We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value no nonsense place to stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of White Hart Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added White Hart Hotel to your Saves list
White Hart Hotel
66 South Street, Exeter EX1 1EE, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #15 of 30 Hotels in Exeter
Rome
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Good value no nonsense place to stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2013 via mobile

We stayed 2 nights in the White Hart. It is not flash but a good value place to stay just south of the Cathedral. Room was reasonable size, clean and comfortable. Breakfast is good and eating in the pub/restaurant downstairs good value. Staff were helpful and very pleasant although they could have had a little more staff on in the evening.

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

396 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    121
    190
    50
    15
    20
See reviews for
43
188
39
68
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (104)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Northampton, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2013

I have stayed at this hotel twice so far. I booked a single room on my first visit. The room itself was OK if a bit on the small side, but the soundproofing between the rooms was poor. I booked a double room on my second visit. The room was a much better size and I had no problems with the soundproofing this time. The plus side for this hotel is its location close to the city centre. The pub/restaurant also offers good pub food in a nice atmosphere.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2013

We stayed one night here during a road trip through the West Country and thought it was excellent value for money.We were very happy with the quality of accommodations with a spacious clean room, decent bathroom and a hot breakfast in the morning. The hotel is very close to the Cathedral precinct and has its own free parking which was very convenient as parking is tight in central Exeter.There is an old part and a more modern wing, which is a bit ugly on the outside but quite nice inside and we did appreciate having an elevator to take our bags up to our room.Breakfast was fine, but the food in the pub was just so-so and you can probably do better elsewhere in the area. Internet was free and worked well.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield
Top Contributor
112 reviews 112 reviews
68 hotel reviews
Reviews in 70 cities Reviews in 70 cities
98 helpful votes 98 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2013

Very central and convenient for the town centre. Good breakfast but thats about it. Rooms smelt fusty and so did reception...i did let the staff know and its been around for a while apparently. We ate there the evening of our first night, it was late and the table was filthy, having expected it to be wiped down was disappointed when this didnt happen and the food was plonked down in the mess. Wouldnt go again, stayed once before and still average.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2013

We stayed for two nights at the white hart whilst in Exeter visiting a friend. The hotel itself was really lovely, the staff were very welcoming and our room and bathroom clean, spacious and well decorated.

The free carpark is really convenient and we felt confident leaving our hire car full of our camping gear there for the two nights as it's very secluded.

The hotel is in a perfect location to explore Exeter and we enjoyed having a drink in the bar in the evening (although last orders were pretty early, even for hotel guests which was a little disappointing!).

One complaint about the hotel was the standard of the breakfast. Whilst there was lots of variety, my breakfast on both mornings was pretty bad. There was a long wait for any cooked items and the staff were run off their feet, another couple of members of staff might have helped the situation. The bacon that I was served on our second morning was inedible, to be honest, I would not have served it to a dog.

Overall, I would highly recommend the hotel however I wouldn't bother paying for breakfast as Exeter has lots of lovely coffee shops and cafes that would probably do a much better breakfast for less money!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cadiz, Spain
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2013 via mobile

This was perfect for my needs. I arrived in the evening and had to leave at 4 a.m. for an early flight. Spotlessly clean room and bathroom, very comfortable, well equipped, quiet (I was aware of some traffic noise at first but it wasn't enough to bother me), great food in the bar/restaurant, lovely staff. And the old part of the building is fascinating. Very reasonable price, compared with what else was on offer. I will stay here again, every time.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Exeter, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2013

The White Hart is A beautiful Traditional English Pub but the service is terrible, I had lunch there with my partner on my birthday. When we sat down at the table we noticed that it was dirty from previous clients, so we asked for it to be cleaned, nobody did that so we was forced to move. We ordered 2 burgers, after waiting half an hour we get what we ordered, the problem is that these burgers were completely burned and crunchy on the outside and red roar on the inside, I've never tasted anything so disgusting, who was the cook? It's a real shame beacause it is a lovely place but they are not very interested in delivering a good service.

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to White Hart Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about White Hart Hotel

Address: 66 South Street, Exeter EX1 1EE, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Exeter
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 30 Hotels in Exeter
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 55
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The White Hart boasts 55 newly refurbished en-suite bedrooms. All are non-smoking and inclusive of full English breakfast and FREE PARKING. The hotel is situated in the City Centre within the old city walls. It’s ideally situated to enjoy all the city has to offer, from its famous Gothic Cathedral to the Princesshay shopping centre. With a choice of areas to dine, an extensive selection of freshly cooked meals, fine cask ales and a comprehensive wine-list, all tastes are catered for. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your White Hart Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
White Hart Exeter
Hotel White Hart
White Hart Hotel Exeter, Devon

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage White Hart Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.