We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Food was reasonably good.... Possibly a bit expensive” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Tiffinwalla Tandoori Restaurant

Tiffinwalla Tandoori Restaurant
49 Fore Street | Heavitree, Exeter, England
Improve this listing
Ranked #113 of 440 Restaurants in Exeter
Cuisines: Indian
Dining options: Delivery
Restaurant details
Dining options: Delivery
London
Top Contributor
204 reviews 204 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 100 cities Reviews in 100 cities
131 helpful votes 131 helpful votes
“Food was reasonably good.... Possibly a bit expensive”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2013 via mobile

Old crew serve you which probably means they keep it in the family. Quality of the meal was good, portions were not that great but fine if you don't want to over eat. You can bring in your own alcohol.

So nothing too negative.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

22 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    11
    9
    1
    0
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
104 reviews 104 reviews
70 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 54 cities Reviews in 54 cities
108 helpful votes 108 helpful votes
“Tried hard, good service, average food”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2013

I was the only person in the restaurant on a Wednesday night before the students were back having come here on recommendation of the hotel front desk staff.

Easy to find and tempted by the lack of alcohol (I don't drink anyway) I thought it looked as though it was worth trying though the frontage is very ordinary. Pleasant enough inside in a utilitarian way. As the only person there, I got fast service but it probably only had room for 30-40 people anyway and must do quite a bit of take-away business as that was what seemed to be on the other side of the dining area.

Orange juice a bit bland but the starter of meat samosa was fine, with plenty of salad. Sauces with the poppadom, again, were a bit on the bland side.

I did note there were some interesting chef's choices but nothing which took my fancy that evening. Main course of chicken dhansak from the usual selection of potential dishes. Very nice, slightly sweeter than usual sauce with good lentils. No pineapple (hoorah!). Chicken itself though had clearly been cooked separately and there was no feeling of any marinade having penetrated the meat. Decent naan.

So this is a cheap place to eat, nothing special but nothing too bad I suppose.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Devon
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Wow! Got to be the best”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013 via mobile

So you thought you been to a good curry house, this one should be proud of the quality of food and service.
Reasonably priced, excellent service, and you can take your own booze. This is not licensed, they don't see alcohol.
Please don't 'try' another one until you've tried this one - "I told you so!!"

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Devon, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
252 reviews 252 reviews
99 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 82 cities Reviews in 82 cities
189 helpful votes 189 helpful votes
“Good curry”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013

Had a take away from the Tiffinwalla recently.
Had a chicken pathia which comes with pelau rice.

The meal was very tasty and the chicken was tender and full of flavour.
The portions were about right.
And of note this curry wasn't as oily as some other places.

I notice that its an alcohol free restaurant.

Will be back soon.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Exeter
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
“Welcome back, the best in Exeter”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2013

We used to go to the Light of India in Heavitree for years and when the owner left, we missed his friendliness and the excellent food.
He's back and it's now called Tiffinwalla so with friends we tried it again last weekend.
Great to see the little man again and enjoy his warm hospitality. The decor has had a lick of paint and the food is better than ever, it really has to be the best quality eastern food anywhere in Exeter. They don't sell alcohol but they are happy for you to take your own, they will provide glasses and don't charge corkage.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tiffinwalla Tandoori Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Tiffinwalla Tandoori Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tiffinwalla Tandoori Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.