We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delicious - time and time again” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Dee Yi

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Dee Yi
21A Heavitree Road, Exeter, England
+44 1392 426600 ‎
Improve this listing
Ranked #111 of 404 restaurants in Exeter
Cuisines: Chinese
Dining options: Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Drewsteignton, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Delicious - time and time again”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2012

I have been coming to dee yi for many years and it keeps improving every time. the service is brilliant despite occasional language barriers; a good choice of wines and menu, and the food is always delicious and cooked fresh. always faultless - including for take-away. Particular highlights include ribs with spiced salt and chilli, and king prawn with green pepper and black bean sauce. Amazing value too.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

27 reviews from our community

81% Recommend
    16
    6
    2
    0
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Exeter, England, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Probably the best Chinese in town”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2012

A disclosure first: this is our regular spot for Friday evening (for the last 3 years). Yes, the place is not very full and it doesn't look much from the outside, but the food is superb, the place clean and tidy and, as this is our normal family outing, we are not looking for a buzzing place with loads of entertainment. The confirmation of the quality associated with Dee YI came when I brought 8 visitors from Hong Kong for dinner. I was a bit worried what they'd say about the food as they are spoilt for choices in HK, but they were really happy with everything. Worth visiting.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Exeter, United Kingdom
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Still the best chinese food in Exeter”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2012

...and I've been a customer for the last 10 years at least. Their spring rolls are the best, and the mixed hors d'oeuvres never fail to make us smile, with their vgetable carving at the centre...will t be a bird...or a flower this time?? Even my chinese friends agree that it's excellent,and adore the hot and sour soup. Lovely people too, who could ask for more?

  • Visited March 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Exeter, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“The best chinese resaurant in Exeter”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2012

Yes it is - and I keep going back. Great lunchtime deals. Friendly too. What more is there to say?

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Exeter, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
193 reviews 193 reviews
126 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 59 cities Reviews in 59 cities
103 helpful votes 103 helpful votes
“Nice food, but very quiet”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2011

We popped in here one evening as its fairly local and lots of the City's chinese restuarants are now eat as much as you can buffets. We had mixed starters, which included some lovely ribs, followed by kung po chicken and beef and mushrooms. The food was very pleasant but we were the only diners, which was a bit of a shame. I think the restaurant is mainly a takeaway. Next time we'll probably takeaway too.

  • Visited October 2011
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Dee Yi also viewed

 

Been to Dee Yi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Dee Yi, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.