We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value hotel in central location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Jurys Inn Exeter

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Jurys Inn Exeter to your Saves list
Jurys Inn Exeter
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Western Way, Exeter EX1 2DB, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #14 of 31 Hotels in Exeter
essex
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Good value hotel in central location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2010

We stayed here for two nights in a family room comprising of a double and a single bed. The room was clean, well stocked and quiet. The double bed was on the small side but for £69 per night it was good value. The hotel has a curious policy of preauthorising £30 per night on your credit card which I have not seen in any other Jurys. As we were paying by credit card this was not a problem but I understand from other people it can cause problems with prepaid credit cards. We had breakfast one morning and it was very nice and good value. Nearby, we found The Old Fire House, The Fat Pig and Zizis very good for food.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

700 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    193
    310
    155
    28
    14
See reviews for
117
192
48
193
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (114)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Exeter
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2010

We opted to stay at the Jury's Inn Exeter because of its proximity to the city centre, nearby parking facilities, and positive experiences at this hotel from several previous stays. Indeed the hotel is ideally situated just a stonesthrow away from Princesshay Shopping quarter and the city's nightlife; unfortunately on this occasion the latter was its undoing. At 3.00am we were awoken by the rancour of a large crowd of returning partygoers who flooded the 1st floor corridors, shouting, laughing, and slamming doors. After one call to reception, a member of staff was sent up to deal with the disturbance. Once ushered into the rooms sadly the party continued for over an hour. At 4.15am an almighty bang disturbed my attempts at getting any sort of sleep and the dividing plasterboard partition shook violently. Goodness only knows what was being hurled at the wall from the other side. After another call to reception, the furore finally died down and I eventually got to sleep 1 hr later. Not such a restful night's sleep. The following morning the hotel manager was extremely apologetic and we were offered a complimentary breakfast which was at least something. There had been several calls to reception from fellow guests that evening. I emphasise with the hotel management who cannot vet people before allowing them to stay, but I will say that there should be a lower threshold for calling the police and getting these people evicted. The continuation of one and a quarter hours of tomfoolery is just not acceptable. The rating I have given this hotel squarely reflects its plus points in terms of location and modern amenity and our less than enjoyable experience from this visit.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wales
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2010

Stayed here on overnight business trip,think its all brand new and all very nice good rooms quiet for a city centre hotel very friendly staff,food was good and cheap ,hotel is a bit pricey, but all very good had no complaints on any thing at the hotel all very good
theres no free parking but a big pay and display around the back thats fine
would stay again
another hotel that charges for wifi wake up its 2010

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wales
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2010

Stayed at this hotel at the beginning of the year for just over a week on a business trip. Hotel was clean and staff helpful but considering it was a new hotel the rates for Internet connection were a rip off with the lowest being £10 per day for wired access from the room with wireless access being charged by the hour. Internet access is a must for a business trip but at £10 per day on a ten day trip that is a hefty £100 hidden extra as you will not find these rates on the web site and was not told about it until I arrived at reception.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helsinki, Finland
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2010

Stayed one night Weds 17th February. Asked on check-in for a quiet room and was allocated a room on the 5th (top) floor situated at the rear. The room was large enough for 1 or 2 people (I was travelling on my own) but it would be a bit cramped if there were 3 (the room had a double and a single bed). There was ample tea and coffee and a kettle that actually worked simply and wasn't made of plastic. Hooray! The bathroom was clean and had a bath with overhead shower. There was a communicating door through which I could hear the adjoining room's TV but as this was quite low it didn't bother me. I booked an earlhy morning call and ordered a newspaper. Both arrived. This doesn't always happen, in my experience. Breakfast was okay. Perfectly alright but nothing special. I would definitely stay in this hotel again if I were in Exeter on business or overnight. It is central to Exeter St David's station (£5 taxi ride) and within easy walking distance of the town centre/Cathedral area.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2010

This hotel is fine for a short city break. The hotel is only a few years old so the rooms are in a good state of repair. Ours was small but adequate for a night or two. Some nice amenities like a decent hair drier but lacked on the towels (tiny and few) and there is a charge to use the Internet (£5 for an hour or £10 for 24-hours). The bed was clean and comfortable and the hotel was very quiet all night.

The location is pretty good; it's about 5 minutes walk from the cathedral but it's on a main road. There's no parking on-site; you have to park in the public car parks for a charge nearby but parking is plentiful there. We didn't park but overheard that you could get a discount on the public car park charges if you stay at this hotel.

Overall the hotel was clean and comfortable and decent value for money. We will visit again.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2010

We stayed here for one night, planning to get an early start on a roadtrip around Devon and Cornwall the next day.

It's on the edge of the centre of town, but a taxi ride from the central station was only £3.50 and took a few minutes.

It's basically a modern hotel, probably trying to appeal to business travellers and events. I wouldn't say it's for a romantic getaway - our window had a view of the car park across the street - but it's good value for money if you're looking for a nice, clean, easy hotel.

Staff were friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Jurys Inn Exeter? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jurys Inn Exeter

Address: Western Way, Exeter EX1 2DB, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Exeter
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 31 Hotels in Exeter
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Jurys Inn Exeter 3*
Number of rooms: 170
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Jurys Inn Exeter is ideally located in the heart of Exeter city - the hotel is within walking distance to key transport hubs such as Exeter Central and St James Park train stations, making it the ideal place to stay when visiting Exeter both for business or leisure. Discover Exeter's significant historical heritage, explore the beautiful Dartmoor National Park or simply treat yourself to a shopping trip at Princesshay shopping quarter - all conveniently accessible from our hotel. The hotel features all day Costa Coffee bar, a stylish onsite bar to relax in after an eventful day in the city. You can enjoy a great selection of seasonal food and drink in our trendy restaurant which is open from 6:30am to 10am for breakfast and 6pm to 9:30pm for dinner. If you are arriving by car a nearby public car parking is available at the NCP Summerland Gate Car Park. Our comfortable bedrooms can accommodate up to 3 adults or 2 adults and 2 children. All rooms have air conditioning and are furnished with large soft beds, spacious bathrooms with complimentary toiletries and a hair dryer, a flat screen TV with Freeview, and Free WiFi - guests who book directly with us can enjoy Free Premium WiFi, best price guarantee, no booking fees and also earn points and get rewards with our loyalty programme. Enjoy warm welcome, comfortable rooms, seasonal menus and a memorable visit to Exeter with Jurys Inn. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, JurysInn, Hotels.com, Priceline, LateRooms, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Jurys Inn Exeter reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jurys Inn Exeter Hotel Exeter
Jurys Hotel Exeter
Jurys Inn Exeter Devon

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Jurys Inn Exeter, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.