We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Adequate for a buffet experience” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Buffet City

Buffet City
George St, Exeter, England
01392 438885
Improve this listing
Ranked #222 of 416 Restaurants in Exeter
Cuisines: Chinese
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Buffet, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Buffet, Late Night
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Adequate for a buffet experience”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2012

I visited here last week whilst visiting my Father and not being a fan of buffet type dining experiences was pleasantly surprised.
To start yes it is not the prettiest of locations and the dinning area has a school hall type feel. But hey one should not attend these kind of establishments expecting a fine ambiance.
The service was prompt with our many plates being cleared away quickly.
As for the food as to be expected it was up and down. From good salt and pepper squid to medium chilli chicken to the bad crispy shredded duck.
Would I go back? Not in a hurry but its a good cheap dining experience for groups.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

168 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    24
    63
    32
    19
    30
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Exeter, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Dissappointing”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2012

My family and I visited this restaurant,we had bad service the food wasn't very nice.We were expecting something rather special.On arrival we were rushed to our seat by the waiter or manager he wanted our drinks order before we sat down.Some of the food was cold,too much food colouring in some of the dishes,soups was not soup it was like jelly.The lamb was very chewy.I advise STAY AWAY!!!!!!!!!!!!!

  • Visited October 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
“Excellent value”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2012 via mobile

My first time to buffet city, after reading previous reviews, I was a bit concerned, but it was very good, a little pricey for Saturday early evening, (was there around 5pm) will definitely go again

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Uffcul
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Lunchtime Blues !!!!!”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2012

2 o'clock tired and fed up we decided to pay a visit as were close by. What a disappointment. I couldn't even say cheap and cheerful. The food was cold, greasy and lacking in choice. The waiting staff lacking energy and everything seemed too much trouble. The drinks prices were extortionate. I would have pad more for a better selection, nicer atmosphere and a smile from the staff. Obviously not our lucky day.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barnstaple, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
65 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
“Dissapointing”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2012

My sister and I went here while in Exeter for the day. I had heard that it was a good Chinese buffet.However I did not enjoy it at all. Everything I tried from the starter to main course was cold and the whole meal was very disappointing. Will not be returning.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Buffet City also viewed

 
Exeter, Devon
 

Been to Buffet City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Buffet City, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.