We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“friendly warm service dire food” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Blue Ball Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Blue Ball Inn to your Saves list
Blue Ball Inn
Sandygate, Exeter EX2 7LJ, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #33 of 72 Exeter B&B and Inns
Exeter, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“friendly warm service dire food”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2012

The service was very good warm and friendly and eager to serve.Sadly I can not say the same about the food. I had the chilli with accompaniments the guacamole was dark green and tasted awful, the sour cram was not good and the chilli itself did not have a good flavour. The presentation was good but sadly the taste was missing.
My friend who is a vegetarian had a triple baked cheese avocado with tomato sauce which was served with seasonal vegetables, it was also not good.
Such a same that the food was so poor.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

124 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    54
    36
    13
    10
    11
See reviews for
31
32
3
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Devon
Top Contributor
137 reviews 137 reviews
66 hotel reviews
Reviews in 97 cities Reviews in 97 cities
133 helpful votes 133 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2012

This is just a review on the food / restaurant so please take it as such.
Recently had lunch here with friends and was really pleased with everything. Good extensive menu, friendly attentive staff and when the food did arrive it was top notch. Very busy at lunchtime with lots of office staff etc but that made for a good atmosphere. Despite the numbers we were served quickly and efficiently. We will be returning.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worcester, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2011

Visited this venue with a group of friends and stayed in the accommodation block consisting of three separate self contained units.
These were immaculately clean and provided all that was required. The shower was terrific.
Had meals and breakfasts at the pub and found these to be excellent.
The staff could not have been more friendly and helpful and we fully intend to return here when we are next in the locality.

Room Tip: The room next to the road would be the one to avoid although the traffic is not that heavy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chudleigh, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
72 helpful votes 72 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2011

Having known this pub for 20 years we were pleased to hear it was under new management from early November. We gave them a few weeks to settle in and make changes to the previous menu which had put us off for a long time, then went for a Sunday roast a few weeks ago. It was superbly cooked and the new managers were extremely smooth in their service - giving every customer who entered the pub a warm and genuine welcome. The bar staff are still the same and the pub is rebuilding the wonderful atmosphere and reputation that I had known it to have years ago. We've since taken out neighbours for a meal and we were all impressed. The gammon steak was thick and so well cooked that a steak knife wasn't needed. The chilli had a well judged 'kick' to it. The ale pie vanished within minutes and the Ruldolph burger (!) didn't take long to disappear either!
We said to ourselves after our last 2 visits we should review the pub on here but got tied up with daily life as you do!
However, we returned today and had pre booked a 2 course Christmas Menu - £14.95 each and had the best roast meals I've had for a long time. The beef was crumbly and melted in the mouth, the (huge) portion of mixed vegetables were freshly prepared and cooked to perfection and I won't be mean and tease you about the deserts but they were fantastic! (We were touched at the generosity of the manager when he brought out a portion of Christmas pudding as an extra for us to try as we'd struggled to choose between deserts!
We haven't stayed at the pub as we live locally but we are sure to become regular visitors as we are delighted to have found such a warm and cosy pub (loving the log fire!) so close to home. Roll on Christmas carols and mulled wine in a few weeks time.
Good old fashioned standards of excellent customer service with a balanced and well priced menu of modern and traditional foods. (We were pleased to meet the chef today as well and to be able to pass on our compliments) The only dilemma now...what we will have next weekend?!
Ps - we did check out their website but it is a little out of date - they are on to it! In the meantime I'd glad we took the plunge!

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Topsham, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2011

Been coming in very long time.
Pub seemed to be finally looking up after long time being poor. but has gone back to being poor again. Cant comment on room as haven't stayed in. Food not as good as used to be..... service quite frankly AWFUL. Took ages to get served, had to go to the bar to order as bar man was on his mobile phone, when he realised I had caught him, was far too in my face and generally really patronising. Only 3 other people in the pub, yet took 35 minutes for food to come out.....

really disappointed, but live in Topsham so will just go to places there. Like The Lighter Inn...much better.

Needs to be changed hands again...clearly. OR words need to be had with staff.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Exeter
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2011 via mobile

Cant comment on the rooms but resturant is the worst service I have ever had. We got served our food after other people who orderd theres 15 mins after ours. No steak knife with steak got offerd comementry drinks never got them !!! Cold food got offerd veg that never turned up And we live around the corner will mever be going back there try the beefeater at countess wear or lots of nice places in topsham.

  • Stayed September 2011
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
york
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2011

We stayed at the Blue Ball Inn for 1 night after a week in Cornwall, we chose the Blue Ball Inn as it was close to Exeter airport. The rooms were a converted stable block, very clean and comfortable. The Inn was very welcoming,the food was good and the staff could not have been more helpful and friendly.
I would recommend this for the convenient location near to the airport.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Blue Ball Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blue Ball Inn

Address: Sandygate, Exeter EX2 7LJ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Exeter
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #33 of 72 B&Bs / Inns in Exeter
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 4
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Blue Ball Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Blue Ball Hotel Exeter
Blue Ball Inn Exeter, Devon

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Blue Ball Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.