We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Agreed: great location, bad food” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Fingle Bridge Inn

Fingle Bridge Inn
Drewsteignton, Exeter EX6 6PW, England
01647 281287
Improve this listing
Ranked #33 of 114 things to do in Exeter
Activities: Dining
Attraction details
Exeter, England, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Agreed: great location, bad food”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2012

Unfortunately I have to agree with those reviewers who praise the lovely location of this pub, but complain about the food. We also had greasy and soggy chips, heavy and fatty sausages and pie... which spoilt the rest of our walk by lingering on our stomach for a long while. It's too bad that the place seems to count on its great position to attract customers. But if you care about food, you will be disappointed.

Visited April 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Owner at Fingle Bridge Inn, responded to this review, July 4, 2012
I think we all expect the pub classics of Pie and Chips, Sausages and Mash to be on the menu when you walk into a Pub which prides itself on good honest 'pub grub'. Homemade pie, Home-made chips and locally sourced sausages - who can say fairer than that! So, we would suggest to the person who felt that her meal was too heavy for her to enjoy the rest of her walk maybe a salad or sandwich would have been a wiser choice; I don't think Paula Radcliffe would have topped up on suasages, pies and chips prior to embarking on a marathon which, to us mortals, would be equivalent to the steep and strenuous terrain encountered in the Fingle Gorge!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

68 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    28
    20
    6
    10
    4
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
UK
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Food poisoning alert”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2012

Beautiful place and supposedly a lovely place to stop on the walk from Castle Drogo. Unfortunately having had a baked potato with beans I developed severe food poisoning in the afternoon. I have never had food poisoning in UK before so it was a nasty surprise.

What was most disappointing was that when I called the manager to let them know, rather than apologising they persisted in suggesting other reasons why I might be ill. Furthermore they did not apologise.

I had only had toast that morning and feel fine now (the morning after). What was particularly concerning is that although the lady I spoke to said she would report it in the food hygiene book, she did not say she would even speak to the staff to ensure this does not happen again.

Proceed with caution!

Visited April 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Owner at Fingle Bridge Inn, responded to this review, July 4, 2012
Through this publication we would like to thank all our many customers for their support and excellent feedback - it makes all the hard work of a family business worthwhile and puts comments like the one above back into perspective.
We try not to take personally comments which we know to be untrue, however unjust, but also take it on the chin when things do go wrong. However, with this review we really do feel we need to have our say.
Severe food poisening from a jacket potato and beans seems a very extreme accusation. We would very much like to see the medical proof of such a diagnosis- they made a miraculous recovery for someone taken so violently ill.
There were over 200 meals prepared that day without incident. Food safety is something we take very seriously and casual allegations of food poisening just aren't welcome. Therefore I would like the following questions answered:
1) With whom has the customer been in contact with over the previous week?
2) Can they be sure they were not incubating a sickness bug?
3) Where had they been prior to eating here?
4) What had they been doing that day?
5) Did they wash their hands before eating?
It was nice of them to ring and discuss it with our manager. We can believe them when they said our manager kept flagging up other possible infection sites and quite right, so have we!
This persons comments are both insulting and LIBELLOUS . As we have already said, all we can do is put our faith in the majority who are wonderful supporters of The Fingle Bridge Inn. You make it all worthwhile, far outweighing the unhappiness brought about by such vicious attacks
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hampshire, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
112 reviews 112 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
93 helpful votes 93 helpful votes
“Good honest food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2012

This place is just what the doctor ordered after a great walk up Hunters Path to Castle Drogo, and back along the river to the Inn. We had a selection of baguettes - beef and horseradish and tuna mayonnaise, thai crab cakes, and a portion of chips to share. All were excellent, fresh and generous. The steak pies and larger meals arriving at other tables looked really good, and were being wolfed down with gusto. Great selection of puds too, including bread and butter, and sticky toffee. It was a bit chilly, but there are lots of outside tables for warmer days. Not expensive, either. My husband says to say that the beer is good!

Visited April 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Great value carvery”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2012

Called in for a Sunday carveryCalled, and I'm glad we did! Great food and great value for money,the guy carving doesn't skimp on the amount of meat that he puts on your plate. Highly recommended after a walk in this stunning location. If your in the area, I suggest you call in.

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bridgwater
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Very welcoming”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2012

We met friends here for lunch over the Christmas period. It was perfect. There was mulled wine a roaring fire and lovely Christmas decorations, all of which were well received by our party. The menu was full of hearty winter warmers none of which could have been faulted. This was our first trip to Fingle Bridge but is likely to be our annual Christmas meeting point with our friends from Cornwall!!

Visited December 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Fingle Bridge Inn also viewed

 

Been to Fingle Bridge Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Fingle Bridge Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.