We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Convenient but loveless!” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Great Western Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Great Western Hotel to your Saves list
Great Western Hotel
St. David's Station Approach, Exeter EX4 4NU, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #27 of 30 Hotels in Exeter
Bedford, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Convenient but loveless!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2014

This is a hotel that I have used a few times before ... so I knew what I was letting myself in for!! Lets start with the plus point - it is across the road from St Davids railway station and therefore extremely convenient as a journey start/finish point if travelling around the West Country by rail.
Now to the reality - it is a former British Transport Hotel - and appears to have seen little spent on it since those days. Old décor/fittings in the rooms accessed through a "main" entrance that also doubles as the access to the public bar. Have only sampled the English breakfast (adequate) and not even seen the food menu otherwise. Oh and the breakfast serving time is an hour later on a Monday (puts me off staying on a Sunday night).
To sum up the appearance of this hotel in 2 words - "uncared for".

Room Tip: I don't think there are any?
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

144 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    11
    24
    40
    24
    45
See reviews for
17
30
41
37
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2014

As soon as I arrived I thought, Christ on a bike.
It's an old building in need of desperate repair. It's one of those smelly old pubs you find beside the railway station.
Upon my arrival into reception I was created by a lovely lady. Very pleasent and polite.
As I walked through the hotel to find my room I noticed the musty smell eminating from the pub on the ground floor. The yellow nicotine stains still present on the paint and plastic fittings.

Once I got into my room I found it neat and smell free.
I did my usual inspection to ensure it was clean enough. Looked at the walls, bed, bathroom and toilet.
The bed had eight hairs on the duvet and two pubic hairs on my pillow.
The bathroom and toilet were clean as a whistle.

I chose not to complain, as in my experience, if you find a curly one in one bed then most likely you will find one in another.

I chose to go and drown my sorrows in the bar, £3.95 for a pint, and was greated by a small bar surrounded by locals. Not the overly friendly welcome locals but the defensive "this is our bar" type. I shoved my way to the bar and asked for my drink, the girl behind the bar was polite and pleasent.
I chose my seat in the back corner so I could see any bar stools coming ny way.

I stay in many types of hotels all over the country. This place I found to be old, out dated, smelly and in need of a refurb.
I would not stay here again when I return to the area.

Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2013

This room was booked by my company for a business trip. I also had a colleague staying in another room. We both recommend anyone thinking of booking not to bother. We have reported how bad it was to the company booking department so no one else has to stay here. The room smell of damp. The carpet was ripped. There were tiles missing in the bathroom. The grouting was black. The bathroom was so small they have put the sink in the bedroom. The shower attachment was on the side wall so did not cover you, I had to hold it over my body to was. The door to the bathroom was a sliding door which would not close due the the ripped carpet. There was no headboard for the bed. The sheets were so old they were yellow, not white. The corridors are not well lit. And why anyone presents a chopped up fried egg as a scrambled is beyond me.

Room Tip: Chose another hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marazion
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2013

We stayed 2 nights in this hotel. The room was comfortable and warm but like the rest of the hotel it is sadly lacking in TLC.Tiles missing in the bathroon ,chipped and craked lino,the paintwork leaves a lot to be desired though out the complete hotel

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hermanus, South Africa
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2013

This review is more for single travelers as I have no idea about the double rooms. The single was neat, tidy and clean. The included breakfast in the downstairs restaurant was a great start for the day.
As I arrived early in the day the hotel let me leave the luggage in their care and as I left late in the day they held it again for me.
Generally the staff attitude was one of being pleased to help.
Its close location to buses and trains make it an ideal city stay.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2013

Stayed here for two nights in September 20123. This hotel was perfectly adequate for the price. My single room was clean (if a bit on the small side), the staff were pleasant and friendly and the breakfast was good (although the poached egg I asked for seemed to have been 'poached' in hot oil). As per other reviews, extremely convenient for the station. Also highly convenient for the kebab van opposite which is open until 4am on Fridays and Saturdays.
Exactly what I'd expected for the price, if anything, I was pleasantly surprised after reading the other reviews.

Would definitely stay again if I needed a budget option in the area.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mumbai
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2013

If you planning to tour Devon by train with Exeter as base, then this is a great place to stay- it is just outside the railway station (less than 50 metres); the room that I was in was en-suite; good English breakfast, basic but pleasant service and the pub is right inside the hotel! Good value for money! Exeter Centre is also just 12 minutes walk for dining out!

Room Tip: Ask for an suite room on second floor - they are quieter with no noise from the pub; although one ma...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Great Western Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Great Western Hotel

Address: St. David's Station Approach, Exeter EX4 4NU, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Exeter
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #27 of 30 Hotels in Exeter
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 35
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Agoda, Travelocity and Odigeo so you can book your Great Western Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Great Western Exeter
Great Western Hotel Exeter, Devon

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Great Western Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.