We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Museum reopened” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Royal Albert Memorial Museum

Royal Albert Memorial Museum
Queen Street, Exeter EX4 3RX, England
+44 1392 665858
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 115 things to do in Exeter
Certificate of Excellence 2014
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Exeter's world-class museum has stunning new displays and galleries, fabulous exhibitions and modern amenities. The displays reveal Devon and Exeter's rich history and global connections. Exotic animals, birds and insects delight children and the world cultures galleries display stunning items from all over the world. Opening times: Tuesday to Sunday, 10am to 5pm. Closed Mondays and bank holidays. Free Admission. From time to time galleries may be closed for special events; please check before traveling.
Helsinki, Finland
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Museum reopened”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2013

The museum is fairly small with not a lot to see, but it still is worth visiting. Local history section was interesting though and the building itself beautifully renovated.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

447 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    305
    101
    21
    14
    6
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Devonport, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
427 reviews 427 reviews
120 attraction reviews
Reviews in 109 cities Reviews in 109 cities
234 helpful votes 234 helpful votes
“Could be improved but still impressive.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2013

This was our first visit to the Museum since its refurbishment. The exhibits are excellent. All the cases display the relevant information and I feel the new, improved museum is a great asset to Exeter. So why my "could be improved" comment. Its the layout. Perfect for getting around, great for anyone with mobility problems. Plenty of room for wheelchairs and mobility scooters. Disabled toilets on both floors. Personally I would like to see some arrows suggesting a route to follow. All four of us felt the same, The youngest being 12 years old. The lifts are excellent, very large and speedy. Disabled access and parking, at the rear, cannot be faulted On entering the museum make yourself known ad you will be given a permit to place in your car next to your blue badge. I was informed that next time I could phone ahead and book a parking space. Briliant. The cafe was great, very helpful staff and for our Vegan friends, they could enjoy coffee suitable for them and something to nibble too. So my only criticism was a little confusion. Perhaps a more informative leaflet or maybe a mobile phone app. However, we plan to return and really get to grips with the museum layout so that, next time we take visitors, we will be well informed guides. Looking forward to it. Watch this space.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Exeter, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
116 reviews 116 reviews
61 attraction reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
77 helpful votes 77 helpful votes
“Best place in Exeter”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2013

A place where you can go with your kids that costs no money and see something different every time? Visit RAMM and ask Exeter City Council for more of this please. Kids need museums not shops and restaurants. This is an excellent example of a museum and also has great art shows.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Exeter, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
9 attraction reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“An aesthetic and eclectic Exeter delight”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2013 via mobile

I'm local to Exeter so I often visit the RAMM but having visited recently for the temporary BP Portrait exhibition, I really felt I should upload a review. The city is certainly further enhanced from the re-development of the museum and it is a pleasure to visit now with something to interest young and old. The children are certainly catered for with interactive displays at various points and use of 'Bee Bags' to keep them entertained. I was really engaged by the visiting wildlife photography and portrait exhibitions and it is also worth looking at the visiting lectures lists and evening events. Don't forget to visit the museum cafe - local produce, good service and great surroundings. A must see when in Exeter - I am pleased to be on the door step!

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
9 attraction reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“A new favourite of mine!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2013

During my visit I could tell that a lot of passion was put into the creation of this museum. Architecturally flawless & rich in content, this is with out doubt of of the best free museums in the country!

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Royal Albert Memorial Museum also viewed

 

Been to Royal Albert Memorial Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Royal Albert Memorial Museum, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.