We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A suprise Twist !!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Twisted Oak - CLOSED

Twisted Oak
John's Cross Hill | Ide, Exeter EX2 9RG, England
01392 27366
Website
Improve this listing
Price range: $23 - $31
Cuisines: Steakhouse, Pub, Gastropub
Dining options: Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night
Exeter, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“A suprise Twist !!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2013

Under new management now a guy called Leo and his family are making a difference at the Twisted oak near Exeter and Ide. They offer a carvery which was lovely and also chinese food
But my favourite was the sizziling steak which actually cooks in front of your eyes so you get it just the way you like it !!

A great steak at a good price from a great guy , can i say more !
Yep Try it.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

94 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    22
    23
    11
    13
    25
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Exeter, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Appalling 'landlord' who doesn't have a clue what he's doing!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2013

me and my family went here the other day for a meal, as we have been here many times before and always enjoyed it, we turned up and was welcomed by a man behind the bar who explained to us he was the new landlord, he explained to us that they was a change in menu from before, e.g mostly all steaks! we asked for some drinks, my husband asked for a fosters and he was poured a strongbow! i asked for a large rose and was given a large white wine, and to top it off, my daughter wanted a single vodka and coke, and was given a double barcadi & lemonade, after this we decided to leave and go somewhere else, just thinking if he cant understand a drinks order i wonder what the foods like!! dont know how can be a landlord, when doesn't have a idea what hes doing! wont be going back again!

  • Visited May 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Exeter, England, United Kingdom
1 review
“Excellent food and extremely helpful staff”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2013

We went here on 21st May 2013 for a family meal to celebrate my daughter's 6th birthday. The pub has very recently changed hands, however despite this the staff were extremely friendly and helpful. Most of the adults ordered steak which was served on a sizzling stone for you to cook to your liking. Due to the change over there wasn't currently a children's menu however they accommodated all the children's requests with enthusiasm. Overall the food was fantastic, one of the best steak meals we've ever had in a pub. It did appear that some of the outdoor space was looking a little tired along with some of the interior but it was obvious that this had been recognised by the new landlords and work was in progress to make improvements. Overall I would recommend this as a good family pub.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Teignmouth, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Great Pub, great grub”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2013

Phil, the Landlord, welcomes groups and individuals to dine at this cracking little pub in Ide, Exeter.
The food is great with a huge choice and is mostly home cooked.
I usually attend as part of the MX5 Owners Club South West and we take over the conservatory with about 45 of us, on the 2nd Tuesday of every month.
We are always made welcome. Its a great place to socialise and enjoy the company over a good meal.
Phil will also arrange a bacon butty and coffees on a Sunday morning before we go off on a 'run' as a group.
S0, if you are in the area and want to get a great value meal nip into Ide. There's plenty of car parking as well.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Exeter, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Great food and great service by friendly staff”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2013

We went here for my birthday on the Wed 20th March 2013 not sure what to expect as I hadn't been there for years,food was great and reasonably priced, we had a lovely evening sat in the conservatory, the service was great and the staff couldn't do enough to make sure we enjoyed our evening, would recommend going to friends and family and are now looking forward to going for a sunday carvery.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Twisted Oak also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Twisted Oak, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.