We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just Brilliant great everything” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Thai Orchid

Thai Orchid
5 Cathedral Yard, Exeter EX1 1HJ, England
+44 (0)1392 214215
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #89 of 406 restaurants in Exeter
Price range: $0 - $59
Cuisines: Thai
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance
Dining options: Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Just Brilliant great everything”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2013

Had a fantasic meal. In my top 2 of all time. They were flexible did not rush us adjusted some of the dishes to suit. Brilliant food. A long drive for us but one will will do just because it was so good and very well priced.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

87 reviews from our community

73% Recommend
    47
    17
    11
    7
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Excellent”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2013

Great service and very friendly staff, delivering really top quality food. A great place, love the atmosphere, decor and staff, and the food is excellent.
Arjan and Dirk

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
uk
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Absolutely delicious food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2012

I cannot comment on the service nowadays, for I was there between 2005 and 2008, but I just HAVE TO comment on the food.
That's where I had my first pad thai ever, and the only downside to it is that I can never be satisfied with any other pad thai ever since. Both the pad thai and the red and the green curry are unique and unrivalled. Only food in Thailand itself comes close. The duck, squid and the soup are superb as well. Traditional exotic Thai food made by real Thai people.
It is a fantastic gastronomic experience eating there, and it is worth every penny. The location could not be more perfect - I once saw a firework festival at the Cathedral from the restaurant window!
I can't wait to go back to Exeter and eat the perfect pad thai and curry again :)

  • Visited January 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Exeter, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Delicious but don't go for the table at the back”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2012

Beautiful food - the chicken satay was particularly impressive and the spices perfect. The service is impeccable and there is a particularly gracious hostess. The banquette at the end of the restaurant is probably great for 8 but not for 4 as too far apart. The staff were happy to move us so it was absolutely fine!

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Exeter
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Fresh and spicy food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2012

Expensive but lovely food. The small dishes are too small and expensive...around £6-7 for a small sample dish really. The set menu might be better.

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Thai Orchid also viewed

 

Been to Thai Orchid? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Thai Orchid, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.