We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value & quality food served with a smile” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Rosticceria

Rosticceria
Barnfield Road, Exeter, England
Improve this listing
Ranked #93 of 407 restaurants in Exeter
Cuisines: Italian
Description: Continental bar and self service restaurant - take away available
Restaurant details
Description: Continental bar and self service restaurant - take away available
Exeter, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Good value & quality food served with a smile”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2013

I have only been here for breakfast on a few occasions so can't comment on the main Italian courses, however it is extremely good value and also good quality, and they aren't frugal with the portion sizes like lots of places. For two huge cooked brunches with drinks on the weekend we paid just £11. The coffee is also exceptionally good, and the pastries tempting. The interior is very charming, as are the upbeat staff who create a joyous mood. It's unassuming from the outside and rather tucked away, so it's somewhere you would only happen upon by chance, but so worth seeking out. Just 2 minutes round the corner from Princesshay. (A 2 minute walk that will save you ££!)

  • Visited December 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

11 reviews from our community

90% Recommend
    7
    3
    0
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Minehead, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“I am now an Italian fan!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2013

We stumbled upon this great authentic Italian on our way back to the Car park on the Quay. I'm not usually an Italian food fan but this has definitely changed things! We were offered a choice of Fresh dishes with various Salads, i don't know the name of the Pasta and Sauce we had but the Plates were empty in no time. It was a lovely day so we dined outside, very pleasant. The owners could not do enough to make sure we had a great meal. This is obviously a well liked place, as evidenced by several returning Customers being on first name terms with the proprietors, a very good sign indeed! I therefore urge anyone visiting Exeter to make a small detour off the Main high street and down towards the Barnfield theatre and sample some Authentic Italian Cuisine at its' best! ..and at a very reasonable price and the Coffee is great too!

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Exeter, United Kingdom
1 review
“welcoming smiles, family friendly, tasty food served all day- excellent value”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2013

A local business, not part of a chain, they really care about their customers and will do everything possible to make you feel at home, if it means making another zingara (delicious savoury light snack) or bruschetta and bringing it to your table, then that is what they will do. Pizza, pasta and salads all made freshly on the premises, and a chance to try speaking Italian. I have enjoyed the food and lively conversation on many occasions. You are certain to recieve a warm welcome whenever you visit Rosticceria

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Devon, UK
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Tasty al fresco lunch served with a smile.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2013 via mobile

Called on spec, with a group of colleagues, for lunch between business meetings.

Wide choice of hot Italian dishes available over the counter, making service swift. Tasty pasta and pizza, excellent coffee or soft drinks, all served with a smile and friendly banter. Choice of spacious indoors or sunny outdoor seating.

Exactly what was required in the middle of a day full of meetings.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Exeter, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Friendly family Italian restaurant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2013

This genuine Italian restaurant has been long established in Exeter. Expect a family meal rather than fine dining. The lunchtime specials are excellent value and there is a changing selection of pizzas, pasta and salads. Also a good place for coffee, cakes and filled baguettes; this restaurant is a popular lunchtime venue for local workers. Families are welcome and there is a small play area. Friendly and efficient service. On a fine day you can take advantage of the outside seating area. Open late on Thursdays, Fridays and Saturdays; closed on Sundays. This is one of the hidden gems of Exeter.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Rosticceria also viewed

 

Been to Rosticceria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Rosticceria, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.