We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Would recommend” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Toby Carvery

Toby Carvery
Rydon Lane, Exeter EX2 7HL, England
+44 1392 435353
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #248 of 416 Restaurants in Exeter
Price range: $9 - $17
Cuisines: English, British, Pub, Family Fare
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations
Description: Welcome to the Toby Carvery Exeter. When it comes to roast dinners, we really know our stuff. Every day our chefs lay on a feast of tender, hand-carved meats with all the trimmings – including towering Yorkshire puds, golden roasties with all those lovely little crunchy bits, and plenty of freshly prepared veg, all crowned with proper gravy. So it's no wonder we're Exeter’s favourite carvery restaurant. Drop by and you'll find lots more on offer, including cooked breakfasts and tasty specials.
Weymouth, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Would recommend”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2014 via mobile

I went with my boyfriend for a Sunday carvery. I had a small plate and he had a bigger one. We saw the price on the sign outside which was lower than what was in the menu, as we didn't realise it was a different price on Sundays. Apart from that, the food was great and the service was good. Refillable soft drinks is always a bonus too. Would definitely go again.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

94 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    14
    32
    18
    15
    15
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Exmouth, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Great lunch!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2014 via mobile

My husband and I visited the Carvery at lunchtime the staff were very welcoming. It was very busy as it has been on previous visits even so the service was brilliant! The carvery was awesome four choices of meat and lots of choice in vegetables. Even three different gravies to suit all tastes. We had a mint choc sundae for desert which was enormous very good. Really enjoyable lunch.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Exeter, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Value for MY money.....Yes indeed!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2014

Enjoyed a recent Carvery here, (with er' indoors), busy...but the Carvery was well-cooked and presented...plenty of choice AND a very very decent plateful of Meats...before you even topped it off with your roast spuds and veg too!!! The sweets were lovely-no complaints there!! Also went back recently,(with er' indoors), to have an eat as much as you like Breakfast......really enjoyable...not had a "Hotel" breakfast for many years-we were not dissapointed-everything we had was well-cooked and plentiful, Yes, we did go back for more, not because we were being piggish...the food was nice...but we did not overfill 1st time-in case we did not like it?? Hence we went back for MORE....Bacon, eggs and Sausages...and the lovely potato mix.....would not hesitate to go back to the "Toby".....NOT over-priced....Good Value honest Fayre......some people are snobbish about a "full English".....it's greasy...it's soggy....ONLY if you are just used to Bran Flakes and Orange Juice-that is!! "Full English and seconds"....it is what the British workforce was built on-get with the programme people.......pop along to the "Toby"....................."Fill Your Boots"......see you again soon Toby.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“disappointed”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2014

Visited for sunday lunch,that is £4 more per person, than advertised outside.but staff friendly and food well cooked, and would certainly have the carvery again.
returned for breakfast on final day of our holiday, again advertised outside as £ 3.99 each, bewarned this is without any drinks, so therefore £5.99 each. Food very greasy and very poor selection, to choose from. No cereal or crumpets etc, as you get at beefeater breakfasts.
I had read the poor reviews and ignored, to my cost.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Terrible B&B, Toby need to sort it out”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2014

One night was too many! It would be better to close the rooms to renovate them (or knock the lot down) before letting them out anymore. The corridors were dirty and smelt. The room was not as clean as it should have been, not enough toilet roll in the bathroom (a 3rd of roll??!!). Bed was uncomfortable and lumpy (mattress springs in your back, nice). Single glazed window that was not secure (didn't dare leave any valuables in the room). Tired decor, the list could go on. If I hadn't driven 400 miles earlier that day I would have forfeited the £50 I had paid to stay and continued on my journey home. Tiredness and an accident on the M5 was the only reason I stayed one night. Attempted the breakfast in the morning but left hungry as I could bear the pushing and shoving of hungry fellow guests. Toby should be ashamed of themselves. Terrible advert for their business.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Toby Carvery also viewed

 

Been to Toby Carvery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Toby Carvery, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.