We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely attention to detail” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Town House Exeter Bed & Breakfast

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Town House Exeter Bed & Breakfast to your Saves list
Town House Exeter Bed & Breakfast
54 St David's Hill, Exeter EX4 4DT, England   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Announcement
New mattresses!
Ranked #22 of 72 Exeter B&B and Inns
Stockport, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Lovely attention to detail”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2013

Very good value, with lots of little details which make staying there a pleasure. I've been back twice and will try to stay there again if I need to visit Exeter. The breakfast is fantastic, and everything is very high quality - eggs from their own hens, home made jam, and lots of fair trade and organic products around. I even had fresh flowers on my table!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

143 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    68
    52
    14
    7
    2
See reviews for
27
40
27
19
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2013

Lovely place to stay. The room we had was big and the service by the receptionist was great. Breakfast served was good and the breakfast room provided a lovely view of the garden... Enjoyed the stay there very much.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Wales
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2013

Stayed on a Friday night in September while visiting the University. We arrived late and the receptionist was very patient and helpful on the phone when I rang to say I was lost. She also took care to ensure we were not parked anywhere where we would get a fine - a big relief when arriving late after a long drive.

The B&B itself was lovely and warm; beds were high quality, plenty of toiletries and also plenty of tea & coffee supplies. We had Flora Poste, a twin room on the top floor. Views over a graveyard and a garden so lovely and quiet. The house has clearly been converted by the owners and some of the fittings are not the most glamorous, but everything worked, the room was a good size and the price was OK.

Breakfast (traditional cooked, with a table of cereals and fruit on the side) was good and fresh. The two young female staff I met were pleasant, welcoming and efficient. I would return.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2013

This was my second stay and a far better experience than the first. I stayed in Jean Brodie on the top floor. I was a bit apprehensive of bathroom being separate but this wasn't a problem at all as I had sole use and it was a good size and nicely furnished. The room was fairly small but good use made of the space with no unnecessary bits and pieces. An excellent selection of drinks and also decent toiletries. Breakfast was lovely with plenty of choice . The 2 things that I had faulted on my first visit were the impersonality of the staff and the cost of the room. However, the lady who welcomed me on this occasion was very friendly and helpful . I also paid a lot less, even though the room was, in my opinion, nicer than the single room downstairs. I would stay again and I would recommend.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntingdon, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2013

Had the only single room with a bathroom just over the corridor for two nights. Room was plenty big enough and very clean. Although the bathroom was separate there was sink in the room and the bathroom itself was very spacious. Breakfast was bog standard B&B fare but still good. Parking was a bit of a struggle sometimes.

Nice quiet location, excellently located within Exeter. Would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Axminster, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2013

This was fine for a 2 night stay, and a short walk away from the centre of Exeter, so really convenient. Our room was OK - a bit small for a double,( Lorna Doone) and the bathroom was tiny with the smallest wash-hand basin I have ever seen!. We were at the back, overlooking the churchyard, so it was quiet, but the security lights meant that the room was never that dark - need some good black-out blinds/curtains. Breakfast was good and all the staff very friendly. A bit scruffy round the edges. Needs a good re-decorate.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Exeter, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2013

We stated here for one night for a girls reunion.
Our room was lovely spacious and at the front of the house. The bathroom was compact. Fine for me, but for a larger person not much room ! The facilities were good a large selection of teas coffee & hot chocolate with plenty of milk for the duration of our stay. A few biscuits would have been a nice touch.
The hotel is in a great location for the city centre and parking is easy with a permit from the hotel.
The road was noisy in the early hours with people returning from a night out. But we were at the front of the property.
Breakfast was lovely a large selection of fruit, cereal & juice. A lovely freshly cooked breakfast with mountains of toast and a large selection of preserves.
The staff were friendly and helpful.
At a cost of £78 per double room it is reasonably priced.

Room Tip: Ask for a room at the back especially at weekends for a quieter sleep !
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Town House Exeter Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Town House Exeter Bed & Breakfast

Address: 54 St David's Hill, Exeter EX4 4DT, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Exeter
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Spa
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 72 B&Bs / Inns in Exeter
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Town House Exeter Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Town House Exeter Bed And Breakfast
Town House Exeter Hotel Exeter
Town House Exeter Bed & Breakfast Devon

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Town House Exeter Bed & Breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.