We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Well located clean and tidy hotel.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Queens Court

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Queens Court to your Saves list
Queens Court
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   6 - 8 Bystock Terrace, Exeter EX4 4HY, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #18 of 31 Hotels in Exeter
Salisbury, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
119 reviews 119 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
“Well located clean and tidy hotel.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2014

This hotel is well located within a short walk of the main shopping street in Exeter. It has a small Pay & Display car par immediately outside which is free 6pm -8am, but you can pre-pay the night before to guarantee a lie in
Breakfast is served in the adjoining Olive restaurant ans is a mix of cooked and self serve.
We were on the first floor, at the front and had a large comfortable room. we had no problems with noise because we were there on a Monday, and the university had also finished for the summer.
Another Travelzoo bargain.

Room Tip: Reading the previous reviews, beware of the weekends, there is a large pub on the corner with outsid...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

328 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    119
    144
    48
    13
    4
See reviews for
52
186
11
40
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (75)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Callington
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2014

We, with two other couples, just had one night at this hotel under a Travelzoo deal. The word faultless comes to mind in every aspect. A great place to stay in a great location. The taster menu we had was as good as anything we'd had. Very accommodating staff and our room (a large double) was comfortable and clean. Breakfast was very good as well. If you are looking for a place to stay in Exeter city centre, you can no better than to stay here.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel Aviv, Israel
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2014 via mobile

Smack in the middle of Exeter, this unassuming hotel is very conveniently located. The room we got at £80/night (b+b) was large compared to standard British hotels. The staff was very friendly and the in-house restaurant excellent.

Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2014

I stay in lots and lots of hotels all around the UK and Europe and the Queens Court in Exeter is my favourite. The rooms are spacious in comparison to most and very well kept. There is character that you never get with the big chains. The location is central. The food at the Olive Tree is top notch. And the staff are superb. And price...? Very reasonable. I wouldn't contemplate any other hotel in Exeter. I've stayed here several times and have always had a relaxing and comfortable stay. The staff are always friendly and amenable to requests. This hotel is listed as 3* but for its type is 5*. Stay here. Again and again.
Christina Silver.

Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wimborne Minster, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2014

We stayed at this hotel for one night last Friday; we picked this place for its central location and that is its only redeeming quality, hence the one star. The bath had not been properly cleaned after the previous guest (scum marks). There was a cotton wool bud on the floor by the waste bin in the bedroom, obviously left from a previous guest!! yuck. We didn't see this straightaway otherwise we would have complained as it must mean that the rooms are not thoroughly cleaned after each guest.
We had a room at the front of the hotel - 204; there is a pub on the opposite corner and the noise from there continued through the night until about 3am so we had a really disturbed sleep.
The breakfast was the worst 'full english' I have ever been served and although we didn't eat it all, what we did eat lay very heavy in our stomachs for the rest of the day. My digestive system has only just recovered. We ordered toast with our breakfast but had to remind the waitress and when it came it was cold. Bad coffee.
All in all I cannot recommend this hotel to anyone. An expensive night £99. We won't be going back there on our next trip to Exeter.

Room Tip: Ask for a room at the back of the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salisbury, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2014

Found the hotel on travel zoo. Good location, comfortable and clean.
Staff where excellent , even prepared an early breakfast for us.
Would recommend the 6 course taster menus to anyone..
Whole stay great value for money..

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Totnes, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2014

My husband and I booked our stay with a Travelzoo voucher.
I phoned to make the booking with the Queens court and spoke to Laura, she was fantastically helpful and went out of her way to ensure we could come and stay the night we wanted (as it was our first wedding anniversary).
When we arrived, we were greeted by manager Paul. He was very welcoming and although he was busy with other customers, came and booked us in as soon as he was free.
We paid £10 extra to upgrade our room and we were very happy with it. Large, clean and not too noisy! The bathroom was huge too.
We then went down to have a drink before dinner. Again, served by Paul. We were able to sit outside and enjoy a nice drink before we were seated to our table.
Included with the voucher, was a 6 course taster menu. We were served by Brad and Alfie, who were very attentive and friendly. They were quick to clear our empty plates and offered us a break between courses if we had wished. We thoroughly enjoyed our meal, the food was delicious and looked great!
As an extra surprise, they finally brought a plate out with 'Happy Anniversary' written in chocolate with some chocolate dipped strawberries and truffles! What a lovely touch!
We had a wander to one of the nearest pubs after our meal, directed by Paul. He advised us on which bar would be the best and it was very nice.
It was one of the hottest days of the year, so the room was obviously very hot but the windows opened nice and wide so a cool breeze flowed through!
Breakfast was also very nice, the waitress was again, very friendly and helpful.
All in all, we had a fabulous stay and all the lovely staff made our 1st wedding anniversary one to remember!
Thanks all so much ;)

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Queens Court? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Queens Court

Address: 6 - 8 Bystock Terrace, Exeter EX4 4HY, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Exeter
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Exeter
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Queens Court 3*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Trip Advisor Award of excellence for the past 4 years is testament to the care and quality of this family run hotel in the heart of Exeter. The Queens Court Hotel is a beautiful Georgian town house situated on a leafy square in a city, which dates back to the medieval ages. All rooms are well appointed, all with en-suites. Relax in the bar and lounge or sit outside on the terrace. Visit the jewel in the crown of the Queen's Court, The Olive Tree restaurant. Multi-award winning, dine amongst the Venetian masks and enjoy the produce of the West Country. All the food is freshly prepared and cooked for you, drawing influences from Italy and the Mediterranean. The hotel is only a few minutes' walk from the high street, main train stations and very conveniently placed for the University. It is also fortunate to have a public car park on its doorstep that is free overnight and very reasonably priced in the day. Exeter is positioned in the Heart of Devon making it a great location to experience everything the West Country has to offer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your Queens Court reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Queens Court Hotel Exeter
Queens Court Exeter, Devon

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Queens Court, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.