We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hit and miss, but mostly hit.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Mill on the Exe

Mill on the Exe
Bonhay Road, Exeter EX4, England
+44 1392 214464
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #87 of 405 Restaurants in Exeter
Price range: $5 - $27
Cuisines: English, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Bar scene, Doing business, Families with children
Dining options: Breakfast, Delivery, Late Night, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Description: Busy pub located right on the banks of the river Exe with stunning garden and views. Pub style menu with daily specials using locally sourced food. Featured in Good Pub Guide and serving five award winning real ales, Cornish Rattler cider and 14 wines by the glass. Taste of the West Silver award 2014.
Exeter, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Hit and miss, but mostly hit.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013

Have had several lovely meals here, and one very average one. The only real downside is that the drinks are quite overpriced. Would definitely go again though.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

467 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    187
    144
    65
    50
    21
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Wet!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2013

Great views across the river but suffered recently from having so much of the river on the inside of the pub. food was always adequate. Large & airy inside, can be lacking in atmosphere.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
travexLondon, Owner at Mill on the Exe, responded to this review, March 6, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review us on trip advisor. All feedback is important to us as we use it to shape what we do. That said your review is very general and because of this we have sent you two private messages to try and get a better understanding of your recent visit. As you have not responded it is harder to respond.
As a riverside pub we have,like lots of other people on the flood plain had more than our fair share of water during December. Hopefully we minimised the disruption to our customers and with a lot of hard work by our dedicated team we managed to honour every booking during the busy Christmas party season.
We have no information about the food you have tried but are glad that it was ok.
It would have been really useful to undersand why you feel the pub lacks atmosphere, it is a big pub with lots of different areas ranging from cosy corners to big airy spaces. We hope that our two wood burning stoves and open fire help to add to the ambience?
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Exeter, England, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Poor experience!”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2013

went for a family meal was seated upstairs (not child friendly) portions of food was next to none, especially the desserts(expensive) Just had a really bad experience this time we went. Doubt we will go again.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
travexLondon, Owner at Mill on the Exe, responded to this review, March 6, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to post a review on trip advisor. All feedback is important to us as it can help us improve what we do. That said your review is quite general and because of this we have sent two private messages to try and gain a few more details about your recent visit. As you have not responded to either message it is difficult for us to investigate your concerns.
To comment on the points you have made:
The upstairs that you refer to is actually at street level and there is level access to this floor of the pub from the pavement. Signs from the car park indicate how to gain level access to the pub without using the stairs from the car park. I'm not sure why you feel this is not child friendly - we have high chairs available for use, a dedicated childrens menu and baby changing facilities in our easy access toilet? We even have a few 'games' to keep our younger customers amused.
We do not know what dishes you ordered but a small portion size is not a complaint we are used to, quite the opposite in fact as most people who are kind enough to comment while they are with us tell us that are portion sizes are big. Our desserts, with the exception of the ice cream are all made on the premises and we offer a range of prices.
We are sorry you didn't enjoy your visit and feel confident that if you come again that our team would be able to address all your concerns to ensure you leave happy - we are there to help.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Exeter
Top Contributor
104 reviews 104 reviews
67 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
181 helpful votes 181 helpful votes
“More of a restaurant than a pub”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2013

The Mill on the Exe is not a pub - it's a restaurant which happens to be in CAMRA's Good Beer Guide - or at least, that's the impression we got when we visited there early on a Saturday evening.

We had planned to meet some friends for a few pints and a chat, but at around 6.30, most of the tables had 'reserved' notices on them. I would estimate that there were no more than a dozen unreserved seats in the whole place. Admittedly, the reserved notices did state the time from which the tables were reserved, but that would have been no help to us if we'd wanted to stay drinking and talking beyond 8pm - we'd have the option to either sit outside in the smoking area or continue our conversation standing. Luckily we found a small unreserved table for two and as our friends didn't turn up we didn't have to take turns in sitting at the table.

I would suggest that you do not sit at the two tables on either side of the door to the covered outside smoking area unless you are a smoker. Firstly, they are draughty tables because the doors are constantly being opened and some of the door openers don't know how to close them again. Secondly, there are two reverse air extractors above the tables which, rather oddly, suck the smoky air from outside and pump it indoors and over the tables.

The beer is excellent and the food looks nice - but if you intend going there on a Saturday evening (even if it's just for a drink) I'd suggest making a reservation.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
devon
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
“right on the water”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2013

this pub/restaurant is in a lovely spot right on the weir/canal from the centre of exeter or a stone throw from st davids station. listen to the water while having a meal or drink.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mill on the Exe also viewed

 

Been to Mill on the Exe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mill on the Exe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.