We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Exactly What A Great City Hotel Should Be Like” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Mercure Exeter Southgate Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Mercure Exeter Southgate Hotel to your Saves list
Mercure Exeter Southgate Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Southernhay East, Exeter EX1 1QF, England   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
MERCURE SPRING OFFER
Ranked #10 of 31 Hotels in Exeter
Crawley, West Sussex, UK
Top Contributor
116 reviews 116 reviews
101 hotel reviews
Reviews in 100 cities Reviews in 100 cities
144 helpful votes 144 helpful votes
“Exactly What A Great City Hotel Should Be Like”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2013

This is an excellent hotel close to Exeter centre.

Rooms are modern whilst retaining the character of the hotel. Bathrooms are stylish & practical, being newly fitted with a walk in shower. Room is well decorated with comfortable bed and good flat screen TV showing all Freeview channels.
Car parking was reasonable price, plentiful & secure. Wifi was free, though I did not need it as the 3G signal was very strong (from O2).

I did not use restaurant or leisure as with friends & had other plans.

Overall, an excellent choice. Everything you want and more from a hotel either on business or for leisure. It will be my first choice when returning to Exeter.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,236 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    422
    515
    197
    75
    27
See reviews for
229
541
64
263
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (208)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Cirencester
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2013

Brilliant place to stay - close to shops but not too noisy.Stayed there over ten years ago & was pleasantly surprised at the new facilities,including a lovely indoor swimming pool & gym etc. Breakfast was very good in a beautifully decorated dining room ( we were there just before Christmas )There was a lovely welcoming fire in the Reception area & although very modern ,it felt very cosy.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2013

Mercure Exeter Southgate Hotel is located in the best part of Exeter, you couldnt get a better location. It is within walking distance of the city centre and close to attractions such as the Cathedral. Short drive to Exeter St Davids and Exeter Central Stations. Rooms are decent size, and service is quite good. This hotel has become the hotel of choice for me when doing business in Devon. The gym/spa is small but functional and the staff are very helpful. If there is a down side to this hotel it is the parking situation and having to pay where most other hotels of the same standard would offer free parking.

Room Tip: Book early
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Falmouth, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2013

I was surprised by how nice this hotel was, considering the price and location. I paid a very reasonable ~£65 for two nights, over a weekend and it's really close to the shopping centre, just round the corner from the cathedral.

My room was lovely, I found it very cosy and homely. The staff were friendly too. My only complaint would be: having to pay for the car park. Which I found a bit strange.

I would defininely stay here again.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Exeter, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2013

For less than sixty five pounds a twin room with comfortable beds, use of spa/swimming pool and helpful reception staff, I think this probably can't be beaten.

A small gripe was that the adjoining room was easy to hear conversations and the TV, although this was put on at quite loud volumes and that they smoked which was disgusting when it crept through under the adjoining room door. We mentioned this to reception staff and they assured us rooms were non smoking. They apologised for this and gave us free parking to make up for it, which I thought was a nice touch.

Bar staff were also good, and the sofas/reception area very welcoming.

Overall a very good stay.

Room Tip: ask for one without an adjoining room door.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Exeter, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2013

Booked for one night for wedding anniversary late December.. Online booking service advisor suggested update to superior room including robes, slippers complimentary toiletries and chocies. Don't normally go for all that but hey ho special occasion etc. Surprise, surprise, no chocies or any of the other stuff! Queried it with reception but there was nothing they could do. Not a big deal and we had a great time in Exeter but my initial feeling is that this hotel has no more to offer than more keenly priced hotel chains. In addition we weren't informed when booking that there would be a £10 charge to park our car in the hotel car park and as this is part of the hotel property we were somewhat surprised by this! We recently booked two European business associates in there and they were non committal about the accomodation when asked so we may not be alone in finding this hotel disappointing.We are already committed to a booking with Mercure for a business trip in Birmingham so will be interested to compare. On a positive note the public areas in the Exeter one are lovely and I would say that the reception staff when we stayed were the hotels best asset.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Mercure Exeter Southgate Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Exeter Southgate Hotel

Address: Southernhay East, Exeter EX1 1QF, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Exeter
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Exeter
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Mercure Exeter Southgate Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 154
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
4 star city centre hotel which is a great base for exploring the devon coast & dartmoor. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, ACCOR, Priceline, Hotels.com, Agoda, Orbitz, Odigeo and TripOnline SA so you can book your Mercure Exeter Southgate Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Accor Southgate Exeter
Mercure Exeter Southgate Hotel Devon

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mercure Exeter Southgate Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.