We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food in a relaxed atmosphere” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Oddfellows & The Speakeasy Cocktail Lounge

The Oddfellows & The Speakeasy Cocktail Lounge
60, New North Road, Exeter EX4 4EP, England
+44 1392 209050
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #27 of 404 Restaurants in Exeter
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $12 - $26
Cuisines: British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Lunch, Late Night, Reservations
Description: The Oddfellows is a stone's throw away from Exeter's main shopping centre. This is a very friendly unpretentious gastro style pub, with a sociable, down to earth atmosphere. Throughout the day it is more of a café style bar, offering the best coffees in town, and becomes a gastro eating house during the evening
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great food in a relaxed atmosphere”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2013

Good range of beers
Smallish but diverse menu
Great food, well prepared and presented
Good & relaxed atmosphere

I'll definitely be returning again soon.

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

231 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    149
    60
    8
    11
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
United Kingdom
Top Contributor
120 reviews 120 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 82 cities Reviews in 82 cities
172 helpful votes 172 helpful votes
“Allow plenty of time”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2013

The title is no criticism. It was fortunate we happened to have the whole afternoon as this was the most wonderful Sunday lunch which took over two hours for just a main course and pudding, but it was all so delicious it was worth the wait. We were with friends we hadn’t seen for a long time, so had plenty of catching up to do, the staff were very attentive, so we didn’t feel we had been abandoned and the menu had made it clear that the food is cooked to order and this takes time. The meal was outstanding. The meat is local and you definitely know it, the vegetables tasted like vegetables should but rarely do, and the Yorkshire puddings were out of this world. The puddings were glorious. We will be back for sure, and if we are not with friends with lots to talk about and it’s just us, that’s fine – we noticed there are Sunday newspapers there!

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Excellent Sunday lunch - looking forward to our next visit.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2013

My wife and I visited The Oddfellows with our daughter who is in Exeter Uni. We received a really friendly welcome and first rate service. The venue has a wonderful atmosphere and ambiance and we'd love to visit again for an evening meal. All the ladies made our visit very memorable and when we enquired about the wonderful background music they even took the time to get the artist information for us - which we promptly ordered taking advantage of their free Wi-fi.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Exeter, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“A lovely meal”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2013

I ate at Oddfellows last Saturday night with 4 friends. The food was delicious and the owner suggested a bottle of wine, which was very nice. I do think the food was a little overpriced (around £16 for a main, where I think £12 would have been more reasonable), but nonetheless it was very tasty and no complaints! The bar gets very busy later in the evening so it did get quite noisy, but as long as you don't mind a buzzing atmosphere then it's no problem.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Exeter, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“GREAT Cocktails”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2013

We've been visiting the Speakeasy for a few years. We also had a private party there just over 12 months ago. The cocktails are really authentic, not over-priced, and the bar staff are more than happy to improvise if nothing in the cocktail bible takes your fancy!

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Oddfellows & The Speakeasy Cocktail Lounge also viewed

 

Been to The Oddfellows & The Speakeasy Cocktail Lounge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Oddfellows & The Speakeasy Cocktail Lounge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.