We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great quality and good value steak” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Harry's Grill Bar

Harry's Grill Bar
6 Northernhay Place | Bailey Street, Exeter EX4 3QJ, England
+44 1392 438545
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #80 of 404 Restaurants in Exeter
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $18 - $39
Cuisines: Steakhouse, Hamburgers, Grill, Wine Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Special occasions, Doing business, Entertaining clients, Romantic
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Description: In an unassuming red brick building on Northernhay Place you'll find Harry's Grill Bar. Head inside and you'll find a hugely stylish little spot with exposed barn-like beams and funky red walls. Pull up a seat or slide in to one of the massive high backed booths and enjoy the laid back atmosphere. Once you've soaked in the vibes you'll be ready to turn your attentions to a menu that requires your full concentrations...Totally local produce with an emphasis on gorgeous Devon reared beef. Other options are available, from fish to veggie dishes but the meat eaters among you won't be able to resist cooked to order steaks steaming hot from the grill.
Dorset
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
“Great quality and good value steak”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013

We were late, by 1/2 an hour on a Saturday lunchtime. Even though the restaurant was busy this wasn't a problem - great and friendly service - . 4 Steaks , done just right, 3 were fillets and one a "Rib end sirloin (very tasty) chips were good, nice bottle of wine, side dishes and coffees. In all £115 - to me - good value. My receipt says served by Ed ' the big man -

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

232 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    115
    62
    30
    15
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
St Albans, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Great food, good service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

I visited Harry's in early December and I can't wait to go back. The food was delicious and the service was very good (they stayed open an extra 15 minutes just so we could have dessert)! Plus the prices were very reasonable considering the quality of the food.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Devon
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
68 helpful votes 68 helpful votes
“Best steak for quite a while”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2013 via mobile

Pleasant helpful service, attentive staff prepared to do that little extra to make the meal special, good starter, fillet steak was great, well cooked and tasty- didn't really need the sauce, good chips. Will be back again.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Exeter, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“birthday”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2013

brilliant, vibrant place with excellent steaks and grills. lovely atmosphere. great venue to meet friends and enjoy fun

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Thegonnec france
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Book your Beef”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

This restaurant was recommended to us by a friend so we went with high expectations,we were not disappointed. However if you want to enjoy a good meal with friendly staff then BOOK your table.We were lucky and were found a table. The seating is upstairs ( I saw no lift) but the tables are not packed in so you could enjoy your meal without having to listen to the next tables conversation. The food was of excellent quality and the beef just melted in the mouth. The side dishes were for me just the right portion. We had a starter and main course,served with a basket of bread ( no extra charge ) ,so we did not have room to try the deserts. The Wine like most good restaurants is pricey ( I live in France !!!! ) , A jug of water was provided as soon as we sat down again no charge.I would strongly recommend this restaurant if you are a meat eater.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Harry's Grill Bar also viewed

 

Been to Harry's Grill Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Harry's Grill Bar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.