We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Queens Court

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Queens Court to your Saves list
Queens Court
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   6 - 8 Bystock Terrace, Exeter EX4 4HY, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #13 of 30 Hotels in Exeter
cornwall
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“great location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2013

Booked a weekend deal for DBB at this 3* hotel in central Exeter and was very impressed. The staff were friendly, the rooms were clean and the restaurant was amazing serving top of the range food beautifully prepared.
The location was great for shops, cathedral and rail links whilst being quiet. Car park was opposite the hotel and we were given an overnight parking voucher free of charge.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

278 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    109
    117
    38
    10
    4
See reviews for
48
159
9
29
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (60)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Bristol, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2013

We spent two nights at the Queens Court (friday & saturday 1/2/13--2/2/13)

When we arrived we we shown to room 107 which was as good if not better than any we have stayed in .The king size bed was very good and the ensuite exellent.
The staff were all very helpfull/ polite and friendly.
On both evenings we dined in the Olive Tree,the menu was full of choice the food exellent.
We fully intend to revisit in the future.
Thanks to all.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bath, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2013

We have now stayed twice at the Queens Court Hotel. The first time was just before Christmas when we went to Exeter for a Christmas shopping trip. The hotel is within walking distance of the town centre, but is in a very quiet area. There is a car park in front of the hotel where there is always room to park. It is also only about 200 yards from Exeter Central railway station. On this trip we had dinner in the Olive Tree restaurant in the hotel and the food was exceptional and very reasonably priced. We stayed again last Saturday night and attended their Murder Mystery Evening. This was a really fun evening and the food again was very good. This hotel ticks all the boxes! It is convenient to town; very clean; has comfortable beds, and a lovely bright dining room and lounge/bar area. The exceptional food is an added bonus. This hotel has been added to our favourite hotel list!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamburg, Germany
Top Contributor
103 reviews 103 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

After having climbed the 'hill of death' from the train station, we booked into the Queens Court Hotel; unfortunately Google Maps doesn't show the topography. Our Family room (#207) had a double + a single bed, with ensuite, and was a bit cosy for the 3 of us with 3 large suitcases . . . no complaints otherwise. A wonderful restaurant, the Olive Tree, is part of the hotel and we thoroughly enjoyed the gourmet meals. We'd included breakfast in our accommodation package and were treated to 'English Breakfasts'. The hotel is within easy walk of the centre of town, and the staff were very friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tintagel, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

We stayed here for a birthday treat overnight and found all aspects to be amazing. The check in and reception was welcoming and efficient. Our room was huge, with everything you would expect. It was clean and very comfortable. The bed produced an excellent nights sleep.
The evening meal was stunning. The restaurant has won a culinary award, so the fine dining was beautiful. The waiter was efficient and professional and the dining room was created to produce a lovely atmosphere.
The breakfast was just as good.
There was nothing we could fault with the hotel or its staff and would definately stay again and recommend it to anyone.

Room Tip: Room 107 was a lovely large room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Exeter, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

I stayed here recently for two nights on a business/pleasure trip to Exeter. The hotel is very well positioned very close to the centre of Exeter and is ideal for shopping, clubs, pubs, bars and restaurants, yet it is very quietly placed in a square consisting of pretty early Victorian houses. There is parking in the car park opposite and on the road. The room was small but clean, the bed was comfortable although the pillows could have been softer. There are tea/coffee making facilities in the room, a tv (very small screen) and the bathroom was fine although the shower was a hand-held unit. Service was good, and there was no problem with access to the hotel after 11pm. Breakfast was good on day one, less so on day two, so this is obviously down to whoever is cooking that day! Staff were all non-English speaking, so a bit tricky to communicate sometimes, but friendly nevertheless. Highly recommend this hotel for its location especially.

Room Tip: My room overlooked the back of the hotel and was quiet. I don't think there would be a problem w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Truro, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2013

We stayed for one night at the Queens Court on a travel zoo offer. The service from all the staff was excellent & the evening meal was delicious. The room was spacious & confortable.

The Queens court is located very close to the city centre for all you shoppers out there.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Queens Court? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Queens Court

Address: 6 - 8 Bystock Terrace, Exeter EX4 4HY, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Exeter
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Exeter
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Queens Court 3*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Trip Advisor Award of excellence for the past 4 years is testament to the care and quality of this family run hotel in the heart of Exeter. The Queens Court Hotel is a beautiful Georgian town house situated on a leafy square in a city, which dates back to the medieval ages. All rooms are well appointed, all with en-suites. Relax in the bar and lounge or sit outside on the terrace. Visit the jewel in the crown of the Queen's Court, The Olive Tree restaurant. Multi-award winning, dine amongst the Venetian masks and enjoy the produce of the West Country. All the food is freshly prepared and cooked for you, drawing influences from Italy and the Mediterranean. The hotel is only a few minutes' walk from the high street, main train stations and very conveniently placed for the University. It is also fortunate to have a public car park on its doorstep that is free overnight and very reasonably priced in the day. Exeter is positioned in the Heart of Devon making it a great location to experience everything the West Country has to offer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Queens Court reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Queens Court Hotel Exeter
Queens Court Exeter, Devon

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Queens Court, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.