We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Full to the brim” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Oriental Buffet

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Oriental Buffet
10-12 Palace Gate, Exeter EX1 1JA, England
01392 211 888‎
Improve this listing
Ranked #266 of 407 restaurants in Exeter
Cuisines: Chinese
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Large groups, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Reservations, Buffet
Exeter, United Kingdom
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Full to the brim”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2013

Great food for a hang over! Simple Chinese food but that sit, not former but for £6 all you can eat who can complain! Always leave full!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

36 reviews from our community

58% Recommend
    11
    10
    7
    2
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Teignmouth, England, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“A Really Nice Meal - Friendly Staff”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2013

My wife and I wanted a budget meal before watching Philomena at the Exeter Picturehouse (I can highly recommend both experiences). We were a little wary after reading poor reviews but had enjoyed eating here 3 years ago. Firstly the staff were really welcoming and attentive. Secondly, we both found the food very tasty, there was sufficient choice - and for £6 each was tremendous value for money! The chef was constantly bringing out fresh food as the place was filling up at 5.30 pm in the evening. Thirdly, I had to check out the toilets given negative comments on this site - the very old floor covering does give a really negative impression, but the important facilities were clean and tidy. I agree the management could make improvements in this area as it does let the place down. My wife really enjoyed the meal and the overall experience.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
newton abbot
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“worst meal ever”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2013

my first and last visit to this terrible restaurant. I visited the toilets first and was shocked to see how they are allowed to keep this place open. It is filthly. The food was disgusting, noodles were over cooked and soggy, chicken balls were soggy, the so called toffe apple fritters were also soggy. The food all in all was so bland and had to add salt and pepper to my dish. I only had one plate of food as i did not enjoy it at all. i left feeling quite sick. My eldest son within the hour had a stomach ache. would not suggest to anyone to eat at this place. YOU EAT AT YOUR OWN RISK !!!

  • Visited October 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Exeter, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“A fuel stop, no more!”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2013

It is what it is but I do wish these guys would look how this style of restaurant is operated in other cities. Service borders on aggressive, and staff might as well armour up and take on the enemy (the customer!). I go a few times a year purely as a treat to the kids at a reasonable cost, nothing more. Theres RULES though! But don't worry you get pounced on as soon as you arrive and tld what you cant do. I understand this type of restaurant would attract cheap skates, but they don't seem to understand that there are genuine customers like us!

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
94 reviews 94 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“Loved it”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2013 via mobile

Was overnight nearby and fancied Chinese and found this on google. Got there 6pm. Amazed to eat for well over and hour and drink for £8.

I have tried a few of these places elsewhere and food quality was right up there. Often latr afternoon quality drops off or night prices cut in. Not here fresh food always coming out and tasty with loads of choice. Sweets not as many but enough but not want went for. Staff friendly and helpful and quick service. No complaints at all.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Oriental Buffet also viewed

 

Been to Oriental Buffet? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Oriental Buffet, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.