We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best in the Wet - or anywhere else” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Cafe at 36

Cafe at 36
36 Cowick Street, Exeter EX4 1AW, England
01392 410352
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #116 of 440 Restaurants in Exeter
Price range: $5 - $11
Cuisines: Coffee Shop, British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast
Description: Small independent coffee shop that prides itself on the quality of its coffee, roasted by Origin based in Cornwall; we also offer a range of tea which is hand blended in Devon. Our smoothies are refreshing and we offer Luscombes and Frobishers soft drinks. We made our own cakes and traybakes, and our award winning summer fruit flapjack. We use local food producers wherever possible, so for example our bread is from Shaldon Bakery, our milk is organic from Ashclyst Farm Dairy and our sausages, bacon and ham from Courtneys Butchers in Cowick Street. We offer a friendly welcome, free wifi and local art to enjoy! On the last Wednesday of the month Love Local Food run a story telling and creativity session for Under 8's and their families. We have live Music during the cooler months on the first Sunday of the month.
Exeter, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Best in the Wet - or anywhere else”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

Most visitors to Exeter never cross the river into St Thomas, a local shopping area. However, if they want the best Mocha this is the place to go for it.

I've drunk Mochas the length and breadth of the UK bit no-one comes even close to making a proper one which has enough chocolate in it - but you can still taste the coffee. Once you've had one you'll realise that the big chains haven't got a clue! I don't live or work in the St Thomas area but I will quite happily go down to Cafe at 36 just to get a decent mocha.

The coffee is also good and the homemade cakes delicious. There is a good organic menu as well, and a free car park just over the road!

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sue t, Owner at Cafe at 36, responded to this review, November 21, 2012
Thank you very much for taking the time to post a review. Customer feedback is so important to us; we are thrilled you enjoyed your Mocha. It would be great if more people came down to St Thomas to try out the lovely independent shops we have down here, I think they would be pleasantly surprised! Thanks again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

46 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    30
    10
    5
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
DEVON
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Best Mocha”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2012 via mobile

Simply the best mocha in Exeter.
Plus flapjacks are really nice. They have a few paintings on the wall for sale and the also have live music.

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sue t, Owner at Cafe at 36, responded to this review, November 21, 2012
Thank you for your review on our Cafe. The Mocha is a very popular drink for us. All of our flapjacks are made on the premises; it was good to see that you enjoyed your flapjack too! Thanks again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Exeter, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
“Relaxed and friendly, a place to chill out”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2012

Cafe at 36 has an uniquely relaxing atmosphere where you are made to feel welcome. A good place to get out of the hurly-burly of city-lfe and have a coffee and a cake in peace. The walls are adorned with artworks by local artists including the owner. Free wiFi

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sue t, Owner at Cafe at 36, responded to this review, August 28, 2012
Thank you very much for taking the time to post your review about our Cafe. It's always good to see positive feedback and pleased to see you enjoyed the artwork!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Exeter, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Lovely atmosphere in the cafe, friendly staff and relaxing music”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2012

Freezing cold wind so thought we would pop in to warm up. The Cafe is decorated in lovely warm colours with artwork and photographs by local photographers on the walls. It feels very much part of the community. The Coffee was very good and there were some amazing savoury muffins, very tasty made with blue cheese and grated parsnip apparently. Love it!

  • Visited February 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Exeter
Top Contributor
104 reviews 104 reviews
67 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
181 helpful votes 181 helpful votes
“Best coffee in Exeter”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2011

St. Thomas is not the sort of area of Exeter where you'd expect to find a great coffee house, but Cafe at 36 has now been there for over 5 tears, serving up excellent coffee, cakes and snacks. They also have some interesting pictures on the walls (most of them seem to be for sale).
Cowick Street is just over the river from the popular Quay area, and Cafe at 36 is well worth seeking out for some quality coffee.

  • Visited September 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sue t, Owner at Cafe at 36, responded to this review, October 23, 2011
Hi; thank you very much for your feedback on our Cafe. We were delighted that you enjoyed our coffee and hope you will be back soon for more!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cafe at 36 also viewed

 

Been to Cafe at 36? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cafe at 36, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.