We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“very good stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of ABode Exeter

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added ABode Exeter to your Saves list
ABode Exeter
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Cathedral Yard, Exeter EX1 1HD, England (Formerly Royal Clarence Hotel)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #16 of 30 Hotels in Exeter
Hampshire, UK
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“very good stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2014

We stayed in abode because of its location and a very attractive dinner, bed and breakfast deal. The location readily is good, though be mindful that there isn't a car park. It's a great place to stay if you're traveling by train.
The staff were lovely and unprompted, when we explained that we couldn't be there for dinner on the Saturday night, asked if we would like to have Sunday lunch instead. We had a lovely room though it's a little strange having a bath in the bedroom. The food was really good, though the set menu as a little limited the quality of the cooking was very good.
The hotel has a lovely aspect over the cathedral and we would stay there again, which is unusual for us as we normally like to try somewhere new.

Room Tip: If you get a room at the front of the hotel you'll have a brilliant view of the cathedral
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
General M, General Manager at ABode Exeter, responded to this review, July 26, 2014
Dear ‘Flowerbob’

Thank you for your review following your most recent stay with us. We are all so pleased you enjoyed you visit to ABode Exeter. We have an arrangement with a local car park for those who drive a short walk from the hotel and offer a 20 minute grace period to unload bags.

It is so nice to hear that you will be staying with us in the future and I look forward to welcoming you back.

Many thanks

Matt Collins
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

625 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    204
    212
    120
    60
    29
See reviews for
65
313
39
115
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (170)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Maidstone, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2014

We stayed at the Abode Exeter in April 2014 to break up the long drive down to Cornwall. Hotel is in a fabulous location - the only minus side is that there is no parking so a little walk to nearest public car park. Hotel staff absolutely brilliant - especially Reception as we were struggling to find the hotel - when I called, she actually talked us in from where we were lost! Super - Exter one-way system is not easy to navigate. Hotel room was more than we expected, bath rub in the room with separate shower/loo. Beds in the Abode hotels are to die for - so comfortable. We enjoyed cocktails in the bar before a delicious dinner in the MC restaurant. Would definitely stay again.

Room Tip: We had a room with no view but it didn't matter for one night. I guess if staying for longer, I...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
General M, General Manager at ABode Exeter, responded to this review, July 26, 2014
Dear ‘Jean E’

Thank you for such a lovely review, it is so nice to hear you enjoyed your stop off stay with us and found time to enjoy our Restaurant and Bar.

We recommend dropping bags off at the Hotel first use postcode EX1 1DZ if using a Sat Nav and then parking afterwards where we can give you directions.

I hope to welcome you back in the future.

Many thanks

Matt
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thame, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2014

I chose this hotel due to its location and the added bonus of a Michael Caines restaurant. The room was small and there were a lot of steps to navigate to reach it but this is a very old building so comes with the territory. However, the room was comfortable and had a fabulous shower. Staff were friendly and helpful. Giving the bar the title of Champagne Bar is somewhat misleading as there were only three choices by the glass. However, Michael Caines own label Blanc de Blanc was excellent. It did seem rather more cocktail bar than champagne bar. I ate in the restaurant which had plenty of choice with a Table d'Hote menu at a very reasonable cost to a tasting menu. I chose from the a la carte and the food was fabulous. I was travelling alone and felt completely comfortable in both the hotel and restaurant. I would recommend both hotel and restaurant if you are ever in Exeter.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
General M, General Manager at ABode Exeter, responded to this review, July 26, 2014
Dear ‘jazza1957’

Thank you for taking the time to review your most recent stay, I’m so pleased to hear you would recommend us and enjoyed all aspects of our Hotel. I will ensure the Kitchen and Restaurant team receive your feedback.

I hope to welcome you back soon.

Many thanks

Matt Collins
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nelson, New Zealand
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
162 helpful votes 162 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2014

Housed in an old building on Cathedral Square, a modern reception hides the reality of an older property. There is one antiquated lift...if someone forgets to close the inner gate then the lift is stuck. Doors onto the staircase from upper floors open onto a landing blocking the way for someone coming from above, and where they could be hit by the opening door. The floor we were on had three sets of stairs to get to our room. Moving luggage when we left was a nightmare. The room we were give, in addition to an en-suite with a walk in shower had a claw foot bath on one side of the bedroom (behind the desk dividing the room in half) reducing the available space dramatically. Then there was the step between the entry level and the bed area. The floor was wooden and the step was at an angle and in reality could not be easily seen as the floor on both sides blended together. My wife had a fall due to this and was lucky not to injure herself either on the floor or on the corners of the alcove (which also had a sharp dado rail at waist height) between the door and the en-suite. Although there was a light under the step ledge near the aforementioned bath, it would only operate if the main room lights were on. These room safety issues were reported to reception on check-out.
The position of the hotel on the Square also means that there is a lot of noise from outside whether from the adjacent pub and alley down one side, or from the square itself.
We will not be back.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
General M, General Manager at ABode Exeter, responded to this review, July 26, 2014
Dear ‘madogvin’

Thank you for your review, I’m sorry to hear you did not enjoy your stay. The hotel is over 200 years old and as such the flooring is not one level with some rooms only accessible by stairs. We are a listed building and as such some areas we are unable to change. We tell all our guests about closing of the gate when entering and exiting the lift and have a telephone directly outside the lift where by you can contact Reception who will ensure the lift is brought to your level. We are looking for a solution that will both satisfy our status and guests comfort. We are always happy to move bags and offer this on check in and you can phone down for us to collect.

We take our responsibility for Health & Safety very seriously and with any incidents carry out a full investigation and where needed make the necessary changes. The light can be operated with out the main lights but this is not labelled as such and will further improve this when we carry out a room update in 2015.

Once again please except my apologies.

Many thanks

Matt
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guildford, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2014

We have stayed and dined at the Abode a few times before so we chose the hotel when we attended our sons graduation this weekend.
Of course we completely understand that graduation in Exeter brings substantial pressures and expected them to be busy. Our room was incredibly small but we didn't mind. Although we had tried to book a table for supper with our son a month in advance they didn't have a table for us but we had booked HH which was lovely. We tried though to have a drink in the bar but when we didn't have a dinner reservation we were asked to sit in reception and they would bring us our drinks there. The reception is bland and dull so no, we went and had a drink outside a nearby bar.

We had had a long conversation with the receptionist about the time of our cab in the morning to get us to the graduation ceremony on time. We accepted her suggestion that 8.00 would be prudent and booked alarm calls too for 6.30.
We waited outside the hotel with the staff member organising the cabs until 8.10. He then started double checking his list and said he couldn't find the booking - really unimpressive. To be honest it was bad enough that the receptionist hadn't made the booking but he then wandered around a bit and, when he came back to us he had spent the time trying to find out who had made the mistake rather than just trying to get another cab.

Mistakes happen but to be honest the hotel managed to create the impression that they were just processing bookings without any interest in providing any real service or care. If this had been my first visit I never would have gone back - from the pokey room to the suggestion of drinks in amongst the brochures in reception and the taxi farce it was all just disinterested and rubbish really - certainly not the memorable day we had hoped for.

Room Tip: Don't get room 115!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
General M, General Manager at ABode Exeter, responded to this review, July 18, 2014
Dear ‘Deborah D’

Thank you for your review and please accept my apologies for the short fall in service received. As you mentioned Graduation week is a busy week, all aspects are carefully planned well in advance, the Restaurant was full on most sittings sometime ago. The bar is small as you would have seen on previous visits and the Reception area used as an overflow, drinks can be taken in the Café Bar and Tavern.

Through out the week we had two additional people managing the Taxi’s to ensure the right guest received the right taxi and as far as I am aware this has been our only issue, I’m sorry that we were not attentive to address this matter immediately and will undertake an investigation.

If you do to decide to return to Exeter in the future please contact me direct so I can personally apologise and ensure all aspects are to the level you have received previously.

Many thanks

Matt Collins
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2014

Abode is well placed, right in the centre of Exeter, overlooking the cathedral, within short walking distance of plenty of restaurants. I won't go into this much, as many other reviewers have already pointed out the good location and talked at length about it.

We found the hotel to be clean with modern decor, and the bathroom was very large and nicely done, with good toiletries. Interestingly enough, in the room we were assigned, the bathroom was almost the size of the bedroom itself - this was a combination of the bathroom being large, but the bedroom also being quite small.

We had the 2 for £10 offer on cocktails on the night we arrived, and we were impressed - we ended up having 2 rounds, both of which were very well made, using fresh fruit and good spirits. I did have to point out the very mouldy lemon in the Moet & Chandon ice bucket on the bar (which was immediately removed); while nothing in the bucket was used for making drinks, it probably needs checked more regularly.

The only real issue with the hotel is proximity to parking - we parked in the recommended car park, but it's still quite a trek with luggage. I doubt there is any way around this for the hotel, as it's in a pedestrian area - in my opinion, it's a worthwhile trade-off to be close to the restaurants.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
General M, General Manager at ABode Exeter, responded to this review, July 12, 2014
Dear ‘largebrick’


Thank you for taking the time to write a review from your recent stay. We are so pleased you enjoyed your most recent stay with us and noted your comments.

Unfortunately there is little we can do about car parking but we do offer a 20 minute grace period to drop bags off at the Hotel which would make the short walk a lot easier.

I look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Many thanks

Matt Collins
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
devon
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2014

You can park outside this hotel to unload and are given directions to a car park that you get a special rate for. Reception staff were lovely and with an upgraded room with cathedral views we were on to a winner . Room 211 was everything and more than we hoped for . Started the evening with cocktails in the champaign bar at 2 for £10 before 7o.clock it would be silly not to . Ordered from the resident menu which we thought a little light on choice but everything cooked to perfection . What really made our night was the sommelier who was very knowledgable and even gave us a tasting in fact all the staff were great . Breakfast was relaxed with a good choice . Look out for the special midweek deals .

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
General M, General Manager at ABode Exeter, responded to this review, July 10, 2014
Dear ’pickyNickyDevon’

Thank you for taking the time to review your most recent stay with us. I’m so pleased all aspects were of a high standard and will ensure Marek our Sommelier receives the positive feedback.

I hope to welcome you back in the future.

Many thanks

Matt Collins
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to ABode Exeter? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about ABode Exeter

Address: Cathedral Yard, Exeter EX1 1HD, England (Formerly Royal Clarence Hotel)
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Exeter
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Exeter
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — ABode Exeter 4*
Number of rooms: 53
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, EasyToBook, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your ABode Exeter reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Abode Exeter Hotel Exeter
Exeter Abode Hotel
Abode Hotel Exeter
ABode Exeter Devon

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage ABode Exeter, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.