We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We are lucky to have this restaurant in our Village” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Oriental city

Oriental city
1 Station Road | Pinhoe, Exeter, England
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #270 of 440 Restaurants in Exeter
Cuisines: Chinese
Dining options: Delivery
Restaurant details
Dining options: Delivery
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“We are lucky to have this restaurant in our Village”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2013 via mobile

We've dined in the restaurant, and taken away meals many times over the past few years. It's never failed to deliver a good experience.
The welcome is friendly, the decoration is good, and the food is always of good quality.
It's usually very quiet mid week, and very busy at the weekend, which can delay take aways. I use this as an excuse to have a cheeky Chinese beer in the lounge!

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

24 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    5
    5
    5
    6
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Exeter, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Definately worth a visit”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2013

We use the takeaway here quite regularly, but decided a visit was needed last night. We were warmly greeted and shown to a side table with left and right screens making it reasonably private, and much better than in an open restaurant. It's an airy space, so the screens help make it more intimate.
Prawn crackers were brought to our table with our drinks and our order was quickly taken. Starters arrived shortly afterwards - and very good too. The dishes were removed and out table prepared for the main course, however this did seem to take quite a while to arrive. This may have been due to 2 large groups being served around the same time, but didn't have real cause for complaint and didn't ask.
When our food arrived it was worth the wait and ample - even for my healthy appetite.
We chose from the menu items we didn't have for takeaways, so sizzling dishes figured for both of us - duck and fillet steak - which were put onto the piping hot dishes at our table - a nice touch.
If you like Chinese food, I'd highly recommend this restaurant.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newton Abbot, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Good variety”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2013

Not the best I have ever had, nor the worst. For the price and variety think good. Service good. Plenty of room. Kids enjoyed it. Especially dessert.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Exeter, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Ordinary standard British Chinese”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2013

I went to this restaurant with some expectation that I was going to find good chinese eating, due to the other reviews I read today on Tripadvisor. I had a very ordinary meal, reheated rather than cooked. I have lived in hotels in Exeter for the last 15 months whilst I have been working here during the week. There are quite a number of restaurants in Exeter that serve decent meals.

My meal tonight was not one of them. Mind you, this luchtime I had a cheaper meal . . . that's a different review.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“appoling service.”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2012

I have used this Chinese four times with there delivery service. Everytime the delivery is offered at around a one hour wait. it has always been a one hour wait, Ok if that's what you agree and expect. Today we were told one hour, so we went off to the shop to buy some desert treats, only to get a call 15 mins early stating our food and driver were at ours waiting. We briskly walked back at a sprint to find an old chap waiting at the end of the street in his small car. He swiftly got out handed the bag of food over not even knowing who he was giving the food too. I said thanks this is the first time your people have ever been early, he replied I've just wasted 15 mins of my time, my reply was well don't worry I won't use you again, his response, don't worry I won't be delivering here again. Don't use these people for a delivery. There is really no idea of when they might arrive. Normally ridiculously late then ridiculously early. There delivery guy also told me I ordered it so I should be in waiting. Try The Four Seasons so much nicer people

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Oriental city also viewed

 

Been to Oriental city? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Oriental city, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.