We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quirky hotel in the middle of Exeter” 4 of 5 stars
Review of White Hart Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added White Hart Hotel to your Saves list
White Hart Hotel
66 South Street, Exeter EX1 1EE, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #15 of 30 Hotels in Exeter
Fareham, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Quirky hotel in the middle of Exeter”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2012

Lovely old hotel in the center of Exeter, very close to the shops and the cathedral. I had a single room, which was compact but had everything I needed. The staff were helpful and friendly. The room had a couple of cleaning niggles but it was sorted immediately when I pointed it out to reception. Breakfast was plentiful and delicious and we also had a lovely meal (at 20%) discount in the pub/restaurant.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

396 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    121
    190
    50
    15
    20
See reviews for
43
188
39
68
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (104)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Caerleon, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012

I've stayed in the White Hart twice in the past few weeks due to business travel. Both times the reception staff were helpful and friendly, room was comfortable and clean, car parking was free (very helpful as in the middle of Exeter). Food was reasonable and breakfast was freshly cooked and tasty - what more could you ask for? The room was a bit hot when I arrived but I opened the window, turned down the radiator and, had I needed it there was a fan in the wardrobe.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2012

We stayed two nights in this hotel. Good warm welcome. Lovely olde wold feel with the warren of bars. Good food, well served in the bars and 20% discount for residents.

Only two downsides - VERY FLAT pillows. The two together only amounted to about 2" in total.
The breakfast - although the food was good, it was not hot, and was served on cold plates.

Room Tip: Our room overlooked the car park, with an opening window, so although we could hear the nearby road...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dorchester, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2012

A cheery greeting from the receptionist started a good experience. My single room was clean and comfortable and not hot as it had an opening window. The rabbit warren of bars and lounges were full of interest and the barman was friendly and efficient. A good menu delivered good food quickly - and with a 20% discount for residents made it good value. My Saturday night was quiet, especially with ear plugs provided. The breakfast offered a good choice, efficiently and cheerfully served.
The hotel is convenient for the city centre, and has free parking for residents - and an excellent wifi connection.
Any downsides? Well, I could have done with a clock and a more comfortable chair in the room and, a personal foible is that I hate towels on the bed; they belong on a towel rail in the bathroom!
All on all, I have spent twice as much for half the experience and I would go again

Room Tip: Book direct with the hotel, the booking websites charge a premium, as I found out!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Combe Martin, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2012

This hotel had everything we needed, centrally located and free parking. For the price the room was adequate, the ensuite was large and the bedroom was a good size. The only downside was the mattress was not of great quality and the cleanliness could be better. Overall a good stay and will stay again

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Solihull, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2012

Room was modern and comfortable. Breakfast was good and plentiful. Evening meal was not included but we stayed in and enjoyed our meal. Good value for money. Only complaint was that the pillows were so flat they served little purpose - would go again but take my own pillow next time!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2012

We stayed for one night in a good sized room. Great location. The hotel has been recently refurbished and we found it excellent except they did not have a shaver point in the bathroom and no shaver adaptors available. The bed and linen was excellent. Downside was dinner that we had in the hotel pub. We asked reception to report to manager. Food was tasteless and overcooked. We were also unimpressed with the breakfast, cold precooked ....

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to White Hart Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about White Hart Hotel

Address: 66 South Street, Exeter EX1 1EE, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Exeter
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 30 Hotels in Exeter
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 55
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The White Hart boasts 55 newly refurbished en-suite bedrooms. All are non-smoking and inclusive of full English breakfast and FREE PARKING. The hotel is situated in the City Centre within the old city walls. It’s ideally situated to enjoy all the city has to offer, from its famous Gothic Cathedral to the Princesshay shopping centre. With a choice of areas to dine, an extensive selection of freshly cooked meals, fine cask ales and a comprehensive wine-list, all tastes are catered for. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your White Hart Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
White Hart Exeter
Hotel White Hart
White Hart Hotel Exeter, Devon

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage White Hart Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.