We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A little gem” 5 of 5 stars
Review of White Hart Hotel

Save Saved
You added White Hart Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
White Hart Hotel
66 South Street, Exeter EX1 1EE, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #13 of 30 hotels in Exeter
Cadiz, Spain
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“A little gem”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2013 via mobile

This was perfect for my needs. I arrived in the evening and had to leave at 4 a.m. for an early flight. Spotlessly clean room and bathroom, very comfortable, well equipped, quiet (I was aware of some traffic noise at first but it wasn't enough to bother me), great food in the bar/restaurant, lovely staff. And the old part of the building is fascinating. Very reasonable price, compared with what else was on offer. I will stay here again, every time.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

325 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    97
    160
    35
    13
    20
See reviews for
33
154
30
59
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (79)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Exeter, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2013

The White Hart is A beautiful Traditional English Pub but the service is terrible, I had lunch there with my partner on my birthday. When we sat down at the table we noticed that it was dirty from previous clients, so we asked for it to be cleaned, nobody did that so we was forced to move. We ordered 2 burgers, after waiting half an hour we get what we ordered, the problem is that these burgers were completely burned and crunchy on the outside and red roar on the inside, I've never tasted anything so disgusting, who was the cook? It's a real shame beacause it is a lovely place but they are not very interested in delivering a good service.

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Azle, Texas
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 53 cities Reviews in 53 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2013

Its a little hard to find (those central city roads in England!) but so glad we did. Its a short walk from the Cathedral and central city that grew up within the old city walls (they've built a modern shopping center off in one direction, where we found a Selfridges and the perfect gift for a "PBS junkie" at home that has everything).

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013

The White Hart may be one of the most used pub names in England. The one in which we stayed in Exeter is great. Every aspect was fun: location, comfort, bar, WiFi, TV, shower, food, parking, and price. On one side of the passageway stands the old inn with many cozy first floor rooms with book cases, leather chairs, high tables booths or coffee tables, great décor and no TVs. Across the courtyard is the very big pub in a matching style of old and comfortable. Sit down there with books and enjoy some hot soup, a pint and a good read.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northamptonshire
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2013

This is a very old coaching inn, just down the hill from the centre of town. We have stayed there a few times over the past 10 years. The rooms have all been refurbished and are excellent. You even get free bottled water. The breakfast is fantastic (they will even give you a "doggy bag" if you are in a rush). Service at the bar can sometimes be a little slow but staff are very friendly. The food is usually very good and being a Marston's pub/hotel the food prices are very reasonable, as are the room rates. The best thing about this hotel is the car parking - free if you stay there and they will let you leave your car there on your departure day so that you can go off and shop etc. - if you have ever visited Exeter before you will realise that parking in the centre is very expensive and sometimes hard to find.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ilminster, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2013

Really lovely room for a 2 night stay. Very clean and really comfy bed. Breakfast was really good very friendly service. Check in was easy and staff helped in every way they could. Room was very modern compared to the traditional look of the actual building. Only one complaint was that the WiFi was not working.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2013

We stayed at the White Hart over the August Bank Holiday weekend and had a great time. The pub on the ground floor is convenient, the food tasty, and they have a good selection of beers. The car park is great to have this close to the city centre, where parking can be tricky. Local amenities are all within walking distance. The room was clean and well presented. The gift of ear plugs was good, too, as the seagulls can get quite noisy and we were sleeping with the windows open due to the heat. Overall, a very pleasant stay.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to White Hart Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about White Hart Hotel

Address: 66 South Street, Exeter EX1 1EE, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Exeter
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 30 hotels in Exeter
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The White Hart boasts 55 newly refurbished en-suite bedrooms. All are non-smoking and inclusive of full English breakfast and FREE PARKING. The hotel is situated in the City Centre within the old city walls. It’s ideally situated to enjoy all the city has to offer, from its famous Gothic Cathedral to the Princesshay shopping centre. With a choice of areas to dine, an extensive selection of freshly cooked meals, fine cask ales and a comprehensive wine-list, all tastes are catered for. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your White Hart Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
White Hart Exeter
Hotel White Hart
White Hart Hotel Exeter, Devon

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage White Hart Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.