We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Such a shame...” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Double Locks Pub

Double Locks Pub
Canal Banks, Exeter EX2 6LT, England
+44 (0)1392 256947
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #253 of 404 Restaurants in Exeter
Price range: $6 - $10
Cuisines: Bar, British, English
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Description: We re a traditional English pub situated on exeter canal. We have a large outside beer garden, kids play area and even a volley ball pitch. We serve real ale from 3 on the tap and another four from the barrell in the summer months. Food is served all day
Exmouth, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Such a shame...”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2014

I've visited the Double Locks pub on a few occasions and unfortunately I have nothing good to report. The first time was for a company BBQ; they served a hog roast which was largely undercooked and we were stuck in a tent in the pouring rain. We were told we couldn't go indoors as our party was too big so were stuck outside.

The second time was a lunchtime date with a friend, we sat outside as it was a nice day however the service was almost non existent and the pub wasn't even that busy! The food again wasn't great.

The third, and probably final, visit was to their 'Sausage & Cider Festival' over the August bank holiday weekend... Except you could hardly call it that! We got there at 7pm, which we considered quite early on a Saturday night, and it wasn't at all busy which concerned us. We then found out that they'd run out of sausages AND had stopped serving all food! At 7pm on a Saturday night you do not expect a pub to stop serving food! We ended up getting McDonalds as one of the main reasons we went there that night was the food so we were starving and McDonalds was our only option. The cider was an overall disappointment too, the band stopped playing at 10pm and they called last orders at 10:30pm... Considering it was supposed to be a 'festival', a Saturday and a bank holiday it was overall a total let down. Other people we spoke to who attended earlier that day all shared our feelings which to is sounded like the whole day was disappointing.

Overall, this pub is a bit of a let down which is such a shame considering it's beautiful surroundings. The food is poor at best (when they are serving it!), the drinks are all overpriced, and the service is lacking too.

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

276 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    42
    63
    47
    54
    70
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Newton Abbot, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Lunch on the canal”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2014 via mobile

My friend and I walked to the Double Locks for lunch with her dog. Lovely spot by the canal, plenty of seating both inside and out. Staff were friendly and polite and service prompt despite it being very busy. Great food and not overly priced. Sat and watched the canoes and kayaks go by and the Red Arrows over Dawlish! Beautiful spot any time of the year.

Visited August 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wincanton, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Great memories overtaken by 21st century commercial realities”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2014

I had great memories of the double locks from when I was a student 30 years ago so when we decided to re-visit it again I was delighted to see that it is still a wonderful location, still serving real ale straight from the cask - the Bath Gem was a delight.

However this place is now commercialised beyond recognition and has lost so much of the charm that I remembered, food is adequate and chosen from a laminated card of standard pub grub bit served efficiently enough. There must be 75 picnic tables and marquee and children's play area.

Therefore is you want grub served efficiently in a pleasant location then I heartily recommend the Double Locks; but for me the magic has gone!

  • Visited August 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Over hyped”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2014

Visited this restaurant because i used to fish on the canal a lot in years gone by and always wondered. Sat in the "garden" area. they have a real nerve to call this a family area..When i was there it was full of 20 something drunks swearing and carrying on. Staff seemed courteous but seemed to be over stretched. Food arrived luke warm like it had been sat waiting for some time.
Value for money....... go elsewhere thats more accessible, its not worth the drive over thats narrow bridge. Food in my opinion based on what i was served was way over priced, poor quality and badly presented.
Garden area was dirty and poorly maintained.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Exeter, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“NEVER AGAIN!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2014

This used to be a pleasant place to visit with a great location beside the canal. However the place is now run down and dirty, clearly dog mess around the tables had been there for several days. We ordered cheese and pickle and ham and tomato sandwiches, how can you go wrong with a sandwich? The bread was stale, the cheese was a slab of cheddar nearly 2cm thick and there was far too much pickle. The ham was also 4 slices thick but at least this was easier to remove than trying to slice the cheese into more manageable pieces. The accompanying salad with both sandwiches was absolutely drenched in dressing it dripped off it as we tried to drain it and made it impossible to eat.
Please somebody take a grip of this place as it is a shame not to be able to eat and drink in what is a lovely setting.

  • Visited August 2014
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Double Locks Pub also viewed

 
Littleton-upon-Severn, Gloucestershire
 

Been to Double Locks Pub? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Double Locks Pub, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.