We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely food” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Harry's Grill Bar

Harry's Grill Bar
6 Northernhay Place | Bailey Street, Exeter EX4 3QJ, England
+44 1392 438545
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #73 of 416 Restaurants in Exeter
Price range: $19 - $40
Cuisines: Hamburgers, Steakhouse, Grill, Wine Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Large groups, Doing business, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Description: In an unassuming red brick building on Northernhay Place you'll find Harry's Grill Bar. Head inside and you'll find a hugely stylish little spot with exposed barn-like beams and funky red walls. Pull up a seat or slide in to one of the massive high backed booths and enjoy the laid back atmosphere. Once you've soaked in the vibes you'll be ready to turn your attentions to a menu that requires your full concentrations...Totally local produce with an emphasis on gorgeous Devon reared beef. Other options are available, from fish to veggie dishes but the meat eaters among you won't be able to resist cooked to order steaks steaming hot from the grill.
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Lovely food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2013

We visited Harry's Grill on Monday evening as we were in Exeter visiting our daughter who is in University there. She had booked a table and we were very glad that she had. The tables were fully booked and they had to turn a few people away. The food was lovely and very reasonably priced. The service was excellent and we will definitely visit again when we are in Exeter

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HarrysExeter, Manager at Harry's Grill Bar, responded to this review, December 2, 2013
Great, we are really pleased that your enjoyed your evening with us – see you next time!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

196 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    103
    49
    26
    12
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Fantastic food and service....”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2013

We had a meal this evening at Harry's Grill Bar. They were very accommodating especially seen as we had our 3 year old with us ( I rang to check about this and the gentleman I spoke to on the phone was lovely too). Service was superb, just right and not intrusive. Waiting staff all extremely helpful. The food was absolutely amazing, I tried an ' Onglet' steak for the first time and it was the best steak I've had in a long time. All my family said the same about theirs ( ranging from a T bone to a fillet). I loved it so much I've requested to go back for my 30th birthday next month. The only small thing I would say is that after spending £160 and leaving a tip , a little ' thank you and goodbye' would make a nice end to the evening , but they still get full marks from me :)

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HarrysExeter, Manager at Harry's Grill Bar, responded to this review, October 30, 2013
Thank you very much; we are delighted that you enjoyed your meal. We are very sorry to have missed you as you were leaving, we do try our best to be there when our customers leave but occasionally we can’t quite reach the door in time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Exeter, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Excellent steaks”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2013 via mobile

A business meal for 8, great food, service a little slow despite the fact that only half tables occupied. Steaks are excellent, Devon Ruby Red is the most delicious I have tasted. Would recommend

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HarrysExeter, Manager at Harry's Grill Bar, responded to this review, October 17, 2013
Thank you for your feedback, we shall pass on the message.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“Poor Management but hard working staff”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2013

Been here a couple of times. The staff work really hard to serve everyone, food is ok overall, love the steak,but I am unkeen on how the management push their staff around infront of customers. I think there is a negative ethos induced by the female manager. On a positive note, it is a great location to start your evening, be it romantic or a celebration.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HarrysExeter, Manager at Harry's Grill Bar, responded to this review, October 3, 2013
Thank you for your feedback, if you would like to email us personally magda@harrysgrillbar.co.uk we can gain some clarity of this matter.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Exeter, UK
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Very good atmosphere and food - could work on elements of their service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2013 via mobile

Had a very nice meal at Harry's - was running late so called the restaurant and they were very flexible. Four of us ate - with starters of duck salad (very tasty and lots of duck), crab salad (more potato than crab), scallops (beautifully done with crispy bacon) and steak tartare (very good indeed). For mains we all had steaks - 8oz and 20oz. All were very well cooked and full of flavour, and came with plentiful tasty fries. Service was generally good, only small comment is that after spending £200 you would expect someone to say thank you/goodbye when you leave - we had neither. Would definitely eat there again.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HarrysExeter, Manager at Harry's Grill Bar, responded to this review, September 25, 2013
Thanks very much for writing this review; we are so pleased that you had a great time with us. To reassure you, we do normally give our thanks and say goodbye when customers leave so this is unusual - sorry that we missed you leaving on this occasion and we look forward to seeing you again soon, if only so we can say goodbye properly!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Harry's Grill Bar also viewed

 

Been to Harry's Grill Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Harry's Grill Bar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.