We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Brunch” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Tea on the Green

Tea on the Green
Cathedral Close | Cathedral Green, Exeter, England
01392-27-69-13
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #44 of 440 Restaurants in Exeter
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Reservations
Description: We are a daytime cafe with lovely views of Exeter Cathedral and the green. We have outdoor seating and seating on two floors inside. Open for breakfast, lunch, and afternoon teas, we source from local, small suppliers as it's good for the environment and the food tastes better. Our coffee is excellent, our choice of teas extensive (no teabags here), and wines, beers, ciders, and lagers produced by small, local family businesses. Open 8am to 6pm Monday to Saturday and 9am to 5pm on Sundays.This is an independent, owner operated cafe. We give 1% of our profits to Medecins sans Frontieres. Cream Teas are served from 230pm (We recognise that not serving cream teas at lunchtime is not a popular policy and admit we do this partly for economic reasons. Better to be up front and honest about it!)
Exeter, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Great Brunch”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2012

Went with my mum on her visit to Exeter and had a lovely brunch. Managed to nab a great table upstairs overlooking the Cathedral but were sadly told that we'd need to move soon as it was booked, not their fault and they were apologetic about it, but still a shame- get a view by the windows if you can! Food was brilliant - Eggs Benedict done wonderful, runny yolk, my only complaint would be that it wasn't very hot! Breakfast and teas etc. there are really good from past experience, not so sure about the main meals though - will be returning to try!

  • Visited February 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

394 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    235
    102
    29
    20
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
“Lovely food!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2011

I had the full English!! It was lovely!! The staff seemed a little lost, but once they realised I wanted to order the service was great!! The breakfast was lovely and they had Heinze Ketchup!!!

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Exeter, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“Love this place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2011

A great place to eat, nice outdoor seating on the cobbles outside the cathedral and if you look in the window and it looks full, still go in, as they have upstairs seating too (with good views if you get the window).

Always good food and great service, they have been very accommodating when I have been tight on time due to lunch breaks. Love their sausage and cheese panini.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Devon
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Very welcoming”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2011

I live in Exeter and had not visited this restaurant for many years. My cousin who was visiting from the USA thought it looked nice with a good selection on the lunch menu. We had an excellent lunch and the staff were extremely helpful. I will definitely go back.

  • Visited November 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
“Home made cream tea with cathedral views”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2011

Had a lovely cream tea with home made scones (still warm and crispy!) as a nice start to our small trip to Exeter. Tea was served in large tea pot and the scones came with nice strawberry jam and lots and lots of fresh clotted cream. As we were eating the sun was just setting behind the cathedral which made for a really beautiful view.

  • Visited November 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tea on the Green also viewed

 

Been to Tea on the Green? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tea on the Green, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.