We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great place to stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Exeter Arms in Middlemoor

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Exeter Arms in Middlemoor to your Saves list
Exeter Arms in Middlemoor
Rydon Lane | Middlemoor, Exeter EX2 7HL, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #67 of 72 Exeter B&B and Inns
Galway, Ireland
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“great place to stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2013

just back from a weeks holiday in exeter just to say the exter arms is a very nice place to hang out great food lovely bar staff plenty of business being done here loads at dinner every night just shows what good service means breakfast wounderful loads to eat was stuffed every day
delighted to have stayed will be back only one issue the lodge entrance could be up graded shabby enough bedrooms lovely

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

52 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2
    8
    13
    14
    15
See reviews for
13
21
3
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Bournemouth
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2013

Stayed 2 nights in upstairs twin room. Spacious but unfortunately spoilt by strong cigarette smoke smell, very off putting. Had to wash certain items on return home! Asked for quiet room which it was and our Sunday evening meal of baked salmon was beautiful. Plenty of breakfast on offer, shame no fruit. Staff very friendly. We realised we had stayed there approx 13 years ago when our downstairs room was tired then, feel it needs some money injected into the accommodation.

Room Tip: Extension of 2 storey brick building an improvement on almost 'prefabricated looking' older...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

The bathroom has not been touched since the 1970's , take a look at photos . The hot tap was dripping constantly and when we turned hot tap on to have a bath the water came out like mud . We stayed there as part of a wedding group and the room was booked for us by the bride so I didn't want to upset anyone , but would not stay there again . Having said this the breakfast was lovely . We paid £40 for a double room which included all you can eat hot buffet breakfast . I would not have wanted to pay anymore . The building smelt of damp and really the whole place should be knocked down and started again .

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sunbury, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2013

Not a bad place to stay for a night or two but wouldn't fancy spending longer there. The bar and food on site was excellent and couldn't fault it. Our room was quite near a busy main road so it was quite noisy at night plus the window was faulty and wouldn't close shut.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Exeter, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2013

Visited in March 2013 with family - 10 of us in total - about 4.30/5ish on a weekday for a birthday celebration. The place was much busier than we expected for that time of day. All ended up having a carvery. I'm not a fan of carveries at the best of times as don't like the idea of food sitting around and prefer it to be cooked fresh. At best it was average, at worst almost inedible Went for the turkey which, to be fair, was nicely cooked and not dry however the roast potates were so hard they nearly broke your teeth. I asked whether the stuffing had meat in or was sage an onion - blank look back and then told that it was just Paxo stuffing - so whatever was in Paxo. There was a good choice of veg but strangely all had been cooked to nearly mush and tasted the same. THe gravy was terrible and a strange green/brown type colour for the poultry gravy. The only saving grace here was the customer service - the Staff who served us were excellent. This place always seems to be busy and i'm really not sure why - I do have quite high expectations when eating out - I expect it at least to be slightly better than I could do myself (and I am by no means a good Cook!) but perhaps I have too high expectations for a national chain afterall and plenty of other people seem to like it but I have to say I thought the food was dreadful, In our group the only person who enjoyed it was age 5! That said, I didn't have desert, but others did and said they were good. This place seems to serve a purpose as frequently busy but i have to say I will try and avoid going back.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gosport, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012

We stay here at least twice a year to visit family and yes it is dated and is need of a complete overhaul but linen is clean and food excellent and a good pub atmosphere.
Also the outside decor could do with a comple face lift

Room Tip: They are all pretty much the same
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Finistere, Brittany, France
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2012

The rooms and public areas of the hotel are dated and could do with renovating. However this is made up for by the excellent value for money - £40 - for a double room with breakfast. The staff were helpful and friendly. The quality of the food was excellent. Unfortunately the radiator in our room was hot and we could find no way to turn it off. The bathroom (which actually had a bath) was in need of renovation, but the shower was very good - being powerful and hot at all times during our 4-day stay.

The location - within a 5 minute drive of junction 30 of the M5 is very convenient for the city of Exeter (the park and ride bus stops opposite the hotel).

Despite the fact that we slept with the window open (due to the hot radiator) we were undisturbed by traffic noise. We would certainly return.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Exeter Arms in Middlemoor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Exeter Arms in Middlemoor

Address: Rydon Lane | Middlemoor, Exeter EX2 7HL, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Exeter
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #67 of 72 B&Bs / Inns in Exeter
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 83
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Exeter Arms in Middlemoor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Exeter Arms In Middlemoor Devon

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Exeter Arms in Middlemoor, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.