We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Trails, trails, trails” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Haldon Forest Park

Haldon Forest Park
Follow signs from the A38 and A380, Exeter, England
+44 1392 834251
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #14 of 43 attractions in Exeter
Type: Parks
More attraction details
Attraction Details
Owner description: Whether you want a quiet gentle stroll or an exhilarating mountain biking experience, there’s something for you at Haldon Forest Park. 3,500 acres of woodland just fifteen minutes from Exeter.We have a network of walking and cycling trails that suit people of all abilities. There is also a cycle skills area and pump loop for people to practice and develop their off road cycling skills. The Ridge Cafe is open every day on site serving a range of delicious food and drinks. Forest Cycle Hire is also based at Haldon for those who want to hire a bike when they arrive and Haldon is also home to Go Ape, the high wire adventure course. There is a permanent orienteering course and a range of other activities happening on site including archery sessions, nordic walking and Segway tours. Our friendly ranger team are on site every day to assist visitors and can be contacted on.The site is free to explore but parking charges do apply. The income from car parking goes back in to the site to maintain all the facilities, including the cycling and walking trials.This year the Forestry Commission is celebrating the 15th anniversary of the Gruffalo - more information about the celebrations can be found on the website.
Exeter, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
“Trails, trails, trails”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2013

Head up here on a regular basis for either the blue trail which is perfect for a decent cardio blast or the red if you prefer your downhill. The black trial is for those that thrill seek! All in all this is a well made track which I always enjoy.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

116 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    61
    42
    10
    1
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Newton Abbot, England, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Great burst of fresh air.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2013 via mobile

I loved walking around some of the trails, even tho I got lost at one point. But it was fantastic nun the less.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Exmouth, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Simply Great”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2013

Get you kids out into the fresh air and get some exercise and have some fun.

This is what family fun is all about.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Exmouth, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
17 attraction reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“EXCELLENT!!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

Quite simply beautiful!! there are a choice of walks/cycle rides to fallow depending on either your fitness and amount of time you have. The views are amazing!! There are some little gems dotted around the walks where the rangers have carved out of some of the trees, little dens and so forth. my kids are 11 and 9, and keep asking to go back!!

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“A magnificent natural resource”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2013

I love this place. I can go mountain biking on my own to let off some steam, or ride the trails with my eldest. Or I can just go for a walk with my youngest and the rest of the family in a beautiful forest setting. You can buy a yearly parking ticket from the ranger's office for around £25 and support the up keep of the trails at a very reasonable rate. There are trails for all age groups - and seeing them change over the seasons is a real pleasure. The views of the River Exe are staggering, and the low sunlight filtering through the trees as you cycle along is heavenly. Forget Centre Parks - this is the real deal.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Haldon Forest Park also viewed

 

Been to Haldon Forest Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Haldon Forest Park, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Haldon Forest Park to your Saves list