We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great value for money & great location” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Gipsy Hill Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Gipsy Hill Hotel to your Saves list
Gipsy Hill Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Gipsy Hill Lane | Monkerton, Exeter EX1 3RN, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #22 of 31 Hotels in Exeter
marsh baldon
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great value for money & great location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2013 via mobile

When we arrived with out family the buildings looked a bit dated but our stay was just lovely. We had a family room which was very spacious and clean and comfortable. The children used the wifi all week which was free. The food was great. We ate out for some meals and wished we stayed and ate in the hotel. The drinks were reasonably charged and good selection. The wine was particularly good. Great staff who were always attentive. Lots to see and do in the area.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

228 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    71
    74
    40
    15
    28
See reviews for
48
53
14
63
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (59)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Deal, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

This hotel is a little hit and miss. Some rooms are pleasant whilst others are tired, if your staying in the main hotel the noise from functions can be loud and disturbing til early hours, better to stay in opposite building as much quieter but colder in winter months! In majority the staff are lovely and very friendly, but with one acception the lady who has worked there for god knows how many years who does breakfast, she is very stern and can be rude! Breakfast is good but you may need to ask for it to be heated up in a microwave. There isnt a Gypsy site next door, well ive never seen one and was there in July. Food is okay little over priced for what it is better to go to The Barn Owl up the road. Alot of the staff have been at the hotel for a while which is a bonus except for the above mentioned.

Room Tip: Stay in the Annexe in the summer to avoid the disco/function, if in the cooler months stay in main h...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Exeter, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2013

I love this hotel, this is my third stay here and each time it gets better. when you arrive for the first time you have no great wow factor, but once you enter, meet the amazing staff, the fabulous grounds and lovely rooms, you feel like (as i heard a little boy call it yesterday) in paradise.... its clearly privately owned, humans work here.... not robots! its home from home, relaxed, yet has a touch of class, yes there is some wear and tear in places but its clean and full of character. and there is attention to detail and real want to help you and make your stay happy from all the staff i have met. Room 11 is awesome, light and airy. i also like room 2 (all though a net curtain may have been handy!!) the food was lovely, fab chips, and beautiful confit of pork. I would recommend it for business or pleasure. well done guys.

Room Tip: room 11 guys...corner room, lots of windows, over looking the garden.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here with our dog as a stop-off from Berkshire to Cornwall. It is near the motorway so there's some noise but nothing too loud or intrusive. The garden and patio are lovely and staff all incredibly helpful. Rooms are a bit tired and creaky but everything nice and clean.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ollerton, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2013

This hotel is an absolute gem! Very friendly staff and the hotel is set in beautiful grounds. Felt like we were in the countryside, yet we were only minutes away from the city! Only a mile to walk to get the excellent Park &Ride service into Exeter and the lovely village of Pinhoe just a 20 minute walk away. Our room was very spacious with a good size en suite, the only disappointment being that the shower was not an electric one,but mixer tap type. Lovely comfortable bed. Breakfast was the best we have had in any UK hotel , even matched the one we had in a 5 star hotel in Finland! Excellent food in the restaurant cooked to a very high standard and reasonabley priced. We will be back here again next time we come to Exeter , don't really kniw what some reviewers have to moan about ....if you don't like old style buildings,stay in a Travelodge instead!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, UK
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2013

Hmm, how to sum it up? This place is an odd mixture. The staff are very polite and seem keen to help. (eg we stayed when it was hot, and at 10.30pm the staff in the reception gave us their own electric fan for our room as we couldn't sleep - no air con).
The family room was a good size, with a large area with a double bed, table, chairs, TV and wardrobe, and a separate section with a desk area, and another separate area containing two single beds for the kids. However, it seems as though the hotel management haven't test-run the rooms themselves (they should). Some reasons why:
1: There are no accessible plug sockets at the desk - so if you've got a laptop and various technical bits, where do you plug them in?
2: The bath mixer tap were broken so we had to fill the bath using the shower attachment.
3: The bath and sink taps were chipped (it *is* possible to get a bath repaired...).
4: The shower curtain looked ancient and unclean (mouldy).
5: The window curtain linings were mouldy.
6: The bathroom decor needs refreshing. Although it must have looked luxurious in 1985, it really needs bringing into the 21st century to keep up with expectations. Botticelli's "Birth of Venus" tiled above the bath? Really?
7: We were given 3 towels for 4 people so had to share.
8: The hotel from the outside is quite unappealling when you approach it from the carpark - we nearly turned round as I'd promised the family what I thought was a country house.
9: The decor in the family block is really quite revolting: burgundy painted walls, manky carpet and wooden banisters and skirting that has really seen better days.

Did we complain? Other than telling the staff the bath taps were broken, no. If the staff can't see the mould and bad decor when they work there day in day out, tbh, I don't think it will make a different if someone tells them so.

In all: too expensive for the experience. The industry is far too competitive for them to ignore the details as people will go elsewhere!

Room Tip: Family rooms seem to all be in the separate coach-house rather than in the main hotel. I assume to k...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2013

Booked a Superior Room for 4 nights, left after 1, wardrobe collapsed when attempting to hang clothes in it. There was an illuminated Fire Exit sign in the room. You could hear everything that was going on in the room next door due to the single interconnecting door. If you opened the window for some air all you could hear was the traffic noise from the motorway. The four poster bed was most uncomfortable, mattress was rock hard and sagged in the middle. Bathroom had not been serviced properly. The only thing that was Superior about this room was the price!

Room Tip: Avoid Room 2
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Gipsy Hill Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gipsy Hill Hotel

Address: Gipsy Hill Lane | Monkerton, Exeter EX1 3RN, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Exeter
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 31 Hotels in Exeter
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Gipsy Hill Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 37
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Exeter's best kept secret hotel The Gipsy Hill Hotel is surrounded by three acres of beautiful landscaped gardens and is a taste of the Devon countryside mere miles away from the vibrant & historic, Cathedral city of Exeter. You are guaranteed a warm welcome from our friendly and efficient staff right from the moment you arrive, till the moment we wish you a safe journey. With two free car parking spaces per room and free Wifi, The Gipsy Hill really is a home from home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, LateRooms, TripOnline SA and Priceline so you can book your Gipsy Hill Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Exeter Best Western
Best Western Exeter
Gipsy Hill Hotel Exeter, Devon

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Gipsy Hill Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.