We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wowzer wowzer wowzer!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Oddfellows & The Speakeasy Cocktail Lounge

The Oddfellows & The Speakeasy Cocktail Lounge
60, New North Road, Exeter EX4 4EP, England
+44 1392 209050
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #27 of 405 Restaurants in Exeter
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $12 - $26
Cuisines: British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Description: The Oddfellows is a stone's throw away from Exeter's main shopping centre. This is a very friendly unpretentious gastro style pub, with a sociable, down to earth atmosphere. Throughout the day it is more of a café style bar, offering the best coffees in town, and becomes a gastro eating house during the evening
Exeter, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Wowzer wowzer wowzer!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013

Even in this heat we had a lovely cool courtyard, chilled beers, then an absolutely SPANKING dinner offer! Not only was the food exceptionally delicious, flavoursome and seasoned to perfection (lamb rump with zingy, fresh bubble & squeak and asparagus, and chicken w parma ham/cheese and a lardon / bean risotto) but we also got a bottle of wine thrown in!! Winning! Thank you so much for a very decadent-feeling, but very affordable and high quality midweek treat! .

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

231 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    149
    60
    8
    11
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Top Contributor
122 reviews 122 reviews
96 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
“A Hidden Treasure”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2013 via mobile

Do not be fooled by the location of this restaurant and bar, not the best part of town but well worth a visit. Good food, live music and a cocktail bar with excellent staff. I had the rump of lamb and it was very, very good. Try the the daily specials which appear god value or pick from the menu with plenty, but not too much choice.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helston, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Brilliant Cocktail Making”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2013

Have just come back from a hen weekend in Exeter and we had a cocktail making session at your bar. There were 10 of us and we had the most brilliant time! Dan was super, really interesting and the cocktails were lush!
Would thoroughly recommend this to any group of people who want to do something different.

Thanks again!

Julie Venner-Beard (and 9 other girls!)

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Fabulous food, cocktails and service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2013

We visited odd fellows as a group of 5 girls for a few cocktails and bite to eat, the were fantastically accommodating and even held our table whilst we were enjoying the cocktails, the waitress was fantastic and really friendly, food was delicious we ordered a mixture of salads, burgers and pizzas and it didnt disappoint. The bar is very noisy but it is a Friday night in the city centre so I really liked that. Can't wait to return!

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paignton, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“gourmat burger night on thursdays”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2013

Had a wonderful burger topped with pulled pork scrumptious, home made Onion rings home made coleslaw beautifully prepared beautifully served certainly worth a visit wish they were doing it for more evenings...

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Oddfellows & The Speakeasy Cocktail Lounge also viewed

 

Been to The Oddfellows & The Speakeasy Cocktail Lounge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Oddfellows & The Speakeasy Cocktail Lounge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.