a poor quality standard when good quality food is let down by poor serving platters and poor quality staff.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
travexLondon, Owner at Mill on the Exe, responded to this review, April 9, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review us on trip advisor although it was no surprise to receive this review as you told us you were going to do so whilst berating us during your visit. On this visit we have to put our hands up and say we are guilty as charged if not training our staff to be mind readers constitutes poor service.
As you state you visited on what was a very busy day, the weather was lovely - dry and warm and lots of people headed to the river to enjoy the day. We also had a wedding reception taking place in our downstairs bar. When you arrived the pub was packed and you jumped onto a table as the previous guests were leaving. Unfortunately we didn't spot this and didn't realise that the plates in front of you weren't yours but catching the attention of any of our team or perhaps mentioning it when you went to the bar to order your food and drinks could have resolved this so easily - but you didn't tell us.
You ordered two sandwiches and one dessert. the sandwiches which had a hot filling came out within 25 minutes of your ordering them, which on a busy day for a cooked meal was fairly quick. Again I can only apologise that we didn't read your mind that you were expecting your dessert to come with your savoury course - I think I can safely say that that is the first time any one has expected that so yes we got it wrong! When you complained our manager Ashley tried to apologise and didn't charge for your dessert but you weren't happy and we are sorry for that. We will always try to accommodate any request but we do need to be told to achieve this.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dorset
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Superb Sunday Lunch”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2014

On our way home from St Ives stopped off here to enjoy lunch with family and were not disappointed. A choice of three carvery roasts beef, lamb and pork with vegetarian option if wished. Delicious thick slices of real beef and pork joints, cooked to perfection, accompanied by a variety of vegetables, home made Yorkshire puddings topped off with gluten free or usual gravy. Service was extremely polite, slick and efficient. Dogs are welcome and ours was offered his own tasty treat! Would we return? Most definitely and we will. Do book since this is obviously very popular and the price reflects the quality.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Lovely setting and atmosphere. Food ok. Could do with a clean.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2014

Been here a few times. Great setting especially in good weather.
Good range of foods. Bit disappointed with the sea food tagliatelle -was expecting a variety of fish not all shell fish but was ok.
The main disappointment is that it feels like the whole place could do with a good clean. For example the windows are covered in hand prints the toilets pretty grim. Hence lower rating from me sorry.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Exmouth, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Great location, staff and ales - food average”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2014 via mobile

Popped in lunchtime was made very welcome by staff and had a good white wine and very good real ale

We both have eaten out a lot lately and fancied something simple so we had the fish and chips, not a good choice!

Whilst the fish portion was very large and the batter looked inviting the latter was in fact greasy and tasted of the cooking oil. The chips appeared to be the frozen type which were pale and about 50% not cooked through

A great place, everything commendably clean, absolutely fabulous location and very nice staff, food let it down

Visited March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mill on the Exe also viewed

 

Been to Mill on the Exe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mill on the Exe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.