We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“First Night in Exeter” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Georgian Lodge

The Georgian Lodge
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added The Georgian Lodge to your Saves list
The Georgian Lodge
5 Bystock Terrace, Exeter EX4 4HY, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #13 of 24 Specialty Lodging in Exeter
Geneva, Switzerland
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“First Night in Exeter”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2012

Overall not a bad first night in Exeter. Charming neighborhood and walkable to downtown and restaurants. Farmer's Union across the street a great spot for a pint.

I agree that the #2 room in the basement was an issue with loud footsteps early in the morning. But I got this otherwise decent sized room for the single price as I was solo. Having said that, 60 GBP was no bargain. The polish woman who manages it was very nice and I would go back again. The breakfast was pretty good the next day before heading off.

Room Tip: Basement room #2 is noisy in the morning but spacious.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

67 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    11
    27
    17
    8
    4
See reviews for
7
22
14
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Montreal, Canada
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2012

I had a lovely spacious room with skylight and a little terrace. Quite charming.
This was room #2 which is downstairs. The only issue with this is that the room is below the kitchen and you are thus awakened by the sound of footsteps above you. Forget about sleeping in if that's what you want.. I'm sure the other rooms are quitter though.
All in all to be recommended though; good value for price.

Room Tip: If you want to sleep in the morning, ask for one of the upstairs rooms. Otherwise, room #2 was perfe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2011

The B&B is in a good located and on the surface appears basic but ok - the room has a small bathroom with a shower and toilet squeezed in, there was single bed, a stool, a narrow wardrobe that held a few clothes and a TV. However, the single bed was was on a slope and the mattresss had springs sticking out (whichever way it was turned) making resting on it very uncomfortable. The carpet looked unclean and the bathroom floor was sticky. The TV was small, mounted at the top of the wall in the far corner and the picture crackled. The free wi-fi appeared to give only a weak and intermittent signal. TVs could be heard quite clearly through the walls from other rooms, noise and thumps were heard from above and doors banged throughout the late evening and early morning. I politely reported the problems to the staff who were friendly but did not give the impression that anything would be done about these problems. The breakfast was adequate -basic range of foods but they seemed to be skimping on the tea bags and the sausages were cheap and didn't taste of meat. If you're looking for a comfortable bed for the night then I'd recommend you find somewhere else to stay.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berkhamsted, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2011

As with other reviews, I found this hotel basic and lacking in staff. Added to that, on logging in to their Wi-fi, I received an email with a link purportedly from me and sent to others in my inbox. i will not be staying there again.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caylus, France
Top Contributor
100 reviews 100 reviews
46 hotel reviews
Reviews in 58 cities Reviews in 58 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2011

OK, so it's a hike up the hill from the station and I had to wait for staff to come and open the door. But my single room (no 6) was spacious, well equipped, and quiet. But I could imagine that given the tall narrow house hotel it could be noisy and creaky with banging doors etc.if the hotel was full. Staff friendly..breakfast good .overall excellent value.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2011

Good value for money and centrally located - 10 mins walk from Cathedral. Free parking. Small, but clean single room (#3) - wardrobe, dressing area and coffee facilities. However, very close to other rooms - so disturbance when other guests return at night; poor TV reception and lumpy pillows. Adequate bathroom, but sticky lino floor with a very unpleasant smell. Good full English breakfast and staff reasonably friendly. I will probably stay elsewhere on one of my frequent trips to Exeter.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Banbury, Oxon
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2011

My room was clean, comfortable and a good size.
Unfortunately there don't appear to be any on-site staff which meant that I had to phone a number and wait in the rain while someone came to let me in. Also because of this I couldn't leave my luggage on the final day because there would be nobody to let me in to collect it, meaning I had to carry it around all day.
The breakfast staff were trying to be all things to all people, answering queries for which they were not equipped and dealing with check-outs while serving. Maybe this is why my toast was burnt on both mornings. And there was no cereal or fruit as specifically mentioned on the booking website. Perhaps this available at less busy times.
A shame as the room was good value and the location is very convenient.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Georgian Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Georgian Lodge

Address: 5 Bystock Terrace, Exeter EX4 4HY, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Exeter
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 24 Specialty Lodging in Exeter
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your The Georgian Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Georgian Lodge Exeter, Devon

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Georgian Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.