We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful old castle” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Powderham Castle

Powderham Castle
Kenton, Exeter, England
+44 1626 890243
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #6 of 115 things to do in Exeter
Certificate of Excellence 2014
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Powderham Castle is located in a unique, picturesque setting just outside Exeter, beside the Exe estuary. Six hundred years of history are contained within the walls of one of England's oldest family homes. Sir Philip Courtenay began building it in 1391 and it has remained in the same family to this day, currently home to the 18th Earl & Countess of Devon. The magical setting and convenient location makes it the perfect venue for all manner of events including wedding receptions and business functions. For locals and visitors to Devon it is a 'must see' and with its many attractions - a wonderful family day out!
Manchester, England, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Beautiful old castle”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013

Powderham Castle is a beautiful old castle which is still occupied by the owners the Earl and Countess of Devon.
It's brimming with history and full of beautiful furniture and paintings collected throughout it's long history.
Well worth a visit!

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

282 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    152
    100
    23
    7
    0
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Salisbury, England, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
16 attraction reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Redeemed by the guide!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2013

This was very expensive for the facilities that were operational at this time of year. I think they could reduce prices late in the season to reflect this. The cafe serves snacks only. The only hot meal available was jacket potatoes and they ran out of these! The deer park is lovely from the rose garden of the castle but the tractor safari doesn't run in September, the ice cream shop was also shut and birds of prey display only operates during August. There was a nice walled garden with animals and a nice area for small children. The main attraction is the castle and that is a guided tour only. Our guided tour lasted over an hour from 1.30 to almost 3 and Mike, the tour guide, was excellent. This was probably the best guided tour I've been on in this type of place. Interesting, amusing, informative. Fantastic! I'd definitely recommend to visit during August.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hampshire UK
1 review
“Fantastic, so much to see and do. Excellent shows”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2013 via mobile

This was one of the best familydays out we had this summer. Beautiful house and grounds, nature trails with a gift at the end, activities, arts and crafts, lot of animals, a playground Fort - not to mention the bird of prey show where the birds were walking and flying amongst the crowd. My personal favourite was the Pirate Show with Jonty Depp as Captain Jack - which was hillarious and the kids loved it too. We didn't get a chance to see or do everything so we'll have to go back!

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derbyshire
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Fabulous Time”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2013

We had a fabulous tour around Powderham Castle. We had Fleur take us around and I did not go up to the top floor as not very good with stairs and there was a chair in most of the rooms so I could sit down. Fleur was very informative, pleasant and extremely understanding with my problem.
The Castle was lovely to see and the hallway and stairs were fabulous. Wanted to go last year but never got round to it but really glad we saw it this year. Well worth a visit. Wish I could walk better so I could have looked at the grounds

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bearsted
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
16 attraction reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“A pleasant visit”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2013

This was our first visit and we were disappointed initially that some attractions were unavailable as it was September, yet the full admission price still applied. We enjoyed viewing the house and the guided tour (our guide was Fleur) made it even more interesting. The chapel was worth visiting too. We ate in the restaurant and enjoyed good food at reasonable prices. The map was useful but not especially accurate and not to scale. A short walk on the map to the walled garden turned out to be a much longer walk!

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Powderham Castle also viewed

 

Been to Powderham Castle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Powderham Castle, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.