We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“dont buy the boxed breakfast” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Travelodge Exeter M5

Save Saved
You added Travelodge Exeter M5 to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Travelodge Exeter M5
Moto Service Area, M5 Motorway | Sandygate, Exeter EX2 7HF, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 29 hotels in Exeter
Plymouth, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“dont buy the boxed breakfast”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

stayed here two nights this week, and bought the "breakfast" through logitravel uk.
£5 for a tiny muffin, long life juice and a cereal bar and what could only be described as the tiniest bowl of cereal in the history of mankind. Absolute ripoff. Site booking was misleading i was led to believe it was a full english. Saying that rooms are clean , staff courteous, but keep the windows closed, constant drone of traffic and aircraft from Exeter airport makes nights very noisy.
wont stay there again because of that.

Room Tip: stay away from any room starting 13
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

72 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    33
    28
    8
    3
    0
See reviews for
22
24
3
9
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Genoa, Italy
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Me and my boyfriend were in Travelodge last week. I couldn't ask more than this room.
Really the cleanest I have ever been. Very big. Very comfortable bed.
We found a very special offer for this room. It was the cheapest of my trip and the best one (47 € for two persons with breakfast!). Also the bathroom was very big.
The packed breakfast was ok.
Is just at the exit of the motorway so, if you have a car, it's perfect.
The only exception, internet is free only for 30 min, but for us it was enough.
I'm really enthusiastic of this location.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Good value for money stay. Basic but clean and comfortable with friendly staff.
Convenient location just off the M5 at Exeter but no traffic noise heard inside the Travel lodge. Small pub/restaurant next door which serves excellent full English breakfast for £4 which was freshly cooked to order.
Definately stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Travelodge

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I stayed here on a visit to see family and found the hotel very easily, the room was clean and very nice. The young northern lad on reception was extremely helpful and polite during the my stay and I enjoyed my experience very much .

Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

When we came the first thing to see was a load of staff smoking next to bins which was a huge let down.... the staff on check in were ok and offered a cardboard box breakfast which was a bit embarrassing. The hotel apparently had a refurb since last time I came but its already looking rough.... a bit of a bodge job. My room carpet was old and worn but the corridor carpet looked new.... whats the point in half a job? I noticed the bed was a bit messy and unmade and sides dusty so I was wondering what else was wrong with the room???? I looked under the bed and found rubbish underneath. On the way out we discussed feeding options at the hotel and was informed by reception the grill and bar stops food at 10pm and drinks at 10:45 pm. We returned about half 9 and went in the grill and bar restaurant just to be told "no food because its late now and chef said no" despite it been 9:50pm!!!! Travelodge staff need to communicate with the restaurant to agree times. Later on about 3am I put a tenner in the travelodge machine and it just turned off for no reason???? then I was waiting at the reception for about 5minutes as I could only see feet resting on top of what looks like a safe through the small gap in the door. He eventually realised I was there and emerged from the office.... (scary) - I told him about the machine and he goes.... "oh it's nothing to do with me or travelodge" even though the machine says travelodge on it! The worst thing was the small hole in the bedroom door and I'm sure I seen an eye looking through it. You can see into the room from the hallway!!!! The grill and bar next door was ok in the morning. The hotel was good apart from those points. This 1 needs another refurb

Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TravelodgeUK, Nicolas from Customer Services at Travelodge Exeter M5, responded to this review, 2 weeks ago
We hope our guests have a comfortable stay with us so it is really regrettable to learn that you were dissatisfied with the cleanliness of your room warrenosw. We expect our staff to follow a strict routine in the cleaning of our rooms and we would expect them to be cleaned to our high standards. Similarly, we would not expect our staff to be rude but to be polite and offer assistance at all times. We are sorry for the experience you had with us and would like to investigate the concerns that you have raised. Please could you visit our website and select the Contact Us button to tell us more and when doing so please indicate you have left a TripAdvisor review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ayr, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We stayed in this Travelodge for a week. There is a kingsize bed which is nice, but the bottom sheets were too small and didn't reach all the edges! Also, the room was large but the bed was squeezed into one corner of the room, which meant one of us had to sidle along the wall to get into it. We were given one hand towel between two of us and on one particular day only one bath towel between us. Our toilet was not cleaned properly and on our fourth day I had to request that it be cleaned because it was beginning to smell. Room was far too hot, as stated by others; the one opening window opens a crack and there is no real breeze. Bathroom good size. We could hear the traffic both from the M5 and the roundabout near the services from our room, but the hotel itself was pretty quiet. Note there is no lift, so if you don't want to lug your cases up a couple of flights of stairs then ask for a ground floor room. Breakfast was available in a cardboard box for £4.95 - not what we would want to eat so we ended up going elsewhere, which soon bumped up the cost overall. We found the reception staff extremely pleasant and helpful, but the cleaning staff need better training. We began to think the cleaner was just pulling the duvet over the rumpled bottom sheets and pillows so one day my husband dragged the bottom sheet right off just to see if anything was done to it, but lo and behold, the duvet was just dragged up over the top of it! We've decided that this place would be okay for one or two nights, but not any longer, and we would rather pay out more and get a hotel with breakfast included than traipse around looking for somewhere reasonable to have breakfast. We were visiting family nearby so we at least could spend our day and evening in their home. Location is good for the M5 motorway.

Room Tip: Couldn't say, they either faced the service petrol station or overlooked the car park as far as...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lee-on-the-solent, United Kingdom
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

rooms was very hot for duration of stay and was only able to open window a small amount. in the end was forced to wedge entrance door open to promote airflow through room to cool it.
Tried to have breakfast on day of departure but restaurant was closed due to Lack of Staff @ 0830 (should have opened at 0700). this is after having mentioned to reception staff the day before that we would be staying for breakfast!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Travelodge

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TravelodgeUK, Nicolas from Customer Services at Travelodge Exeter M5, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Thank you for your review C-Shyam. We're very sorry to learn that you did not find your room to be comfortable and enjoyable. Warmer weather can sometimes mean warmer rooms and, whilst not all our hotels have air conditioning, we like to help out by providing fans at reception available on a first come first serve basis. Furthermore, it is regrettable to learn of the difficulties you experienced in having breakfast during your stay with us. Regrettably, the adjacent restaurant is not owned or operated by Travelodge but we are still sorry for the inconvenience. We will ensure that the hotel are made aware of the concerns you have raised regarding this.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Travelodge Exeter M5? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Travelodge Exeter M5

Address: Moto Service Area, M5 Motorway | Sandygate, Exeter EX2 7HF, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Exeter
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 29 hotels in Exeter
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity, HotelsClick, TripOnline SA and Despegar.com so you can book your Travelodge Exeter M5 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Travelodge Exeter m5 Hotel Exeter
Travel Lodge Exeter
Forte Exeter
Exeter Travelodge
Exeter Travel Lodge
Exeter Forte
Travelodge Exeter M5 Devon

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Travelodge Exeter M5, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.