We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great little find!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Al Farid

Al Farid
3 Cathedral Yard, Exeter, England
01392 494444
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #61 of 415 Restaurants in Exeter
Price range: $31 - $41
Cuisines: Moroccan
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Dinner, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Description: Welcome to Al-Farid Mezz Bar & RestaurantUmar ibn ‘Al-Farid’ was an Arab poet, his poetry is entirely suffic ,and he was esteemed mystic poet of the Arabs.Our head chef has created a thoughtful menu that delights the taste buds. A firm favourite is the mezze, an array of small succulent dishes. The mezze comprised both cold and hot dishes and offers a wealth of colour flavour, texture and aroma.An attribute of Moroccan food is the fact that is healthy as well as tasty and filling.A choice of traditional Moroccan dessert is an offer to complements the meal, expect Baklava a sweet pastry, and Mhallableyh, rice pudding with rose water.Also the drink menu is Moroccan national drink, Arak, which has an aniseed base, and a variety of fruit juices. To finish your meal you cannot miss out on one of our Moroccan coffee, flavoured wit natural cardamom, cinnamon or rose water.No bona fide Moroccan meal complete without smoking an authentic hooka pipe. Each day the water pipes are packed with fresh flavoured tobaccos, choose between apples, strawberry, cherry, rose, grape or fruit cocktail.
Taunton, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“A great little find!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2013

Wandering about looking for 'something different' and found Al Farid! It was a Saturday night and we hadn't booked so we had the option of sitting on the cushions downstairs - don't be put off by this it was great fun and we chatted to people sitting opposite as they were doing the same thing. Lovely meze, just what we wanted, relaxed and fun!

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

234 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    134
    62
    10
    13
    15
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
London, England, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“Relaxed atmosphere and good tasting food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2013

We visited this place on a Saturday afternoon as it seemed to be one of the very few non-chain places we could find in Exeter. Walking in through the entrance hall, the place seemed very small. However, we were advised that there was ample seating upstairs (which we decided against and therefore cannot make reference to), and also small tables downstairs. The downstairs was the size of an average houses dining room, with a choice of cushion filled chairs or comfy cushions on the floor (which we chose), all in the Moroccan style. It was very comfortable and had plenty of quirky decor. We chose the offer of six dishes and a bottle of wine for £40 which was ample to fill us up. The prawns were particularly good, as was the lentils with vegetables - everything had plenty of flavour. Staff were very friendly and helpful, and the toilets were exceptionally clean. The background music was authentic and the atmosphere generally very relaxed. There was a good choice of alcohol.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Exeter, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“A Very Relaxing Night”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2013

Al Farid is a little over priced but they are located in the Cathedral Yard and I’d hate to imagine what their rent and business rates are like. Main courses started around £12 then went up from there.

After reading the mixed bag of reviews on the restaurant, my wife & I decided to pay them a visit last night.

There's little point in telling you how it looked, as nearly every other reviewer has already said it all.

Our welcome was warm, the service very good and the food was a bit of a mixed bag. We both had tagine - or at least different stews that were served in hot tagine dishes... The lamb shank and onion was lovely but the duck and apricot was downright strange. Mixing duck, apricot, sweet potato and olives is not right.

The desserts were really good - I had baklava with pistachio nuts and chocolate sauce, which was really good. My wife had the pannacotta with raspberry coolie, which she didn't enjoy due to there being excessive gelatine in it. I liked it though and ended up finishing it for her.

Sorry guys can't please everyone all of the time. I'm not saying that any of the food was bad, just not quite what I'd of expected.

Would I go back? Maybe, I did enjoy it but I’d ask more about the dishes before ordering if I did.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AL farid T, Manager at Al Farid, responded to this review, February 11, 2013
Thanks for your feedback, regarding the over price, compared to other Restaurant in Cathedral I can say Al Farid is the Cheapest Restaurant in that area, our Main courses are started from £10.50 to £12.50 SO no more that £12.50.
More over ,All our dishes are followed the traditional Moroccan recipe.
Anyway we are very please to have you and looking forward to see you again,This time if you did have any question regarding any dishes please let us know ,to Help you.
Many Thanks.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“A really good night out!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013 via mobile

Great atmosphere! Went for New Year's Eve and lots of fun and lovely food! Loved all the candles and lighting!

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dawlish, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Great service, lovely food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

Me & my husband went here for nye meal with our friends. we had 6 mezze and wine, followed by Shisha, was extremely tasty, and great layout. The staff are extremely friendly ! We even met joss stone here :) would definitely recommend was a great experience.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Al Farid also viewed

 

Been to Al Farid? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Al Farid, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.