We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Avoid” 1 of 5 stars
Review of The Georgian Lodge

Save Saved
You added The Georgian Lodge to your Saves list
The Georgian Lodge
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Georgian Lodge
5 Bystock Terrace, Exeter EX4 4HY, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #13 of 22 Specialty lodging in Exeter
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Avoid”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2013

On a normal weekday, you have to ring a bell and wait for the one person acting as consierve for three places come to open the door for you (fro the outside)
Room in the basement, humid, tacky, disagreable.
Breakfast normal, and breakfast staff very nice.
Full hotel price for a low class boarding house, never again.

Room Tip: go somewhere else
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

53 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    9
    19
    14
    7
    4
See reviews for
6
17
13
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Newquay, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2013

We arrived having booked last minute and were not disappointed! The hotel is set in a lovely square very close to the city centre and station. We were greeted by friendly staff and given a free parking permit - happy already! Room was very tidy and we even had a tiny courtyard as we were on the ground floor! We slept very well, very quite and then enjoyed a lovely breakfast served by smiling staff! We recommend and would stay again!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2013 via mobile

We stayed at The Georgian Lodge while visiting Exeter for my sister's graduation. The location was the main reason we chose it as you could walk into town in 5 minutes. It was very clean, the bedrooms were simple but perfect for getting a nights sleep. Nothing particularly special about the place, just modest, convenient and good value for money for a quick stop over.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2013

Spent two night in Exeter and stayed here. Based on other tripadvisor reviews, we expected it to be a bit noisy and it turned out to be the case but we knew in advance so it didn't really bother us. We stayed in a basement room right below the kitchen so there was some noise from the staff and from adjoining rooms. However, the place is clean, comfortable and cheap and the breakfast was good. The serving staff at breakfast were brilliant - really polite and efficient. Would recommend this place for someone on a short stay in Exeter - just bring ear plugs!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2013

Excellent for a weekend away. Cheap, clean and comfortable. Tea/Coffee makings in the room with a MUG perfect pick me up before a good selection for breakfast - cereals, fruit, yoghurt, continental style and of course good ol' fry up! The staff are always happy to top up the tea and toast in plentiful supply too. We had booked 3 rooms and they put us all together which was very thoughtful. Parking is a public car park just opposite which you have to pay for until 4pm and then the hotel give you a permit until 10am the following morning. This is the second time we have stayed here and cannot fault it. There is also a very good Indian restaurant called The Ghandi just a 2mins walk away.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013

We stayed at the sister hotel, Number 12, while visiting daughter at Exeter Uni.
Quick and easy check in with very helpful and polite duty manager. Clean comfortable room with a lovely bed and good hot shower. Great breakfast. The hotel will provide permit for parking outside, which is always difficult in Exeter. It was perfect for our needs and would stay their again.

Room Tip: We stayed in room 16 which had direct access to a pretty garden.
See more room tips
Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Weymouth, England, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2013

Chose this B & B on location and then price. Checked in quite late at 8.30pm and used the free phone in the foyer to check-in. The manager was with us within a couple of minutes and we had a quick, informative, no hassle check-in. We were in room 2 which was in the basement. Dont be put off by this though as it was a lovely room with french doors leading to a tiny yard with bistro chairs. There was also a velux roof window which was easy to use. The controls were at the side of the bed. We had no problems with it at all. The bed was huge and very comfortable. The Shower cubicle and toilet were not together but side by side. Very clean and warm. I had a shower and have to say it was one of the best i've had in a hotel/b and b. The only niggle i have was that the light over the dressing table and the large light in the hall were not working. We could have made a phone call to get this sorted but decided not to as it wasn't a big issue. We had clean towels on the second day and also the tea making facilities and toiletries were replenished. Breakfast was good, the staff very polite and helpful. You get a parking pass from reception and this runs from 4pm until 10am the next morning. As we stayed two nights we put just £6.20 in the meter which we felt wasn't too bad. So to sum up, a nice clean B and B, in an ideal location for Central Exeter. I would definately stay again.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Georgian Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Georgian Lodge

Address: 5 Bystock Terrace, Exeter EX4 4HY, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Exeter
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 22 Specialty lodging in Exeter
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL and Agoda so you can book your The Georgian Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Georgian Lodge Exeter, Devon

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Georgian Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.