We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Massively overpriced.” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Globe Backpackers

Save Saved
You added Globe Backpackers to your Saves list
Globe Backpackers
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Globe Backpackers
71 Holloway St,, Exeter, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #16 of 22 Specialty lodging in Exeter
1 review
“Massively overpriced.”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2012 via mobile

This is due to no competition which is sad for visitors, and a gold mine for the owners.
Exeter desperately needs an alternative backpackers.

Main gripes include;
Small, sweaty, smelly kitchen,
Squeaky bunk beds,
No in-room lockers,
Rude staff who have almost zero understanding of Customer Service.

The 1 good thing is new showers.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

42 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    13
    9
    6
    5
    9
See reviews for
3
5
15
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Utrecht, The Netherlands
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
60 hotel reviews
Reviews in 60 cities Reviews in 60 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2012

We had a pleasant stay in the Globe backpackers. The room was nice and big and even had matching colours and a plant. Our room had coffee making facilities which was great.

The guy behind the desk was not so friendly. You can check in after 3,.30 pm. It does say this on the website but unfortunately we did not read this.
Questions about the city of Exeter could not be answered, he was not interested in "old things and history" and could therefore not give us any information.
Shame!

Apart from the unfriendly guy at the desk our stay was good. Parking was expensive. We parked opposite and contrary to what we were told, parking fees have to be paid seven days a week.

The location is great. Near the centre. Our room at the front was a bit noisy. Not unexpected for a centre location.

We enjoyed the showers, they are nice and roomy with plenty of water. They could, however, use a good clean.

Room Tip: Rooms at the back may have less street noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sussex
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2012

My husband, myself, three young grand sons, son and his fiancee stayed here for one night after celebrating a family 50th Wedding Anniversary, 1st Birthday, and Jubilee celebration. Our stay was very pleasant. The young man at the reception was welcoming and helpful. The rooms were clean and the beds were very comfortable with tea and coffee making facilities in the rooms. The showers were modern with plenty of hot water. The whole environment was very good and we enjoyed our stay. The other plus was that it was virtually in the heart of Exeter so one could walk to everything. A very good place to stay, thank you.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rockside1, Owner at Globe Backpackers, responded to this review, July 18, 2012
Thank you so much for your review. We are very pleased you enjoyed your stay with us and hope to see you back in Exeter again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2012

We stayed at the Globe Backpackers for our final night on a boys golf trip. We were a group of 12 and went into Exeter town centre that evening to celebrate a friend’s birthday.

Upon arriving we were greeted by the young manager, who demonstrated a deep set attitude problem from the word go. He acted like an irritable child, muttering under his breath as we asked basic questions about our room and deposit. This little episode however, was but a sneak preview of the grandiose performance we would be treated to later…

We returned to the hostel at around 2am, mildly drunk and began getting ready for bed. There was the usual chatter and some unavoidable noise as people got in and out of the rickety bunk beds. The building is old and has real floorboards… the walls are paper thin… sound travels but we weren’t being very loud.

Upon entering our room unannounced, the first half of so called ‘manager’s performance was true to his earlier behaviour. The content was very much a 15 rating, consisting of threats to keep some of our deposit (£20 pp) and to throw us out onto the street, all delivered in an aggressive and confrontational manner. Slightly taken aback by his behaviour, we took the approach of apologising graciously and settled into bed.

Ten minutes later when some members were asleep and others talking quietly, he re-entered the room and started shouting at us. He used highly offensive language, the ‘f-word’ featured several times and acted aggressively towards us as we lay in bed totally bewildered. He threatened to call the police and have us all thrown out of the hostel and said we had lost £40 of our deposit for noise. For a man of a small stature he certainly has a loud voice. If we weren’t such sizeable lads (averaging 88kg), the manager’s conduct would have been extremely intimidating and threatening, however we found the whole thing laughable. So amusing in fact, that we laughed solidly for ten minutes. Some party members actually cried.

Sadly the spiteful little manager wasn’t around to say goodbye to us in the morning but he had made sure to tell the owner to hold back £40 of our deposit. There are several angry signs dotted about the hostel listing house rules and the repercussions of breaking them. These include a sign saying that ‘guests’ who don’t do their washing up will lose £5 of their deposit, which would be donated to a local cancer charity. All in all quite fair. When we asked the owner what would be the fate of our £40, we were told that it was not going to the charity and would be retained by the hostel staff to compensate for lack of sleep and effectively working overtime by dealing with our so called noise. He also said it was to cover the cost of having to offer other guests in the hostel a lower rate because of our noise and their disturbed stay. We asked whether there had been any complaints from other guests that night… the answer ‘someone mentioned something’ was very vague and shady.

We also asked whether he thought it was acceptable for his manager to use abusive foul language and act aggressively towards ‘guests’. He said that we were the ones being rude by being noisy and in effect deserved it. We didn’t receive an apology and left £40 short.

Globe Backpackers is a joke. The quality of service was laughable and the hostel should be avoided at all costs. Unless of course, you enjoy being shouted at by a poorly washed, scrawny man losing his rag over casual late night pleasantries, which at a £40 premium for 12 people, we think offers fantastic value for money.

We wish the manager all the best with his inner anxiety and resultant anger issues.

Ps. THERE WERE BEDBUGS EVERYWHERE AND WE ALL HAD BITES THE NEXT DAY

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rockside1, Owner at Globe Backpackers, responded to this review, July 18, 2012
It is our policy not to accept stag or hen nights at our hostels because after 13 years of experience we have found the behaviour of the majority of such groups of people to be unacceptable and often intolerable for our other guests, our neighbours and our city as a whole. We do not wish to be known for bringing this kind of business and trouble to our city – it’s not just about filling beds for us. This person was part of a group of 12 professing to be on a golfing weekend – we would refute this and have strong evidence to suggest otherwise. It is our strong belief they were economical with the truth when booking with us. It is extremely rare that we use the threat of involving police, but this group must be congratulated on fulfilling all the criteria of anti-social behaviour experienced in society today. In our opinion, our staff dealt these problematic people brilliantly. On check-out threats were made to post scathing reviews to try and affect our business, which have been duly uploaded. However, we have faith that people reading their rather damning and venomous reviews are intelligent enough to realise that there is something rather biased and questionable about them. We would prefer to draw the attention of potential guests to recent photos taken of both private and dormitory accommodation and our wonderful shower rooms all set in a solid brick building built over 260 years ago still with it original front door and centrally located in our wonderful 2000 year old city!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2012

Staff were rude, petulant and even potentially violent. Refused to return all of our deposit because we were 'loud' and even threatened to call the police, despite not being violent in the slightest. Moreover, the beds are teeming with bedbugs. I would highly recommend not staying at this hostel.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rockside1, Owner at Globe Backpackers, responded to this review, July 18, 2012
It is our policy not to accept stag or hen nights at our hostels because after 13 years of experience we have found the behaviour of the majority of such groups of people to be unacceptable and often intolerable for our other guests, our neighbours and our city as a whole. We do not wish to be known for bringing this kind of business and trouble to our city – it’s not just about filling beds for us. This person was part of a group of 12 professing to be on a golfing weekend – we would refute this and have strong evidence to suggest otherwise. It is our strong belief they were economical with the truth when booking with us. It is extremely rare that we use the threat of involving police, but this group must be congratulated on fulfilling all the criteria of anti-social behaviour experienced in society today. In our opinion, our staff dealt these problematic people brilliantly. On check-out threats were made to post scathing reviews to try and affect our business, which have been duly uploaded. However, we have faith that people reading their rather damning and venomous reviews are intelligent enough to realise that there is something rather biased and questionable about them. We would prefer to draw the attention of potential guests to recent photos taken of both private and dormitory accommodation and our wonderful shower rooms all set in a solid brick building built over 260 years ago still with it original front door and centrally located in our wonderful 2000 year old city!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2012

This hostel is tired and dirty, with an odd musty smell which reminded me of student digs many years ago whose occupants had never bothered with anything more than a perfunctory spray of air freshener by way of cleaning. Rickety bunk beds provoke intense uneasiness as you try to sleep with rough, gritty sheets, worrying that a slight breeze from an open window may pull the loose hinges apart. There is an oppressive amount of peculiar notices seemingly on all available wall space, which leads one to suspect that a person on the autistic-scale has been given access to a word processor and a slab of blu-tack. All this could be forgiven however if there was even a hint of affability from the staff, sadly they are cantankerous misfits whose surly manner and extreme helpfulness is evident as soon as you peer through the reception window. This is a truly terrible place to stay.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rockside1, Owner at Globe Backpackers, responded to this review, July 18, 2012
It is our policy not to accept stag or hen nights at our hostels because after 13 years of experience we have found the behaviour of the majority of such groups of people to be unacceptable and often intolerable for our other guests, our neighbours and our city as a whole. We do not wish to be known for bringing this kind of business and trouble to our city – it’s not just about filling beds for us. This person was part of a group of 12 professing to be on a golfing weekend – we would refute this and have strong evidence to suggest otherwise. It is our strong belief they were economical with the truth when booking with us. It is extremely rare that we use the threat of involving police, but this group must be congratulated on fulfilling all the criteria of anti-social behaviour experienced in society today. In our opinion, our staff dealt these problematic people brilliantly. On check-out threats were made to post scathing reviews to try and affect our business, which have been duly uploaded. However, we have faith that people reading their rather damning and venomous reviews are intelligent enough to realise that there is something rather biased and questionable about them. We would prefer to draw the attention of potential guests to recent photos taken of both private and dormitory accommodation and our wonderful shower rooms all set in a solid brick building built over 260 years ago still with it original front door and centrally located in our wonderful 2000 year old city!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Exeter, England, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2012

This is one of the best backpackers hostels I've stayed at. The location is perfect for either spending time in Exeter city centre, hanging around at the riverside or venturing further into Devon.
The hostel is spacious & well presented and has the best shower & toilet facilities you could find in a backpackers. I enjoyed being able to just chill-out with the free wifi., there's a comfortable tv room with dvd & videos available to borrow., the kitchen is well set-up and had everything I needed to cook with. I was staying in one of the dorm rooms which I found quite spacious, but I managed to catch a sneek peek at one of their private bedrooms and would be happy to pay the extra (I don't think there's anywhere else in Exeter where prices are so low).
Overall I had a great time here, met some excellent people and would definately stay again. Can't recommend it enough.
Staff were on duty and seemed happy to help when needed.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Globe Backpackers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Globe Backpackers

Address: 71 Holloway St,, Exeter, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Exeter
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 22 Specialty lodging in Exeter
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Exeter Globe Backpackers is housed in an 18th century townhouse and is excellently located just a few minutes walk from Exeter’s city centre, our nine hundred year old Gothic cathedral and the picturesque historic waterway and quay. That's not to mention the wide range of pubs and clubs all throughout Exeter. Globe Backpackers is ideal for travellers and backpackers looking for a clean, comfortable, and friendly place to stay while enjoying our beautiful surroundings.Our 2000 year old city is centrally located in the region of Devon and Cornwall making it the perfect place to base yourself to go on plenty of day trips to the coast, Dartmoor National Park, the Eden project and much more. Easily accessible from London, Bristol, Bath and Cardiff, Exeter really puts you in the middle of things.For those looking to offset some travel costs Exeter is a perfect place to make a few pounds while still getting to see loads of attractions. Exeter is one of the few cities in Britain which boasts an unemployment level of nearly zero percent.Exeter really is a must-see for any true backpacker! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld and HostelBookers so you can book your Globe Backpackers reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Globe Backpackers Exeter, Devon

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Globe Backpackers, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.