We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Drinks only” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Ship Inn

Ship Inn
Martin Lane, Exeter EX1 1EY, England
44 1392 272040 ‎
Improve this listing
Ranked #194 of 416 Restaurants in Exeter
Price range: $16 - $23
Cuisines: English
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Description: 16th century inn where Sir Francis Drake used to frequent.
Biggleswade, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
107 reviews 107 reviews
74 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
89 helpful votes 89 helpful votes
“Drinks only”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2014

We just popped in for refreshments after the cathedral so can't comment on food. There was a queue to be served as they do not have separate bar staff doing teas/coffees or taking food bookings. The whole of the ladies toilet carpet was soaking wet, literally flooded. Other half said his beer was good!

  • Visited December 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

82 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    11
    36
    19
    10
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Richmond, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“A nice surprise”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2013

My daughter told me that she had heard good things about The Ship and so whilst Christmas shopping we decided to stop for lunch. The pub itself is classic olde England inside and just feels historic and welcoming. The staff were pleasant to us throughout our time there as well as everyone else we witnessed coming in. I was surprised at how large the menu was as I had expected a few items, however this catered for meals from breakfast to dinner and everything in between. Between us we ordered a steak baguette, BBQ chicken baguette and trio of burgers and each one of us left fully satisfied and promising to return. The place was busy and I have no doubt this would be normal due to the standard of food and service however we did not have to wait long for our meals and at no time were left waiting or feeling rushed. All in all a very good English pub, wish great staff and a large and tasty menu.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hitchin, England, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Poor”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2013

Popped in early evening and found the tall barman telling his female colleague and off duty female colleague how he was "very good at my job", but then proceeded to give me a short pint and not thank me at the end of the transaction.
The pub smelt bad too. I moved on for somewhere mpre appealing and welcoming to ear on my Wednesday evening. ....

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berkshire
Top Contributor
141 reviews 141 reviews
86 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 57 cities Reviews in 57 cities
76 helpful votes 76 helpful votes
“Great pint”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2013

Cannot comment on the food because we only had drinks but it was a great find. Considering it is a Greene king chain pub it was a proper little old boozer. The staff were really friendly and helped us up the little stairs with our drinks and shopping. Served a great pint of peroni.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockport, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“Typical pub fare”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2013

Stopped here for a quick lunch on a visit to Exeter, traditional olde world pub which my partner likes, i would have prefered one of the many bistros around near the cathedral myself but as i usually get my own way on most occasions i relented. The food was simple and very palatable, plentiful, similar to a Wetherspoons, the wine was acceptable too which suited me. the staff were very pleasant and the bill for both including 2 drinks each was only £22 so not bad at all.
Oh and it was a favourite "haunt" of Sir francis Drake :)

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ship Inn also viewed

 

Been to Ship Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ship Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.