We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don't Bother - Awful” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Jurys Inn Exeter

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Jurys Inn Exeter to your Saves list
Jurys Inn Exeter
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Western Way, Exeter EX1 2DB, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #18 of 30 Hotels in Exeter
Cheshire
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“Don't Bother - Awful”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2013

We were looking for a hotel in Exeter due to attending a funeral. The two criteria that the hotel had to meet was that a) it was in Exeter. b) it had air conditioning. This met both criteria. Unfortunately, that was where anything good about this hotel stopped. With it being graduation week, they had decided to double the price of the rooms. £169 for a 3* room only. Absolutely ridiculous, and they hadn't even bothered to upgrade their service.
The room, although a superior room, was pokey and with only 1 chair, the airconditioning switched itself off after about 30 minutes and the ensuite was shabby. Free Wifi, but the password ran out overnight, On contacting reception, they said if I went down they would give me the new one. It was only when I asked to be given it over the phone did they, after a pause, agree.
The bed was hard and the pillows made from marshmallows, awful nights sleep.
Breakfast was awful, cheapest food out, tables not cleared and help yourself to beverages rather than be served with them. Fruit was all straight from a tin, and a cheap tin at that.
Overall, a total rip off from start to finish.

Room Tip: Don't use this hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

554 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    134
    242
    139
    26
    13
See reviews for
78
153
37
158
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (100)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2013

A reasonably priced accommodation in central Exeter, a short walk to the High Street and other business locations and across from the Vue Cinema. The double room and bed were small, barely fitting into the room with a bed and narrow nightstands on either side. Generally clean except for the mold along the bottom of the shower door. No washcloths, not unusual in hotels outside the US. Worse however was the complete absence of drawers to put away clothes and miscellany; just pile them at the bottom of the built-in wardrobe. Good TV service with multiple channels, though all we did was channel-flip. Bar and restaurant were adequate. Staff is friendly and professional.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2013

two couples unexpectedly found themselves in Exeter looking for rooms at 5pm on a Saturday night! the only place we could find was Jurys Inn at £99 a couple.not so bad considering we had no choice!
Reception was friendly and efficient, they even juggled rooms so that we were close. the room was clean, as was the bathroom (just a little tired).
our spirits sank when we stopped for a drink in the bar, stag & hen parties were also staying at the hotel. we needn't have worried, heard a couple of doors shut in the night, but that was it, we had a good nights sleep!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Exeter, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here one night at the beginning if August. First the positives... Good location, very comfy beds, lots of TV channels including music, nice bar/restaurant area.

The downsides... Staff were OK but just very matter of fact and no smiles or warm welcome. The room was covered in dust and one of the lights was hanging off of the wall. Toilet wasn't clean and the mirror was chipped round the edges. Fairly thin walls too. No towels in the room so had to ask for those. Requested an iron, however an hour later nothing arrived so called again and someone brought it up.

It was a shame as from the outside and in reception and public areas the hotel looks great, but there was a lack of attention to detail in the cleanliness of the room.

None of the above made the experience 'terrible' and I would stay again, but just not what we expected from Jurys.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
basildon england
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2013

Arrived late in the evening and it was easy to book in no hassle . Room was large with a double bed and a single. Choice of pillows , and air con was a must. The bathroom was clean and well stocked.
Breakkie was great all you can eat.

Room Tip: Walking distance to main shopping and there's is a John Lewis close by.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chichester, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2013 via mobile

On a hot evening it was welcome to have a swift check in and cool room. The staff were pleasant and helpful. The room in a good condition and my online booking requests had been taken into consideration. I was very relaxed staying here and would be happy to return.

Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Top Contributor
89 reviews 89 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2013 via mobile

If you're not looking for anything swanky but require a decent standard of hotel for your stay in Exeter then this is fine. Wifi is charged for - which it shouldn't be nowadays, even in a basic place like this.

The breakfast was OK - functional rather than an experience, just like the stay overall.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Jurys Inn Exeter? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jurys Inn Exeter

Address: Western Way, Exeter EX1 2DB, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Exeter
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 30 Hotels in Exeter
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Jurys Inn Exeter 3*
Number of rooms: 170
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Jurys Inn Exeter is ideally located in the heart of Exeter city - the hotel is within walking distance to key transport hubs such as Exeter Central and St James Park train stations, making it the ideal place to stay when visiting Exeter both for business or leisure. Discover Exeter's significant historical heritage, explore the beautiful Dartmoor National Park or simply treat yourself to a shopping trip at Princesshay shopping quarter - all conveniently accessible from our hotel. The hotel features all day Costa Coffee bar, a stylish onsite bar to relax in after an eventful day in the city. You can enjoy a great selection of seasonal food and drink in our trendy restaurant which is open from 6:30am to 10am for breakfast and 6pm to 9:30pm for dinner. If you are arriving by car a nearby public car parking is available at the NCP Summerland Gate Car Park. Our comfortable bedrooms can accommodate up to 3 adults or 2 adults and 2 children. All rooms have air conditioning and are furnished with large soft beds, spacious bathrooms with complimentary toiletries and a hair dryer, a flat screen TV with Freeview, and Free WiFi - guests who book directly with us can enjoy Free Premium WiFi, best price guarantee, no booking fees and also earn points and get rewards with our loyalty programme. Enjoy warm welcome, comfortable rooms, seasonal menus and a memorable visit to Exeter with Jurys Inn. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, JurysInn, Despegar.com, Travelocity, EasyToBook, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Jurys Inn Exeter reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jurys Inn Exeter Hotel Exeter
Jurys Hotel Exeter
Jurys Inn Exeter Devon

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Jurys Inn Exeter, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.