We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Service and Tasty Food with a view.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of ASK Italian - Exeter

ASK Italian - Exeter
5 Cathedral Close, Exeter EX1 1EZ, England
+44 1392 427127
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #134 of 404 Restaurants in Exeter
Price range: $11 - $20
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
Description: The ASK Italian restaurant group boasts an excellent Exeter venue, situated in a stunning period building on the green next to Exeter Cathedral. The ASK Italian restaurant has recently gone through an extensive refurbishment. We've created a restaurant with a distinctive new look inspired by modern Italian design. And with the help of our expert friends, including awarding-winning chef Theo Randall, we've created a menu that features a range of simple, classic Italian food and an all Italian wine list.
Exeter, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
95 reviews 95 reviews
71 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
“Excellent Service and Tasty Food with a view.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2014

This is a fantastic location in the heart of the city by the Cathederal Green discreetly tucked away in one of the oldest Grade I listed buildings, so spend a bit of time having a look around at some of the features. It's a pity Ask don't have more info on display about the building. If you want a great view of the Cathederal sit outside at the front by the cobbled street or at the front windows on the ground or first floor.
It was a minute or two to be seated once we arrived but then Richard our waiter was quick with the menu and drinks. Prosecco is always a favourite here or the still lemonade if you want something non alcoholic.
The butterfly king prawns cooked in garlic and served on a sizzling skillet are really tasty or if you want something a little more traditional then opt for the bruschetta which is a larger portion than most High St Italian restaurants.
Lobster and crab pasta for a main was nice as was the pancetta carbonara.
Certainly one of the best Italians to eat at.
Remember to use your Tesco club card vouchers which can be redeemed online using your mobile and by showing the staff your voucher code when you're ready to pay. These are worth four times the face value on all food but not against drinks which you'll have to pay for.

  • Visited August 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

281 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    67
    77
    84
    36
    17
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Stockholm, Sweden
Top Contributor
235 reviews 235 reviews
147 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
193 helpful votes 193 helpful votes
“Good for a chain”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2014

Interior is faultless, the food is great. I had a lovely gluten free pizza which didn't disappoint (like most gluten free meals do) however the staff aren't the most service minded.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“Outstanding”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2014

We don't normally go to chain restaurants as always found them dull and mediocre at best but thought we would give ask exeter a try it was amazing the kids meal was brilliant my little one loved that she herself had her own heathy starter included in the kids meal the menu was great I struggled to decide what to choose from there was so much I wanted and the food tasted amazing calamari best I've had and the seafood ravioli was incredible staff were really friendly and attentive and it had a brilliant atmosphere we would definitely go again and will recommend to others thank you for a lovely meal

  • Visited August 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tavistock, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Excellent lunch in a child-friendly environment”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2014

We visited this restaurant last year while on a long weekend in Exeter and had a good experience. So for our day out this time we booked it for lunch as, unlike last time, we had our very young daughter with us and didn't want to faff around on a Saturday afternoon looking for a baby-friendly place to eat with an impatient infant in tow.

Yes, ASK is a chain but this location, in a classic building opposite the cathedral is a lovely setting. The food was good and the menu was diverse. But the main reason for me writing this review was the service they gave to make this a child-friendly experience. Nothing was too much - from assisting us moving the pushchair to providing hot water and ancillaries for us to prepare the baby food and feeding the little one. They even gave a small and entirely appropriate gift to our daughter without prompting. Full credit to the staff who served us (Richard).

In summary - for you parents out there, a good, smart location for a nice day-time meal if you have a young one with you - even if they are not old enough yet for the child menu.

  • Visited August 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cornwall
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“Top notch chain restaurant”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2014

Ask is a great chain and this one in Exeter is no exception. Somewhat quirky building next the cathedral so a great location. Friendly staff and good food.

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed ASK Italian - Exeter also viewed

 

Been to ASK Italian - Exeter? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage ASK Italian - Exeter, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.