We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Reluctant to share my love for Fursdon” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Fursdon House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Exeter
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Fursdon House
Save
You added Fursdon House to your Saves list
4.0 of 5 Ranch   |   Fursdon House, Fursdon | Cadbury, Exeter EX5 5JS, England   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 24 Specialty Lodging in Exeter
Bedford, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Reluctant to share my love for Fursdon”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2011

I am reluctant to share my enthusiasm for Fursdon because I've been to stay there many times with family and friends, feel almost possessive about it, and don't want it to get overbooked and less accessible to me! However also I am delighted to rave about somewhere so special where the owners have demonstrated such unusual care and attention to detail. This is a place where it is possible to completely relax with all the comforts of home and beauty indoors and out, wherever you look. It has become our regular bolt hole where we are assured of complete tranquility and a depth of silence which is rare. The surrounding countryside is stunning and accessible on foot. The apartments are always immaculate, decorated with such taste and style, extremely well equipped and comfortable. We adore the open fires in both apartments, with central heating also to keep you snug - and I am a cold person! We relish driving into Tiverton and stocking up on food from M & S, then coming home to sip a glass of wine in the garden whilst gazing at the views, or snuggling up by the fire to watch a dvd. It is BLISS.

Room Tip: The Park Wing has the extensive views, an especially comfortable sitting room, but its bathrooms are...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

21 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    18
    2
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
12
5
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
London UK
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2011

We booked the garden wing at Fursdon House as a last minute break for my wife and our 2 year old toddler. We arrived quite late after a long journey and so were greeted by the Fursdon family themselves, who were such a lovely couple and they let us park our car right outside their house to unload it.

The garden wing is a nice sized apartment on the first floor of Fursdon House. There was a great sized breakfast kitchen with plently of cooking equipment that we used throughout our stay, and a childs bedroom with a cot they provided. The bathroom also had a good quality shower and bath.

The main living room had two 2 seater sofa's which were quite dated and not that comfortable, which was a shame, as the bedroom was super large and the bed was very comfy indeed.

The garden wing has it's own private garden to the rear which is a nice touch, although I would warn those with small children to be careful as there is quite a steep drop so you have to be on guard. For children their was three horses to see, chickens, plenty of open space to run around, and a small slide and swings.

All in all the place was very nice, the biggest downside being so far out in the country was the daily use of the very tight country lanes up to Fursdon Hall, and we almost had a head on collision with someone who was driving far too fast. Exeter was just 25 minutes away and Torquay took just about an hour, so you can get around while staying at Fusrdon House.

For us to have given this a higher score it would have to have more comfortable sofas, better storage space in terms of clothes hanging space, and safer garden access for children. I couldn't fault the owners of the house and they even let us use their WiFi for no charge (it was very slow but it did help).

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2011

We had a wonderful weekend in the Garden Flat, it is so peaceful and scenery outstanding.
The flat is in pristine condition and little extras such as a complimentary bottle of wine & some delicious chocolate flapjacks were very welcome.

We enjoyed the log fire and appreciated the central heating being on early morning as it was a chilly weekend especially as you are in the middle of the countryside.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warwickshire
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2011

My husband and I with one daughter aged 8 have stayed here twice in 2010 having rented the garden wing .Two beautiful rental apartments incorporated in to the main house. The rooms are well presented and finished off with Laura Ashley curtains and lamps, - a nice touch! Period features, wood panelling, original floors, window seats, creaky old doors and open fire places (logs free) add to the charm and splendor of this place. Friendly staff on hand if needed. Complementary tour of the main house included. Beautiful large bathroom and kitchen. We booked for school summer holiday and loved it so much went back in Oct half term! We look forward to booking again in the near future!

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St Albans
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2006

Great Place. It is what it say's it is!!

  • Liked — Clean and high quality decor
  • Disliked — nothing to dislike
  • Stayed August 2006, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Fursdon House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fursdon House

Address: Fursdon House, Fursdon | Cadbury, Exeter EX5 5JS, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Exeter
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 24 Specialty Lodging in Exeter
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Fursdon House 4*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Two stylish apartments in an historic manor house (rated 4 star with Gold Award by Visit England) and a former gardener's cottage rated 5 star.Fursdon, in the heart of Devon, has been the historic home of the Fursdon family for more than 750 years. We invite you to stay in our very special self-catering accommodation set in a 750 acre traditional country estate in some of the most glorious countryside in Devon. The Park Wing sleeps six and has elegant and spacious rooms overlooking the parkland and beyond as far as Dartmoor. The cosy Garden Wing is perfect for 2 or 3 with one very large bedroom and a small one. It opens out into the lovely walled garden from the panelled sitting room.A short walk from the manor house, Fursdon Cottage is a detached stone cottage with its own garden and views of the Exe valley. It has recently been completely renovated to a 5-star standard and provides stylish and characterful accommodation. It sleeps up to six and you can bring the dog too.Logs from the estate are provided for open fires and the shelves are stacked with good books. Comfy sofas and window seats with fabulous views complete the picture of relaxation. You are welcome to wander in the beautiful gardens and walk across the estate to admire its ancient woodland and scenic views. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Fursdon House Exeter, Devon

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Fursdon House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.