We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“wonderful, cosy evening” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Herbies

Herbies
15 North Street, Exeter EX4 3QS, England
+44 (0)1392 258473
Improve this listing
Ranked #25 of 416 Restaurants in Exeter
Price range: $8 - $32
Cuisines: Vegetarian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Large groups, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Description: Herbies has has a creatively eclectic menu with flavours from around the world.Enjoy the laid back bistro style atmosphere with the very best vegetarian food.A favourite with locals and visitors alike.
Exeter, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
“wonderful, cosy evening”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2013

Great food, even our meat eaters were extremely happy. Menu has a lot of choice, the wine selection was fantastic and everything was so reasonably priced. A revisit is definitely on the cards!

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

209 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    134
    50
    16
    6
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Exeter, United Kingdom
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“Needs a menu change badly, and either more or politer staff!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2013

I used to be a huge fan of Herbies, as I loved their simple hearty veggie meals, particularly the bean burgers, the huge jacket potatoes with the fillings and beautiful verdant side salads and the pitta and dips. The place was always busy and hard to get a seat in, but was worth it because the food was lovely, cheap, healthy and the waiting staff (although overworked!) were always pleasant and friendly.

What a difference these days. The menu is smaller as are the portions, the plates lack imagination and enthusiasm, but worst of all the staff all seem to be young students who don't have the sense or courtesy to keep an eye on tables (meaning orders are taken in the wrong order), or neglect customers to the point that they lose all good will. I was sat waiting for someone to take my order for over ten minutes and watched several other people served and the floor circled three times before I was noticed. When I finally did attract the distracted young waiter's attention I made a cheery joke about feeling invisible and was coldly informed that the restaurant was "very busy". I suggested that an apology might have been a better answer and got a stare.

Won't be going again, despite having been a loyal customers since the early 90s. Pull your socks up Herbies.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Exeter, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Fantastic experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2012

We called in on the evening of Christmas eve without reserving a table and despite being ultra busy we were welcomed and offered the last table for 2 in the restaurant. As ever, the staff were really helpful and even though it was a busy night the food and service was excellent. we usually eat here at lunch times but whether evening or lunchtime we cannot fault the food or service.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Good - but not great”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2012

Massive portions of home cooked style food. There's a few areas I think they could improve in, but mostly it's pretty good.

I think some of the food could do with a bit of tweaking - for instance I had the winter vegetable crumble, but there was too much crumble and the crumble was very dry and powdery. Add a bit of moisture to the crumble topping (or cheese?) and it would go up a level.

My wife had a cheesecake and felt the cheese element wasn't sweet enough, and just tasted like a blend of cheese and cream.

All things that could be easily fixed.

Finally it would be nice if they had paper towels or a hand dryer in the toilet. The loos have real towels, but this isn't nice from a hygiene point of view.

We feel the price is a bit high for cafe style food.

That said - these things wouldn't stop us from going again. It was really busy so they are clearly popular, and they have a big selection on the menu.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Exeter, United Kingdom
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Disappointed”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2012

My daughter and I went for a light lunch. The jacket potatoes were cold, my meagre portion of baked beans were cold too. We asked for a side salad each which was a small plate of just a few lettuce leaves @ £3 a plate! A very expensive light meal of poor quality.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
anthony M, Owner at Herbies, responded to this review, December 10, 2012
I am really sorry you were disappointed with your meal. Unfortunately the kitchen was not aware that the jacket potatoes were for adults as you chose from our under 12,s menu. We try not to over heat food being served to young children. The salad you ordered was not our standard mixed salad but a green salad which consists only of green leaves.Im sorry you did not mention your dissatisfaction at the time as i am sure we could have rectified the problem.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Herbies also viewed

 

Been to Herbies? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Herbies, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.