We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ticked all the boxes, in a clean and tidy way” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Jurys Inn Exeter

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Jurys Inn Exeter to your Saves list
Jurys Inn Exeter
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Western Way, Exeter EX1 2DB, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #18 of 30 Hotels in Exeter
London,
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Ticked all the boxes, in a clean and tidy way”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

Stayed a few nights for a conference held in the basement suites of the hotel, and was very pleased with the quality of the fittings, furnishings and overall cleanliness. Food and drink was well prepared and served, although some things were served too fast to have come from anywhere but the microwave, either way good service at a good price all round.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

556 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    134
    244
    139
    26
    13
See reviews for
79
153
37
159
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (100)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Falmouth, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
123 reviews 123 reviews
59 hotel reviews
Reviews in 60 cities Reviews in 60 cities
205 helpful votes 205 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2013

Don't normally "do" chain hotels but we wanted explore the city so landed up here.
Room had plenty of space for a standard hotek room, let's face it, you're only in it to sleep and get ready!!! It overlooked the car park but there was no noise or rowdy behaviour. Had an excellent nights sleep-a real bonus as I'm a light sleeper.
The breakfast was to die for!!! Anything you wanted, all piping hot and fresh and as much as you wanted. Nice service in the restaurant. Had a steak in the evening and it was cooked to perfection, nice to get a place that has decent meals in the evening, if you don't want to go out.
Would recommend for a city centre hotel.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2013

Hotel is just off Exeter town centre easy walking distance to shops, bars etc, but nothing special or inspiring. Rooms are modern, clean and ok. Food was the same if a little soulless, breakfast was busy but plenty to chose from, evening menu a little restricted and felt you would soon get fed up of it. The hotel wasn't that quite and not the best nights sleep from doors banging, people outside smoking and then a early wake up call from cherry picker with 3 guys aboard going past our 3rd floor window !!! Hotel could have warned us, as the workers worked on the roof of hotel all day, so no peace n quiet. Word of warning you can see into opposite hotel rooms, no privacy !!!
Having to draw curtains to change-dress is a bit much...!! This alone would put me off staying here again.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grantham, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2013

Had a spare day in our week away visiting friends and family, so as we were Devon way we decided on a day out in Exeter.

Found the Jury Inn at a very good rate on the Booking website, was supposed to be £95 for a double room with breakfast, luckily we only paid £45 - a nice start.

Things just kept getting better. We arrived before check in and the very helpful Receptionist Sam told us this wouldn't be a problem, we were given a room already cleaned. OK the room was abit compact but it served our needs. It was clean, the bathroom had a bath (which my partner loves) and although we were on the main road opposite the car park and Post Office there was no noise.

We had a short walk into Exeter city where there are lots of shops, places to eat and pubs to drink in. There is also the Vue cinema just opposite the hotel.

We were back in the hotel for approx 2100hrs and decided on sampling the food, having previously looked at the menu in the room. £19 per pers for 2 courses and what a delight. I myself had game pate, which was yummy and chicken stuffed with peppers and apricot. The chicken was still juicy and there was so much I couldn't finish it all. Unfortunately there were no dauphinoise potatoes left, however I was offered 3 other choices. The food was great, hot and plenty of it. The service was good too, our waitress was smiley and enjoyed a giggle.

The bed itself was comfy but the pillow - ewwe! No idea what was going on there but very bulky! Our room became hot and stifling and as we couldn't open a window for fresh air the air con had to go on-once eventually found-which isn't great in the middle of the night!!!

Breakfast was on till 1000am - a fab time. And what a treat, loved it, so far to say that the best hotel breakkie I have ever had was at Blkpool Hilton but the breakkie at Jury Inn was on par. Lots of choices, hot and cold - continental and traditionally English. Could not fault it.

Recommended to anyone wishing or needing to stay in Exeter City Centre.

The only 2 bad points were - no parking, although the car park is very close and there was a discounted cost, sorted at Reception on departing and you have to pay for wifi :(

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canterbury, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013

I stay in Exeter every couple of weeks, not stayed here before, i am a priority club member so stay at the holiday inn expresss which is horrid so thought i would try here, very impressed, staff great, helpful, room was very clean, breakfast was relaxed and nice food. A great stay thanks.

Room Tip: If you are undecided where to stay in Exeter, this is the place, do not stay at the holiday inn expr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Exeter, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2013

Just a one night stop, but a good hotel near the City Centre just a 5 minute walk to the High Street.
The hotel was clean and modern with a quiet room to the rear although it's impossible to close the doors to the rooms quietly.
The temperature of the shower in room 525 also fluctuated a bit.
Breakfast was varied with the option of special orders but the seating was minimal with some guests having to sit in the bar area. The space around the buffet was also very compact with people bumping into one another. Jury need to look at modifying these facilities.
On the whole a good hotel if you can book at a reasonable price.

Room Tip: Ask for a quiet room at the back of the hotel, it'll only look at the car park but better than t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dorset
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2013

This is very much a business hotel with a central location used by large groups at weekends, so don't expect restful sleep on a Saturday night when they are all returning to their rooms. The bedroom doors do not shut quietly. The rooms are clean and the showers great. Car parking is £7 for 24 hours in the ncp carpark opposite, Breakfast was ok but dont get a costa coffee to take away, its horrid. One complaint is the cost of the Internet, £5 an hour!!!!! Come on cant this be reduced at the weekend? Overall comfortable central location in Exeter ok for one night.

Room Tip: Room at the rear of the hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Jurys Inn Exeter? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jurys Inn Exeter

Address: Western Way, Exeter EX1 2DB, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Exeter
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 30 Hotels in Exeter
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Jurys Inn Exeter 3*
Number of rooms: 170
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Jurys Inn Exeter is ideally located in the heart of Exeter city - the hotel is within walking distance to key transport hubs such as Exeter Central and St James Park train stations, making it the ideal place to stay when visiting Exeter both for business or leisure. Discover Exeter's significant historical heritage, explore the beautiful Dartmoor National Park or simply treat yourself to a shopping trip at Princesshay shopping quarter - all conveniently accessible from our hotel. The hotel features all day Costa Coffee bar, a stylish onsite bar to relax in after an eventful day in the city. You can enjoy a great selection of seasonal food and drink in our trendy restaurant which is open from 6:30am to 10am for breakfast and 6pm to 9:30pm for dinner. If you are arriving by car a nearby public car parking is available at the NCP Summerland Gate Car Park. Our comfortable bedrooms can accommodate up to 3 adults or 2 adults and 2 children. All rooms have air conditioning and are furnished with large soft beds, spacious bathrooms with complimentary toiletries and a hair dryer, a flat screen TV with Freeview, and Free WiFi - guests who book directly with us can enjoy Free Premium WiFi, best price guarantee, no booking fees and also earn points and get rewards with our loyalty programme. Enjoy warm welcome, comfortable rooms, seasonal menus and a memorable visit to Exeter with Jurys Inn. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, JurysInn, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Travelocity, EasyToBook, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Jurys Inn Exeter reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jurys Inn Exeter Hotel Exeter
Jurys Hotel Exeter
Jurys Inn Exeter Devon

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Jurys Inn Exeter, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.