We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“CLUB FIFTY PLUS” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Clarion Collection Hotel Buckerell Lodge

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Clarion Collection Hotel Buckerell Lodge to your Saves list
Clarion Collection Hotel Buckerell Lodge
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Topsham Road, Exeter EX2 4SQ, England   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Up to 10% OFF Room Rate
Ranked #25 of 30 Hotels in Exeter
Shipston on Stour, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“CLUB FIFTY PLUS”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2010

Slightly dated hotel, rooms clean and had a comfy bed. Bathroom very modern (only part). Resturant looks somewhat to that of the 70s, as does the bar area. If you look at the reception there is a list of the meeting rooms each dedicated to someone which I assume has now passed away.... cheery way to start your holiday. Staff are helpful and breakfast was top quality. Rooms have very thin walls, we could hear each person coming and going at all times of the day.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

279 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    67
    115
    48
    35
    14
See reviews for
35
129
17
65
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (52)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Southampton, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2010

Having just returned from a 2 night stay at the Buckerell Lodge Hotel I felt I had to comment on the experience. From the moment we pulled onto the drive we felt that it was going to be a pleasurable experience and we were not dissapointed. The Hotel is a little tatty in places but the staff are very helpful and friendly. We were upgraded to an executive room which was very clean, well maintained and tastefully decorated. We booked to eat in the restaurant on both nights and we were glad we did as the quality of the food and the service were excellent. We would have no hesitation staying again if we are in the area and would recommend the hotel to our family and friends.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paignton, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2010

I stayed at this hotel with my partner on the 4th of September as my friend was having their wedding reception there. Was very disappointed when i arrived and the upgrade to executive that i had paid for turned out to be 1 small bottle of mineral water for 2 people, 2 pairs of bathroom slippers of less quality than NHS slippers, and the "Kingsize" bed only turned out to 2 twin beds pushed together; including the fact that it was 2 seperate matresses and you could very prominently feel the ridge in the middle of the bed. I have to say that when i complained about this to the staff they were very apologetic and curtious so had no real issue with the quality of service that i received. The usual rate for the executive suite is £150 luckily i had only paid £76 through booking.com as i would have been severely disappointed if i had paid full price. The view from the room was also not very good as it was a view was not disimilar to that of being in a travelodge, the grounds that you could see was by no means cultivated.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2010

Myself and my partner decided to go for a quiet, relaxing weekend away after a very stressful start to summer. We booked into an executive room and made sure we had dinner and breakfast pre booked so we had to leave the hotel as little as possible.

The bar staff were lovely, the waiting staff were great but very distracted and the receptionist simply looked bored.

The executive room didn't seem very executive, it was simply a larger bed (2 singles pushed together...) and slightly more spacious than other rooms. The bathroom was small and the door couldn't close and every morning the bottles from the bar were emptied into a recycling bin below the bathroom window. Very noisy.

The food was incredible but the wine was horrendous.

All in all it was a good stay, the food was excellent the bed was comfortable, the staff were pleasant (Mary in the bar is particularly friendly and helpful, she should really be on reception we think) and the atmosphere was lovely. Gorgeous grounds and an easy 20 min walk to Exeter city centre.

I probably wont go back again, but I would recommend this to others as a nice place to stay

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northampton, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2010

A very pleasant and enjoyable stay at this hotel. The staff (particularly those in the restaurant both at dinner and breakfast) were extremely helpful, polite and courteous. With over 15 years of experience in the hospitality industry, I have a keen eye for detail. The customer service was excellent, and they looked after my mother with a gluten free diet very effectively.
The only negative point I would make was the lack of cool air available in the bedrooms, as it made it a little diffult to sleep, just glad it was not too hot outside.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swindon, England
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2010

Stayed for 2 nights in one of the deluxe rooms - room 12. Nice room at the end of the hall so no passing foot traffic.
We arrived before the 2pm check-in time & our room was ready. Reasonable sized room, kingsize bed, wall mounted flat screen TV, good shower.
Bed was OK comfortable - not the best but not the worst.
Shower was good, no problems with temp or pressure.
Lots of channels on the TV.
Big dresser & mirror - good for putting your make-up on & plugs by the mirror for hairdryer & straighteners.
Staff were very friendly & helpful - sorted out taxis for us when needed.
Ate in the bar one evening - food was OK. Nothing to get excited about. Drinks in the bar aren't too expensive.
We'd pre-booked breakfast for £10 each. If you decide you want breakfast when you get there they charge £14.
Breakfast was actually really good. Cold selection of cereal, fruit, meat, cheese, pastries etc. Hot food was cooked to order & cooked well. Good coffee & loads of toast. Staff again friendly & helpful.
We were attending a wedding in the city & the reception was at Exeter Golf & Country Club which is just a few minutes in a cab from this hotel, so location was perfect.
There was a wedding recepiton at Buckerell on the Saturday night which was still going when we arrived back. Disco on loud. Once back in our room you couldn't hear it at all.
I liked this hotel, nothing fancy but it has a nice lawn for drinks & is quiet despite being off a major road. Staff are helpful & friendly, breakfast was great, and the rooms are comfortable to stay in.
When I'm away from home I want a clean comfortable room, a hot shower with good water pressue, a good nights sleep and a plug by a mirror so I can dry my hair. This place ticked all those boxes.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Somerset, UK
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2010

We stayed here for one night. We had booked into a double but when we arrived we were upgraded as there wasn't a standard double left. Our room was very well appointed and quiet. The bed was huge and very comfortable. All the staff were very helpful particularly the Receptionist. The hotel is not central to the city but we used the buses and they were very convenient plus we had no issues with parking.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Clarion Collection Hotel Buckerell Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clarion Collection Hotel Buckerell Lodge

Address: Topsham Road, Exeter EX2 4SQ, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Exeter
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #25 of 30 Hotels in Exeter
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Clarion Collection Hotel Buckerell Lodge 3.5*
Number of rooms: 54
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Just a mile from Exeter City Centre, surrounded by mature trees and 4 acres of landscaped gardens the hotel has easy access from the motorway and ample free onsite parking. Good quality restaurant, bar meals and room service is available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA and Booking.com so you can book your Clarion Collection Hotel Buckerell Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Buckerell Hotel Exeter
Clarion Collection Hotel Buckerell Lodge Exeter, Devon

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Clarion Collection Hotel Buckerell Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.